We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded all expectations!”
Review of North Fork Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shawnee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North Fork Ranch
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shawnee
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Took entire family of 15, from 8 months-47 & 100 % were delighted with everything from accommodations to extraordinary range of activities, food & especially the gracious, efficient service!

Best family event ever, one never to be duplicated.

Easily reached from Denver International Airports, with Ranch providing transport, if needed; since so entirely self-contained car unnecessary. Early season timing outstanding: Good weather and not yet peak occupancy.

Those considering a guest ranch need to know, at NFR (1) absolutely NO guest chores and (2) non-riders will still be torn between many other activities from which to choose; days & many evenings can be as full as you want, but nothing "expected", other than to relax and enjoy!

Room Tip: Our family occupied 7 rooms and each was outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grizlymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 88 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014

The North Fork Ranch is a wonderful couples or family experience within 1.5 hrs. of Denver. The fishing on property was incredible; great thrill catching our first trout using fly fishing gear. And the food was absolutely delicious. Karen and Dean May have taken a beautiful setting on the South Platte River and built it into a 35-guest dude ranch and fishing lodge with lots of love and attention. Their staff members all convey the same energy and desire as the owners to ensure the guests have a memorable visit and are eager to return. We hope to make another visit next summer.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Fishing, riding, relaxing, eating, hiking...you name it - North Fork delivers! Our family just returned from a long weekend stay. We couldn't have been more pleased with the location, the quality of the fishing, the trailriding, the food and the staff. All of us had a great time. The accommodations are spaced out so everyone feels like they have their own little part of the ranch. Our entire family was wowed once again by the quality of the fly fishing - really world class! And, whether you are an experienced trailrider, or this is your first day on a horse, they have you covered. It is that perfect vacation combination where you can be busy enough to be tired at the end of the day, and relaxed enough to completely unwind.
The food is served family style with enough variety and options to please everyone. You will NOT go hungry! And one final word about the entire staff. Dean and Karen May, the owners, set the example and EVERYONE makes you feel welcome. Whether it's a wrangler adjusting a stirrup for the 1000th time or the kitchen staff washing your dishes, everyone goes the extra mile to make sure your vacation is a great one!

Room Tip: The Homestead and the Klondike cabins are the nicest overall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank DLA2600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Karen and Dean May have created the most wonderful ranch experience you can imagine. We have been on many vacations as a family and our week at North Fork (spanning Memorial Day) ranks as one of our best ever. The riding is top notch, the fishing is fantastic and the food and lodging were beyond our expectations.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

The accommodations were luxurious with great detail in the decor. The property is beautiful. Wedged in the Rockly Mountains. Nice scenic drive from the airport to the ranch. Easy ride. Fun driving up the mountains. Greeted immediately by the owner. I can't say enough about the food. No beans and hotdogs. The animals are just beautiful and well taken care of. The owners are very involved and ensure that you have the very best experience. I stayed in the cottage. I highly recommend it. Every day I woke up and looked at the decorations. Every nook and cranny was thought out. I was there for a business conference. I am going to come back and bring my husband and daughter. It is an Orvis Awarded Fly fishing destination. After seeing the groups going on fishing expeditions, I am now convinced that I should start flyfishing. You hear the river, you look at the mountains, and wow, the stars. Don't pass up this experience. I recommend stoping at the liquor store near the airport and buying a bottle of champagne to put in your frig in your room. Also, a nice cognac, while you are sitting in the rocking chair looking at the view.

Room Tip: The cottage is perfect. 2 floors. Large bedrooms. Fireplace in two of the rooms. Porch and living...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy_Trails297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Staying at the North Fork Ranch is pure joy! I was one of a group of 13 men who participated in a cancer recovery retreat and experienced two and a half days of amazing hospitality from the entire staff, fabulous gourmet meals, service beyond compare and guided fly fishing that resulted in landing several gorgeous rainbow trout almost too big to hold in your hands for photos. The ranch is owned by Karen and Dean and their well-deserved pride shows in every aspect of their operation. I am truly appreciative of my experience at the North Fork Ranch, and can confidently recommend it to families, couples or individuals who want a respite they will remember for the rest of their lives.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMN303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a very special place. The fishing is truly phenomenal, and Jeff is a world class guide. Karen's food is amazing so come hungry! If you cant have fun here, There is something wrong. Can't wait to go back...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjr1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shawnee
22.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Golden West on Evergreen Parkway
25.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Denver Littleton
20.1 mi away
Colorado Bear Creek Cabins
Colorado Bear Creek Cabins
#1 of 3 in Evergreen
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Grant Motel
The Grant Motel
#1 of 1 in Grant
5 reviews
19.6 mi away
Highland Haven Creekside Inn
20.9 mi away
The Cabins at Country Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Fork Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Fork Ranch

Address: 55395 Highway 285, P.O. Box B, Shawnee, CO 80475
Location: United States > Colorado > Shawnee
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shawnee
Price Range: $190 - $535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — North Fork Ranch 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to life at North Fork Ranch a premier guest ranch and fishing lodge. Established in 1985, this family oriented ranch rests on a half mile of private river, the North Fork of the South Platte. One hour from Denver, in the majestic Rocky Mountains, you'll find horseback riding, whitewater rafting, world class fly fishing, campfire, intimate accommodations, dining with a gourmet flare and activities for all ages! **Colorado's Newest, Orvis Endorsed Fishing Lodge** ... more   less 
Also Known As:
North Fork Ranch Colorado/Shawnee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing