We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good eats”

Handlebars Restaurant & Saloon
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Silverton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good eats”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We rushed into Handlebars just a little while before the last train was scheduled to depart for Durango. They promised, and then delivered fast service, with Surprise--the food was pretty darn good too. Decor is old west and in perfect alignment with Silverton's mining past. Looked like a fun place, and is apparently quite popular.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug_K17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    205
    56
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Rainbow Trout”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Ate at Handlebars twice on our trip. Good steak first round and rainbow trout the second. Service was just perfect.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kendall C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the west
Level Contributor
206 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“What a fun place.”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

If you like good food and are fond of old stuff- western stuff - outdoorsy stuff (and if you are in Silverton you probably are) then Handlebars is a great choice. It starts with a fascinating decor, interesting stuff all over the place. Te a great variety on the menu. In our group we had the Strawberry - Waldorf salad, a grilled chicken salad, a Philly cheesesteak, and some other assorted sandwiches. Everything was great except for the soup of the, a ham & bean something, that was just too salty. The service was also very good and attentive. Our group enjoyed it very much.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rocTheWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burry Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great, lively dining”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal when visiting Silverton on the train. Great atmosphere, very friendly staff and very enjoyable food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polk City, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Better than average food, cute interior but only the game in town to choose from”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Service was good, food was good better than expected for such a small town. Food prices weren't that bad but the liquor was priced a little too high. The cheeseburger was good, the fries were pretty good and priced about $10 a nice sized cobb salad was $10 and was pretty good. But a small beer on tap was $5 and a small glass of wine was $6. I realize we were in the middle of nowhere with no other options of a place to get a bite and a drink so they can ask what they want. The interior of the restaurant is decorated cute, lots to look at. I'd hate to see this little town loose the only game in town....so stop by, have a sandwich....maybe skip the drink and I think you'll be pretty happy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NemoWinsAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Handlebars Restaurant & Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Handlebars Restaurant & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing