We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Saint Augustine Beach House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We have stayed here several times and enjoy it very much. The rooms are large and very clean. Whether you stay on the first, second or third floor, the ocean is in front of you. You can fall asleep at night by listening to the powerful ocean waves. More importantly, the staff at Saint Augustine Beach House is absolutely wonderful. A relaxed, casual and comfortable place to stay!

Room Tip: any room seems good, relaxed and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank msc18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you so much for continuing to choose The Beach House for your stays in Saint Augustine! We agree - the location on the beach offers a relaxing atmosphere and is a good way to recharge!! We look forward to your next visit and hope you will always feel like part of the Beach House family. Regards from all of us....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 485 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

Wi-Fi did NOT work, and cell coverage was spotty. Staff said," I'm having the same problem with mine," ie, empathetic but not helpful. Was a big deal for us. Room equipped with kitchenette sans stove, but we had to request glasses, dishes, even dishtowels. There were no paper towels and no broom or dustbuster to sweep up dog kibble (or a broken beer bottle, ooops!). Suite was large and super-clean but devoid of any decor (walls bare) and lighting a little weird with all overhead lights except 1 floor lamp. Everything but the wi-fi and cell reception worked well. We were given end room on 1st floor, room 106 (as requested) and enjoyed 180 degree views. Even the 1st floor rooms have private balconies and are elevated high enough to see the water over the dunes. The beach can be driven on...not busy in January. There are about a half-dozen lovely outdoor cats next door. Unfortunately highly distracting for one of my dogs :- /
This was out 1st stay in Vilano Beach. We might return to this hotel, or might try another next time.

Room Tip: End units have 180 degree view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments. We appreciate your input and will use your suggestions to help us continuously improve. This was the first time we had heard of problems with the Wi-Fi coverage, as we had a brand new router system installed over the summer. When you mentioned cell coverage issues as well, we thought it might be due to weather that day,... and apologize if we appeared to not appreciate your concerns. The guestroom lighting is designed for energy efficiency with a 'zone' type overhead system, but we can certainly add table lamps if you prefer more direct light. We do hope you will return to the hotel for another stay and thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We discovered The Beach House when it was the Ocean Blue many years ago. It was then the beachiest of beach hotels. But we loved it and could take our dog to enjoy being on the beach. We've come back year after year and now it is very much improved with the service and the updates. We love it even more and have already made our future reservations

Joyce and Chip Templeton
North Carolina

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean front. Second and third floors are the best for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

What a wonderful compliment! We are all very happy to hear that as a long time guest of the hotel, you are pleased with our improvement efforts. You will always be part of our Beach House extended family and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Thank you from all of us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stayed with my 2 dogs in a second floor room. The view is amazing and you can't beat that! The room was very clean and bright and had an open feel to it. Very pet friendly( all tile and dog cookies in the office). I could hear my upstairs neighbours quite a lot so perhaps the 3rd floor would be the better choice room location. The location is great in being very close to downtown St Augustine although the neighborhood of Vilano beach is very patchy and not that scenic- but all in all for an ocean front room I can't complain. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Third floor probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank msdvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Many thanks for your kind comments - we are very happy to hear you found the room clean and agree that the views are truly the best on the beach! We are most happy to hear you would plan to return for another visit - and we will do our best to make sure the next stay is even better! Have a wonderful new year and thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Super Hotel. Trip adviser has changed location from St. Augustine to Vilano beach however it is extremely close to the city RIGHT ON THE OCEAN!!! and a fantastic place to stay. Paul, the proprietor will definitely treat you like family. We will definitely stay here next time we come to town just wish the water was a bit warmer. But on the other hand it is January.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank rif32084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments! Folks are having trouble finding our listing since Trip Advisor moved us into a 'Vilano Beach' location -- even though as you say, we are just over a mile from the historic district of Saint Augustine!! We are very happy that you found us and that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit and again - many thanks for a very, very nice review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very clean, rooms very spacious, the unobstructed view of the ocean is unbeatable and the staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. Pamela gave us some good recoomendations on what to see, where to go to eat dinner with a good view. She definately steered us in the right direction. The sunrise from our personal balcony was amazing. We only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honestreviews225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Next time we too hope you will be able to stay longer! We appreciate your very kind comments and are glad to know you enjoyed your visit with us. We'll hope to see you again very soon and from all of us here at The Beach House - best wishes for a Happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

If you want to feel that you're staying at someone's house vs checking into a hotel, this is where you want to stay. The management and staff were accommodating to our every need and met our every request. Just like great hosts would do in their homes.

Very friendly, clean, great location, and overall exceptional experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

We are so very excited to hear that you felt welcome and at home here at The Beach House! Our guests are like 'family' to us and our goal is to be the best hosts possible... Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and we truly look forward to seeing you again soon. Happy New Year from all of us...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilano Beach
2.2 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
2.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#9 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,404 reviews
2 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saint Augustine Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saint Augustine Beach House

Address: 10 Vilano Rd, Vilano Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2964
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vilano Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vilano Beach
Price Range: $192 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Saint Augustine Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy incredible views of the Atlantic from your private oceanfront balcony. Spacious rooms offer king beds, kitchenettes, and complimentary Wi-Fi access. A full, hot breakfast is included with your stay. We are just 5 minutes from historic downtown Saint Augustine and within walking distance to several restaurants and shopping. Pets are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Saint Augustine Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saint Augustine Beach House Hotel Saint Augustine
Ocean Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing