We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic lodging”
Review of Triangle Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Triangle Motel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Silverton
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I have a hard time giving the triangle a very good in a couple of aspects but many elements were very good. The rooms we stayed in at the Triangle were fairly spacious and no-frills. The housekeeping was very good and the rooms were clean and refreshed daily. The kitchenette room was very good and the king room we stayed in was average (and hard to heat). The major thing that detracted from our experience was the noise. Most of the people staying there were skiing at Silverton ski mtn and if you are on that same schedule, the early morning noise might not bother you, but we were on the ground floor and it was pretty loud. The breakfast bar was adequate and best when there were fresh scones. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scindahouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Triangle Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 88 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2012

We have stayed at this little hotel twice now and absolutely love it. It is a bit outdated but the cleanliness of the rooms are amazing and the staff was always helpful and courteous to us. Whenever we plan on staying in Silverton we won't look anywhere else. This place has a very reasonable price and although it is outdated is clean and right in the middle of town. This hotel may not have any bells or whistles but it is simple and clean, all that we really look for in a hotel. Why be so concerned about those bells and whistles when the real beauty is outside your hotel room!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brileys_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed here 12/21/11. Check-in was our first clue that things might not go well. Lady at desk seemed irritated to have to do the work to check us in and posted her phone numberon the door to call if we needed assistance. . The rooms are small and not maintained well. If you have two beds, only one person can watch TV. Remote did not work. Toilet needed adjustment, sink ran slowly, peeling wallpaper. Then we found out that there was no heat coming from the registers and the temperature outside was below zero. We called the lady in charge and she drove over and tinkered with the register and left a space heater. Just as the room started to feel warm, the power went out on the whole floor. We again called the lady and she said she would send someone over who could fix the problem. A grungy, disheveled man burst into our room, very grouchy and unprofessional. He said he was the owner and that the heater was working - although it obviously wasn't because it was still freezing, and blamed us for the problem saying that we should believe the thermostat which was showing that the room was 68 degrees (which it wasn't). He grabbed the space heater and said that somebody was probably using a blowdryer (the occupants of the motel were young male skiiers and it was 11:00pm so I doubt anyone was using a blowdryer) and that was why the power went out. He left in a huff with the room still freezing seemingly forgetting that we were having to pay for this bad experience. The people in the room next to ours had to call later in the night because they had no heat.There are much better places to stay in Silverton. The Canyon View is much more well maintained and has larger rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ColoradoSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountainmotel, Owner at Triangle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2012

Silverton is a unique tiny town with unique lodging. Like all of the motels in Silverton, the Triangle Motel is small (16 rooms) so we do not man the front desk all night. The managers live on premises, but when they need a night off, we leave a phone number for guests to reach us in case of problems. We live only a few blocks away, so are able to respond to situations quickly, which we did in this case. The owner got out of bed to come and address the complaint. We take the comfort of our guests very seriously. We have several room configurations. Many guests like the privacy of our rooms where the two (or three) beds are in seperate rooms. We are sorry that this guest did not. Our rooms are always very clean and the beds new. Most people are very satisfied with their stay and we wish we could have made everything right in this case, but are glad they have found a place they like in Silverton. That is the most important thing, that people come back to our town because we want everyone to love it as much as we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

The Triangle motel is right bang in the middle of Silverton and like others have said it's reasonably priced, quiet, clean and friendly. The rooms are quite newly decorated and obviously well cared for. There was a smell of bleach as mentioned by other reviewers but this simply was because there was bleach left in the bathroom and it soon disappeared.

Our only quibble was that there was no hot water in the evening but perhaps we were just there at the wrong time.

Breakfast was provided and was a nice basic and filling start to the day. Guaranteed that you'll be in a happy mood when you step outside and breathe the super clear air and see the views.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davideJ808VV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

My teen son and I stayed one night ....room was clean but smelled of bleach. King bed was comfortable but twin for my son was hard like rock. Terrible shower....way too small...like a camper shower and I got scalded due to changing water temps. Breakfast was just toast, stale bagels,and yogurt. Ice machine is on the 2nd floor with an outside stairway. The bright side was it was a mere $63 with tax so we saved a few $.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

This is a motel. We had a fridge, a couple chairs outside the door and could walk anywhere. Service was nice and they had a small breakfast in the lobby. I was here on a climbing trip with a buddy so we had no expectations outside a room. For the price the place is a good value in an interesting town.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We arrived via motorcycle and were freezing cold after riding the million dollar highway and were ready to stop for the night. Rebecca at the front desk was very friendly and helpful she suggested some great eating spots for us. The rooms were old but very clean and updated.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ozgal385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silverton
0.3 mi away
Teller House
Teller House
#4 of 7 in Silverton
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Imperial Hotel
Grand Imperial Hotel
#1 of 7 in Silverton
64 reviews
14.6 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
924 reviews
14.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 15 in Ouray
241 reviews
14.7 mi away
Purgatory Village Condo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Triangle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Triangle Motel

Address: 848 Greene St., Silverton, CO 81433
Location: United States > Colorado > Silverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Silverton
Price Range: $95 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Triangle Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Triangle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing