We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1.2 miles from old jail” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Saint Augustine Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Saint Augustine Beach House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“1.2 miles from old jail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Super Hotel. Trip adviser has changed location from St. Augustine to Vilano beach however it is extremely close to the city RIGHT ON THE OCEAN!!! and a fantastic place to stay. Paul, the proprietor will definitely treat you like family. We will definitely stay here next time we come to town just wish the water was a bit warmer. But on the other hand it is January.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rif32084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments! Folks are having trouble finding our listing since Trip Advisor moved us into a 'Vilano Beach' location -- even though as you say, we are just over a mile from the historic district of Saint Augustine!! We are very happy that you found us and that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit and again - many thanks for a very, very nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    80
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
136
231
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very clean, rooms very spacious, the unobstructed view of the ocean is unbeatable and the staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. Pamela gave us some good recoomendations on what to see, where to go to eat dinner with a good view. She definately steered us in the right direction. The sunrise from our personal balcony was amazing. We only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honestreviews225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Next time we too hope you will be able to stay longer! We appreciate your very kind comments and are glad to know you enjoyed your visit with us. We'll hope to see you again very soon and from all of us here at The Beach House - best wishes for a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

If you want to feel that you're staying at someone's house vs checking into a hotel, this is where you want to stay. The management and staff were accommodating to our every need and met our every request. Just like great hosts would do in their homes.

Very friendly, clean, great location, and overall exceptional experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
We are so very excited to hear that you felt welcome and at home here at The Beach House! Our guests are like 'family' to us and our goal is to be the best hosts possible... Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and we truly look forward to seeing you again soon. Happy New Year from all of us...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Came upon this place by chance and really enjoyed it. Only stayed one night but was a great little place ( with large rooms) - right on the beach. You cannot find a better place. Nothing fancy, but clean and bed was very comfortable. Staff very nice and helpful. Would have liked to have stayed longer to enjoy the beach location.

Room Tip: Second or third floor for the best beach views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
We're so glad you found us! Thank you for your very kind comments and we will look forward to seeing you again very soon - and please do plan to stay longer on your next visit!! There's always so much to see and do in Saint Augustine... Happy Holidays from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed here in 2005, (I believe it was called the "Ocean Blue" back then) when I first moved from Nevada to St Augustine, with my loyal dog in tow. After a road trip of some not-so-nice dog-friendly hotels this was paradise found!! The rooms were a bit run down at that time---but from the pictures, it looks like they have upgraded nicely. The view from your private balcony is absolutely stunning and this sweet little beach town is a nice escape from the tourist density in downtown St Augustine just across the bridge. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank auggiebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you so much! Bringing Ocean Blue back to life as The Beach House has truly been a labor of love and we are happy you liked the results!! It is so good to know you and your dog enjoyed your visit - and even better to know you plan to return soon. We look forward to welcoming you back and happy holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celebration, Florida
Level Contributor
169 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

You cannot go wrong here. We had the top left room, and the views were perfection, bed was comfy, and everything was very nice.

Housekeeping changed out the bathroom towels, but that was all. So don't expect anything more than that.... But still, we loved it

Room Tip: Bring groceries to save money, but definitely eat at the Columbia restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poppingupdaisies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We appreciate your comments - and thank you for your review. We'll be looking forward to welcoming you back - and please do always let us know what services you need so we can be sure to have housekeeping come by and take care of it! We're sorry that services fell short during your stay - and we'll certainly work hard to do better next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

The location is excellent, the staff is extremely friendly, they help you find things to do around the city. One lady that worked there was making Christmas ornimants for the city but came to our room, knocked on our door and gave us one, saying that we would enjoy it. It was a very nice gesture. The rooms are plain but very nice and has perfect veiws of the beach. We highly recommend this place.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marcus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review... and for your recommendation, which we very much appreciate. It is important to us that our guests feel welcome, comfortable and part of The Beach House family and we're happy to know you enjoyed your visit with us. We'll look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilano Beach
5.5 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
1.9 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saint Augustine Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saint Augustine Beach House

Property: The Saint Augustine Beach House
Address: 10 Vilano Rd, Vilano Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2964
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vilano Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Vilano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Saint Augustine Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy incredible views of the Atlantic from your private oceanfront balcony. Spacious rooms offer king beds, kitchenettes, and complimentary Wi-Fi access. A full, hot breakfast is included with your stay. We are just 5 minutes from historic downtown Saint Augustine and within walking distance to several restaurants and shopping. Pets are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your The Saint Augustine Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saint Augustine Beach House Hotel Saint Augustine
Ocean Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing