We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Motel in Silverton, CO”
Review of Prospector Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Silverton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prospector Motel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Silverton
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quaint Motel in Silverton, CO”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

This is a no frills motel that is inexpensive and great for an overnight stay. The motel was clean and we experienced no issues during our stay. Andy was not there when we arrived but had left a note about where our room was and left the keys in the room. He puts fresh designer coffee in the coffee makers each day and made sure that we had everything we needed. This is by no means a resort or bed and breakfast. I would stay at this motel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roadtripMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
7
9
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I couldn't have asked for anything more. The mountains were gorgous; the price was more than reasonable; accommodations were clean; rooms were quiet and Andy, the owner, remains as friendly and as gracious as he has been during my previous stays. I On this particular trip I had business in Durango but stayed at the Prospector and drove into Durango when necessary. The internet service at the motel allowed me to combine business and pleasure in one of the most scenic areas of the country. Thank you Andy!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank love2ridehorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Andy is not a helpfull person I would not ever stay at this Roach motell ever again the place was dirty

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martin720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Stayed at the Prospector on our niece's recommendation for a family reunion over the 4th of July. Have to agree with others that Andy, the owner is a genuine host; he made our stay even more enjoyable. Our rooms while not luxurious were clean and comfortable and he even refilled the coffee maker with fresh ground coffee each day!! We accidentally left behind our travel pillows in the room, and he contacted my niece and arranged to have them returned to us--what great service! He set up chairs outside for our extended family to watch the amazing Silverton fireworks.
Could not hear any noise from our great-nephew next door, but the 4th of July revelers were still strolling past our street-facing window at 3:00 am. Of course, this location made it simple for us all to set up to watch the parade earlier that day.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SKLNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

The host/owner, Andy, is great/easy to deal with. He is a big part of why we enjoyed our weekend in Silverton as much as we did (great recommendations on "to do" & dining). He's casual. efficient and accommodating.

His motel is old. I'd call it "Route 66" style. For being old; it's the cleanest old I've experienced. The chairs, desk, lamps, etc in the room are old; but they are solid, functional and clean. Why replace what's not broken!

The bed was firm to hard (perfect for us) and the white linen and towels were the cleanest/whitest we've ever seen (maybe he's paying homage to his "White Sox"!).

Quiet.... We were really surprised at how little noise we heard from the neighboring room.

Throw in a strong signal with the wi-fi & we could not have asked for anything more in this historic mining town.

We'll return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sdpryde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2008

What a town! Andy at the Prospector was so kind and helpful. His rooms are clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy but they are affordable. 25 of us stayed at the Prospector July 5 and 6 2008 and enjoyed ourselves. We will be back.

  • Liked — Andy, the host.
  • Disliked — The beds could be a bit more comfortable
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LindaKirkland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2007

The Prospector is a wonderful motel that is clean and affordable. We stayed there in the summer of 2006, the fall of 2006 and the summer of 2007. We have always been pleased with our accommodations. The owner of the motel, Andy Hanahan, is a gracious host, always willing to a give a recommendation for dinner, share stories of the area, or give an occassional "ride" to a hiker to a trailhead. We relax at the motel after our days jeeping and hiking the many trails in the area. We understand he has recently upgraded his rooms to accommodate the skiers that visit Silverton Mountain in the winter. We are sure the Prospector will be as popular to the winter crowd as it is to the summer explorers of Silverton. We love it there!

  • Liked — Affordability
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lovetoride_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silverton
0.1 mi away
Grand Imperial Hotel
Grand Imperial Hotel
#1 of 7 in Silverton
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Teller House
Teller House
#4 of 7 in Silverton
82 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
New Sheridan Hotel
New Sheridan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Telluride
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Triangle Motel
Triangle Motel
#3 of 7 in Silverton
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospector Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospector Motel

Property: Prospector Motel
Address: 1015 Greene St., Silverton, CO 81433
Location: United States > Colorado > Silverton
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Silverton
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing