We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere, decent food, poor staff”

The Grand Restaurant and Saloon
Ranked #6 of 32 Restaurants in Silverton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, decent food, poor staff”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This restaurant is at the Grand Imperial Hotel which is over a century old. It's a Victorian building with its usual bells and whistles. The Piano player who was belting out classics and rhymes was easily the best thing about the restaurant. There was no host to greet us, and we ended up asking a waitress for seating place after waiting at the door for 5 minutes. When she took us to a empty table her supervisor told that that table was reserved and there were no other tables. Clearly there was lack of communication/information among the employees. We then had to sit at the bar. The bar itself was impressive with all kinds of booze. The food was strictly average. The bartender was knowledgeable and welcoming though.
The BBQ joint couple of blocks down the street was a better choice in terms of food my opinion. But if you want an overall experience of nice atmosphere, great piano and Victorian themed dressed waitresses it's not a bad place to checkout.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shivam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    91
    29
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Keller, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lunch at Silverton”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We ran in here for a bite to eat after taking the trip up from Durango on the train. Lunch was reasonably priced, service was good and listening to the piano player was quite a treat.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Grumpy's lives up to its name”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

As we were riding the train to Silverton, we questioned people about a place to eat and they directed us to Grumpy's , which is in the Grand Imperial Hotel. When you get off the train, just walk straight two blocks and you will find it. We noticed it was quaintly decorated in the Victorian period, the large bar was full, and the honky tonk piano player added to the atmosphere. We saw no host seating people. A waitress came over and grabbed us and when we tried to question her about wait time and other things, she rudely shoved us into a side room and told us to wait til a table was ready. If we hadn't wanted to waste time looking for another restaurant, we would have left. We didn't wait long until she came and got us, showed us to a table and disappeared. We could tell she was easily stressed by all the diners, but when the train is in town that should be expected. And the train does bring the bulk of the money spent.

When she came to take our orders, we were too afraid to ask any questions about the menu. We were four friends asking for separate checks. I must say we enjoyed the food---a taco salad, soup, French Dip sandwich, bacon cheeseburger all with side dishes. We thought the food was very good. When the waitress presented our checks, she had added an 18% gratuity on each of our checks. I guess there was a sign somewhere in the restaurant stating that separate checks at one table required this. Our waitress was fortunate since with our experience with her we probably wouldn't have tipped that much. One person in our party actually bought a Grumpy's shirt and told us when she wore it, we would know what mood she was in!

To sum up, we did enjoy the food,l the atmosphere, and the piano playing. If we are ever in Silverton again, we will try another restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sweet little saloon and piano player”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

May not be the best place to eat in Silverton. We don't know. We've only eaten here the three times we've been to this wonderful little community! We love the quaintness and the history this place exudes! Fun place, yummy buffalo burgers, and great old fashion piano playin' !!!

Helpful?
Thank Shari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinson, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic - don't miss this one”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Our trip on the Durango & Silverton railroad was topped off by a lunch at Grumpy's. Atmosphere could not be beat! Good food & an old piano. The young lady was playing honky tonk the whole time we were there. Such a great place that I had to have their t-shirt to go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Venturousmorroalert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grand Restaurant and Saloon also viewed

 

Been to The Grand Restaurant and Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing