We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for Lunch”

Handlebars Restaurant & Saloon
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Silverton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
midwest usa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice for Lunch”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stopped here for lunch after the train ride from Durango. Although it was crowded we were seated immediately and service was prompt and courteous. They are accustomed to the train schedule and waste no time getting food delivered. We had buffalo burger (big!) but it didn't taste any different from a beef burger. Atmosphere is small town saloon with adjoining native jewelry store.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovinitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    225
    61
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Interesting Decor and Fun”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The ambience is really cool here. It has an old saloon feel with a mining car modified for a fireplace. The wait staff was fun and the bread pudding was fantastic along with the chili and baked potatoes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VETJET1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Ligure, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“As Western and Rocky as it gets !”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We walked in late but they let us sit down, in this fantastic place absolutely jammed with miners' tools hanging on the walls and beautiful stuffed animal hunter's prizes.....
The atmosphere was perfect, cowboys having beer at the bar counter, and we had some local beer ourselves.
My husband had a tasty hamburger and I had very good trout. Also, the peach cobbler was great.
The bill? Low. Definitely a perfect place to go if in Silverton.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio, United States
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Looking for atmosphere, well come on in.”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Although the food was average the atmosphere was very interesting. Oddly stuffed animals and antiques was the decor.
I had an elk burger which was a bit over cooked for my taste and my boyfriend had a chicken pot pie in which he enjoyed very much. We both enjoyed our sweet potato fries.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickinson, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Cool Place”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

If you like your burgers well done, then this is the place for you. A friend and I ordered the Buffalo Burger, cooked medium. It came out well done and dry. The deserts were very good as well as other items on the menu that others in group had. But watch where you park. There was a fire hydrant on the corner of the building and the curbs are covered in mud so you can't see the red paint. I did see the hydrant and was about 8' away. I got a $50 ticket.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wess J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Handlebars Restaurant & Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Handlebars Restaurant & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing