We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool inn, great location, tasty breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House
Ranked #2 of 5 Silverton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2010

I've stayed at many B&B and this one is at the top of my list. The rooms are big and the bathrooms are nice. The best part is that they are are still vintage and rustic but provide comfortable stay. The Innkeeper know his stuff too. You name it and he can tell ya about the area. He even used to be a backcountry 4X4 guide!

Breakfasts were filling and almost entirely organic and made with unprocessed food.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelehart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 154 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2010

We booked rooms at this inn based on previous TripAdvisor reviews and were not disappointed. The rooms were nicely appointed and spotlessly clean, with luxurious bedding and nice toiletries. Since the inn is located a couple of blocks off the main drag, it has a quiet and peaceful ambience. It also has the only hot tub in Silverton. However, the best reason to stay at the Inn of the Rockies is Michael, the innkeeper. He is a charming, affable host who is a wealth of information about the backcountry surrounding Silverton. He provided expert advice about outdoor activities in the area, including recommendations for the best hiking and jeeping trails. He knows the San Juan Mountains like the back of his hand and answered all of our inane tourist questions with patience and kindness. Finally, I am not really a breakfast person but was flat blown away by the scrumptious meal Michael prepared. He served us a delicious fruit smoothie (made with 12 healthy ingredients), a side of lean free-range ham, and blueberry-banana-nut waffles that were so incredible they defy description. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Silverton and recommend this inn without reservation.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Necie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

The staff was very friendly and had lots of info about town and local area. Rooms were very clean. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sasmarble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

The Inn of the Rockies is an authentic Victorian hotel with its own special atmosphere. We met Micheal, the owner and asked him for mountain and hiking advice. Due to his advices we had three beautiful days. He told us about several hikes and places to camp in the area. He knows a lot of places in Silverton, Ouray and Telluride. He is an enthousiastic and sportive mountaineer and snowboarder. He knows the area in side out.

Thanks Micheal, we had a great time.

Karel and Siska Jacobs, The Netherlands

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karel-en-Siska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

The manager set the tone for the Inn and my stay, and Michael's breakfast were fantastic, delicious, and so healthy. I've never been offered a delicious breakfast smoothie at any other B & B, and the dining room was a very pleasant place to enjoy the sumptuous breakfast and chat with the other guests.
My room was spacious, pretty, and comfortable, and I felt so at home.
When you go, enjoy the hot tub and/or sitting in the gardens, enjoying a cup of evening tea and a home made cookie. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gasherbrum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

What a fantastic place! We came here to go backcountry skiing for a few days and this was a great place to get ready for the trip and unwind afterward. Michael is an amazing host! An accomplished, well-traveled and avid outdoor enthusiast himself, Michael's a wealth of information about local routes, things to see and do in and around Silverton, local history and more if you ask him for it, yet gives you plenty of space and privacy too. Most notably, Michael knocked our socks off with his cooking. Totally gourmet, perhaps the best and healthiest B&B breakfast I've had anywhere, ever. Everything's as fresh, natural and organic as he can find and bring into this relatively remote mountain town. Michael cooks everything from scratch - no frozen or pre-made items here - homemade Belgian style waffles were superb with a surprising side of sweet potato hash browns and one of the best fruit smoothies I've had at any juice bar or health food store. That breakfast carried us through our day of skinning to and skiing Fairview Gulch with only minimal need for snacks. Coming back at the end of the day, we welcomed watching the sunset on the San Juans as we relaxed in the hot tub before showering off in the clawfoot tub and lounging around in the inn's fluffy robes before dinner. The electric-powered freplace in our room took the chill of the high alpine night off us and while the "flames" created a nice romantic ambience, we chose to turn it off at night to let the room cool down for great sleeping in the fabulously comfy bed. The next day we had a sublime tour to Red Mountain #3, Michael helped us time the trip so we hit it just right when the snow had just softened enough for the summit but wasn't too mushy at the bottom. This is the place to stay to make sure you're properly rested, fueled and pointed in the right direction to maximize whatever adventure you have planned in Silverton.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrandAmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We stayed last week at this small hotel, and it was fantastic. We stayed in Room 10, which I highly recommend due to the first floor location (no hauling gear upstairs!), proximity to the breakfast room, and the king bed and fireplace. It was roomy and comfy and warm, with great mountain views. In the morning they serve an amazing breakfast wtih all natural ingredients, plus yummy smoothies and plenty of coffee. Mike and Ashley took great care of everyone and made sure we were all set to go for skiing at Silverton, even providing pack lunches (on advance request) and a home made energy drink to get you through the day. The outdoor hot tub was perfect at the end of the day, and we got plenty of scoop on the town and surrounding area from the staff. The location is great right in town, and it was great to mingle and meet the other guests in the breakfast room. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely try to stay here again WHEN we come back to Silverton. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brcornerstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silverton
0.2 mi away
Grand Imperial Hotel
Grand Imperial Hotel
#1 of 7 in Silverton
71 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Victorian Inn
The Victorian Inn
#5 of 11 in Telluride
393 reviews
13.3 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
936 reviews
14.6 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
104 reviews
14.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 15 in Ouray
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House

Address: 220 E 10th Street, PO Box 359, Silverton, CO 81433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Silverton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Silverton
Price Range: $138 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended by the New York Times, the Guardian newspaper of London, and others. Silverton's Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House is the absolute best value in luxury accommodations you will find anywhere in the Colorado Rockies. We offer feather beds, wi-fi, a large outdoor hot tub, a full served breakfast, personal attention and gracious hospitality, all within the historic home Bridget Hughes' built 115 years ago. While you may book online at various sites, we would prefer to hear from you personally as well to insure a relaxed and peaceful visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing