We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ideal corporate retreat center”
Review of North Fork Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shawnee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North Fork Ranch
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shawnee
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The North Fork Ranch is the most incredible corporate retreat site in the U.S. I have been bringing my Leading From Within three-day workshop to NFR for the past seven years and can't say enough about the location, the beauty, the service, the food, and cabins.

If you are looking for a retreat site for your program or company, make sure you contact the North Fork Ranch first. Everybody I've brought has demanded we go back. But be careful, you may never want to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AskDrMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 88 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

I just attended a seminar that was set at the North Fork Ranch. First of all the setting is gorgeous. The guest ranch is nestled between Hwy 285 and the North Fork of the South Platte River in a stunning valley. The river was audible from every part of the property. Fall is just beginning to settle into Colorado and the aspen trees were beginning to change to a beautiful gold. The accomodations were impeccable and authentic Colorado Ranch style and the food was uncomparable. We were well fed each meal in five star fashion - and I tend to be picky about food. I use tripadvisor for all my travel needs, it is helpful to hear what others have to say about a hotel, property or restaurant. Check out the North Fork Ranch for a quality escape from the front range or a geniune guest ranch experience in Colorado. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roxy1girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We recently held a corporate meeting at North Fork Ranch with over 20 attendees. The experience exceeded our expectations in every way. The property is exactly what you would hope for – picturesque and perfectly maintained. The meeting room was large and comfortable, including a wood fireplace that was roaring every morning. Off of the meeting and dining room was a patio overlooking the river which was an ideal location for relaxed conversations. During our meetings which ran for several hours, unexpected treats such as iced coffee and fresh baked cookies would silently appear much to our surprise and enjoyment. The meals were excellent – perfectly prepared, exactly on schedule, and unbelievably delicious. We had arranged an afternoon of team building activities including horseback riding, trap shooting, and guided fly fishing. The activity guides were a true pleasure. They ensured that each and every team member had a memorable experience. But above all Karen, Dean, and the entire staff were an absolute pleasure to work with. They were gracious, caring, and worked very hard to make sure that every aspect of our stay was perfect in every way. If you are looking for the perfect place to hold a corporate event – this is the place to visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Yes, North Fork Ranch is actually a Dude Ranch, but you will not believe how good the food is. No pork and beans here! My husband, son, and I just enjoyed a 3-day getaway to NFR, and it's terrific. Great horses, friendly hosts, scenic vistas, and did I mention the food is awesome? It's the perfect place to escape the 21st century and remember what life's all about. Truly a fantastic experience. Thanks, Karen and Dean!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Klondike Cabin. Loved the porch and the stone fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthofSomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

In looking for a place to host our semi-annual team meeting one of our leaders found NFR. We looked it over and said it sounded like fun so we booked it. 20 people from all over the country arrived last Wed (8/29/12) in Denver (gateway city - huge plus) and then drove out 80 minutes to NFR for three days of fun, relaxation, and some excitement. From the moment we arrived we fell in love with NFR and it just got better every day. The food was incredible - five star all the way. The atmosphere was amazing, truly gods country, and the people were SO friendly. They bent over backwards to accommodate our every whim and wish and had permanent smiles on their faces! WONDERFUL PEOPLE!! The activities (horse back riding, trap shooting, fly fishing) were so fun and really helped build the team atmosphere we were looking for. We had morning meetings in the main cabin, and afternoons/evenings of fun.

I have recommended to all our leadership that they look at NFR for future team meetings and certain they will be as thrilled as we were. I have been to 30+ team meetings at various venues - none compared to NFR! THANK YOU so much - and we will be back!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband and three sons, aged 13 and 9, and I loved our dude ranch experience. Beautiful locale with rooms in cool cabins as well as a stone house. Delicious food! Our boys are very active and never ran out of fun things to do--trail rides with picnic lunches, archery, skeet shooting, pool and hot tub, and well as zip lining and white water rafting. We did it all together as a family, but my husband and I would relax in late afternoon and the boys could run around the ranch, going to rec room and pool/hot tub.
It was a very memorable family experience. You will never regret taking your family, friends, or partner on vacation to North Fork Ranch!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anninrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

As a family of five, we had a great time at North Fork! Loping on horses, whitewater rafting, fly fishing, great food and cowboy songs around a camp fire just made for an outstanding vacation. Our time at North Fork was clearly a highlight amidst traveling through cities and national parks in CA & AZ. Dean and Karen were great hosts throughout our stay! Top shelf service from the staff all week.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to North Fork Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Fork Ranch

Address: 55395 Highway 285, P.O. Box B, Shawnee, CO 80475
Location: United States > Colorado > Shawnee
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shawnee
Price Range: $190 - $535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — North Fork Ranch 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to life at North Fork Ranch a premier guest ranch and fishing lodge. Established in 1985, this family oriented ranch rests on a half mile of private river, the North Fork of the South Platte. One hour from Denver, in the majestic Rocky Mountains, you'll find horseback riding, whitewater rafting, world class fly fishing, campfire, intimate accommodations, dining with a gourmet flare and activities for all ages! **Colorado's Newest, Orvis Endorsed Fishing Lodge** ... more   less 
Also Known As:
North Fork Ranch Colorado/Shawnee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing