We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House
Ranked #2 of 5 Silverton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Awesome stay”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I was in Silverton with a few colleagues just for a couple of nights during the last week of September. Amy and William were the most fantastic hosts, they were extremely hospitable and friendly. The rooms were cozy, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was always the highlight of my day, it was awesomely delicious. Thank you for the wonderful stay!

Room Tip: If you would like privacy, go for room 9, right at the top level. You will have the whole level to y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    22
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
28
73
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2011

My husband and I had a 4 night stay in Sept. 2011 and loved every minute of it! The inn is quaint, historical, and has a victorian though somewhat rustic personality. The hosts Amy and William are very friendly and helpful. Rarely do I find the kind of kitchen and housekeeping skills that are exhibited here. These folks work hard and are excellent at what they do. We felt so much at home that it was very hard to leave. We will be making Alma House our "place to go" every time we pass this way!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2011

First time in Silverton and Amy & William made it fantastic. They could not have been nicer. From their overall kindness to their knowledge of the town. The rooms were cozy and comfortable and the breakfast was the best I have had compared to any other B&B. I look forward to coming back in the winter and bringing as many friends as I can!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I have use the Alma House twice, once with spouse and once with son and grandsons. Both stays were most enjoyable. The host, William and Amy, were helpful and friendly. The breakfast was well presented and tasteful. Our first stay was in Room 10, very romantic and unique. Ask for this room if a couple. The second stay was in Room 9, accommodating 4. The B&B is an old building adding to its charm, but well maintained and furnished. Silverton lies between Ouray and Durango, a beautiful part of the country in which to vacation. Jeeping is great!

Room Tip: Room 10, unique and romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tisrjtisrj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2011

My wife and I could only stay one night (9/24/2011). While our experience was short, there is no doubt that William and Amy would have continued to provide the very best in friendliness, comfort, food and everything else you would want from staying at a B&B. We stayed in room #3 and could not be more pleased with the turn of the century setting and had a great sleep just after viewing a canopy of countless stars in the night sky. And don't let us forget to mention the friendly and memorable town of Silverton and the awesome train ride from Durango. All in all...an unforgettable experience. Amy and William, here's to you.
Frank and Marie

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales, NM
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We spent a weekend at this delightful Inn. It was like staying with friends in their home. It was quiet, peaceful and very comfortable. The breakfasts were superb and served, in the Fall, from 7:30 to 9;00 and if you are hiking you need an early start. There were lovely amenities, such as fresh baked cookies in the afternoon, a lovely outside yard to relax in, and comfortable sitting rooms inside. We visit in Silverton frequently and look forward to staying here again. It's like we now have friends there. Amy and William were terrific.
Carol and Byron

Room Tip: We liked second floor rooms and ones in which the windows open. We like outside air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

This Inn is a great step back in the mining rush history. You truly expect a prospector to come in the door with a bag of Silver. Amy does wonders in the kitchen and her husband William is there to help in any fashion. A must on your bucket list

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroad1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silverton
0.2 mi away
Grand Imperial Hotel
Grand Imperial Hotel
#1 of 7 in Silverton
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Teller House
Teller House
#4 of 7 in Silverton
83 reviews
15.5 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
The Victorian Inn
The Victorian Inn
#5 of 11 in Telluride
356 reviews
14.8 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
162 reviews
14.5 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House

Property: The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House
Address: 220 E 10th Street, PO Box 359, Silverton, CO 81433
Location: United States > Colorado > Silverton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Silverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended by the New York Times, the Guardian newspaper of London, and others. Silverton's Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House is the absolute best value in luxury accommodations you will find anywhere in the Colorado Rockies. We offer feather beds, wi-fi, a large outdoor hot tub, a full served breakfast, personal attention and gracious hospitality, all within the historic home Bridget Hughes' built 115 years ago. While you may book online at various sites, we would prefer to hear from you personally as well to insure a relaxed and peaceful visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing