We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Honeymoon in paradise”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Vilano Beach, St. Augustine, Florida

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
marinemom...
Spring Valley, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed with This Rental”
Reviewed April 29, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
5
people found this review helpful

The photos posted of this home are somewhat deceiving as there were no patio covers as shown. The patio itself could have used a pressure cleaning as it was dirty. Old grill available for use. Upon entering the house, there was a huge cockroach on the floor. No coffee pot was available, only a small French Press. We had to purchase a coffee pot. The oven had not been cleaned so we chose not to use it at all. The first time my husband took a shower, the left shower handle came off in his hands. This was reported to the owner. We were able to make the repair ourselves .A kitchen electrical outlet was completely loose and we did not dare use it. Also reported to owner. One couch had been torn and the tear was covered with silver tape. Living room walls were gouged, overall, place is really beat. In order to receive a "damage" refund, guests must wash all of the sheets and towels and leave beds re-made. Instructions cover a kitchen wall that owner has written out with chalk. So, we spent several hours providing a service FOR the owners instead of THEM paying a cleaning service. The house is located on a very busy and noisy street. Easy access to beach. Bedrooms were OK but much smaller in person. I do not recommend this accommodation as there are several, better alternatives in the area. Consideration the amount of money we paid, we were very disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beach is close by
Liked least: Overall beat condition of the property
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2016
Thank you for letting us know of your experience during your stay at our place. We really do appreciate any and all feedback so we continually grow and improve our home. Our intentions are always to ensure your visit is a great visit to Bennett’s by the Sea.

We were a little surprised by this review due to what we saw as very cordial communication. While reviewing our text timeline with each other we reread the following wording “ no emergency, just wanted to give you a heads up, no big deal, looking forward to meeting you”
We don’t normally respond in such a detailed way but due to some of the items mentioned we feel compelled to do so.

• We do provide a full kitchen experience so we were surprised to hear that the coffee maker had disappeared. A new one was ordered that day.
• Unfortunately, in Florida’s marsh and dune areas, we do see Palmetto bugs. We thoroughly spray after every guest leaves…we do not have cockroaches.
• The guest before your visit, with 4 boisterous children, did split seam on one of the two matching couches. We are searching for a replacement other than purchase two new ones. They also lowered the futon corners into a newly painted wall.
• The shower handle on inspection is in normal condition. No concerns of the handle being loose had been expressed by previous guest.
• We do have a 22 x 14 ft. covered terrace to allow outside dining even in the rain. The covered patio area referred to is an attached yard that can be used for larger parties when requested. Grill is 6 months old and it lives by the ocean.
• Vacation rental etiquette has a ‘leave it like you found it and pay it forward to the next guests’ philosophy. It is a common practice to ask for items that were used to be washed and dried.
• The hotel down the road charges $189 a night for two beds. This is a 2 bedroom 900 sq. ft. apartment w/full lichen, beach towels and chairs provided, fenced in yard for your pet experience.
We sincerely apologize if your visit was not what you were hoping for. We strive very hard to keep our 80 year old future retirement home in great condition and to provide a comfortable home like experience for your family. We know we are very blessed to live in this beautiful area and we really do love to share our home with our guests. We do believe our 15 year history and almost 5 star rating speaks to our dedication to strive for excellence.

The Bennetts
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mickjags
Coloma, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Honeymoon in paradise”
Reviewed November 9, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved spending our honeymoon at Bennett's. We got in very late on a Thursday night but owner worked with us for easy access which was much appreciated. Though it was late we made the short walk to the beach. It's wonderful to hear the waves at night.

The home was well appointed and nicely decorated. The outdoor area is shaded enough to be helpful while allowing plenty of sunshine. We had extended family of four adults and two little ones over for dinner one night and breakfast another day and with the nearby grocery and full kitchen had everything we needed.

My husband and I hope to stay here again in the future when meeting our Florida family in St Augustine. The owners were helpful and nice. We enjoyed meeting them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2015
We were so excited to have the two of you here for your honeymoon! You were great fun ....we hope the family photos turned out great!

We look forward to seeing you in the near future. Thank you for treating our home with great respect and care.

Gayla & Peter Bennett
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmo559
Gainesville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great location, great rental”
Reviewed April 17, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

perfect beach access, good food nearby.
very comfortable rooms, feels like a home not a rental.
will be going back later this year.
Location between St Augustine & Jax Beaches allows for lots of options.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2015
We're so happy you'd loved our place! You two were on the go the minute you arrived.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela O
Fort White, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“PERFECT in every way !”
Reviewed April 17, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I am so glad to have found this rental. Close to EVERYTHING ! It is just a short walk to the beautiful beach and a short drive to the historic area of St. Augustine. The rental has everything you could want, clean, beautifully decorated and the owners are great. They make sure you are happy and comfortable. We will definitely come back !

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing