We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seated near the door we nearly froze to death and staff refused to close the outer door!”
Review of Brown Bear Cafe

Brown Bear Cafe
Ranked #4 of 32 Restaurants in Silverton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Vernon, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Seated near the door we nearly froze to death and staff refused to close the outer door!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had lunch when they were busy, and were seated near the door. There is a vestibule with a front door on the sidewalk and a second door to enter the dining room. Staff hooked the sidewalk door with a bungie cord and customers left the dining room door open as they came and went. It was 46 degrees outside. Staff refused to do anything and we finally re-seated ourselves in the middle of our meals. Food was so-so: french onion soup was very salty and sandwiches were just ok. We won't be back...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eal11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    142
    57
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southborough, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Really nice breakfast place”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We ate breakfast here before leaving Silverton. They have lots of historic information in the restaurant including a restored bar mirror. The restaurant gives you a little sense of the history of Silverton in addition to serving a good breakfast. We asked at our hotel about the best place to eat breakfast and they suggested the Brown Bear,.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast in old saloon atmosphere!!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This place seems to be a great and well frequented breakfast place. We enjoyed scrambled eggs with green peppers and sausage. We toured the place after completing breakfast.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jcw40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotopaxi, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
681 reviews
526 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Very good standard breakfast”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We ate breakfast here as we drove along the Million Dollar Highway to Montrose. The atmosphere was very old Western with a bar and tin roof. Service was very good, our waters were refilled. Our omelettes were done as ordered and cooked correctly. Fare was standard American, I wouldn't expect anything out of the ordinary or special. The prices were reasonable. Overall, four dots.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bssc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar City, UT
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Fun stop”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Four of us had dinner at the Brown Bear during a recent Silverton visit. It's one of the many, colorful, interesting historic buildings on Main St. The beautiful old bar and tin ceiling are worth a visit.
Our food was fine, not memorable, but the portions were generous and the service was excellent.
On future visits we would try it for lunch.

It's a very friendly place, with strong flavor of the Old West, that I would recommend all tourists visit at least once.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RandiRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Bear Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Brown Bear Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing