We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lookin' Better than ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Saint Augustine Beach House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed here in 2005, (I believe it was called the "Ocean Blue" back then) when I first moved from Nevada to St Augustine, with my loyal dog in tow. After a road trip of some not-so-nice dog-friendly hotels this was paradise found!! The rooms were a bit run down at that time---but from the pictures, it looks like they have upgraded nicely. The view from your private balcony is absolutely stunning and this sweet little beach town is a nice escape from the tourist density in downtown St Augustine just across the bridge. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auggiebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you so much! Bringing Ocean Blue back to life as The Beach House has truly been a labor of love and we are happy you liked the results!! It is so good to know you and your dog enjoyed your visit - and even better to know you plan to return soon. We look forward to welcoming you back and happy holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 481 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

You cannot go wrong here. We had the top left room, and the views were perfection, bed was comfy, and everything was very nice.

Housekeeping changed out the bathroom towels, but that was all. So don't expect anything more than that.... But still, we loved it

Room Tip: Bring groceries to save money, but definitely eat at the Columbia restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poppingupdaisies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

We appreciate your comments - and thank you for your review. We'll be looking forward to welcoming you back - and please do always let us know what services you need so we can be sure to have housekeeping come by and take care of it! We're sorry that services fell short during your stay - and we'll certainly work hard to do better next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

The location is excellent, the staff is extremely friendly, they help you find things to do around the city. One lady that worked there was making Christmas ornimants for the city but came to our room, knocked on our door and gave us one, saying that we would enjoy it. It was a very nice gesture. The rooms are plain but very nice and has perfect veiws of the beach. We highly recommend this place.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Marcus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review... and for your recommendation, which we very much appreciate. It is important to us that our guests feel welcome, comfortable and part of The Beach House family and we're happy to know you enjoyed your visit with us. We'll look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was my 2nd stay at The St. Augustine Beach House and I wouldn't stay anywhere else while in St. Augustine. Vilano Beach was as wonderful as ever. St. Augustine was beautiful and the shopping was a dream. The staff at The Beach House were so good to me and my furbaby Mickey. I love being so close to the beach...it is like heaven on earth to me. I have already booked another week in April of 2014 and can't wait to return. Thank you guys....love you all!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank YOU! All of us send our very best wishes to you as well and we will certainly be ready to welcome you (and your 'little fur baby' back to The Beach House next Spring! We are happy to know you enjoy your visits with us as we do - and we'll be looking forward to seeing you again. Take good care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Have stayed here several times and it has always been an excellent experience. Very pet friendly, beautiful ocean front view. Staff are very friendly and helpful. They will do everything possible to make sure you have an enjoyable stay. Rooms are very clean with private balconies facing the ocean. This is the place to stay with awesome sunrises and sunsets and too relax.
There are several good places to eat within walking distance.

NOTE: The SABH was rated #1 of ALL hotels in the St. Augustine area before Tripadvisor changed the search to only to a Vilano Beach search. They have the same zip code as St. Augustine. Other businesses located in Vilano Beach are still considered a St. Augustine search.
This is very unfair to The SABH! Tripadvisor should correct this!

Room Tip: Second and third floors have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

We always enjoy when you visit with us! You are part of our Beach House family and we do appreciate your continued support and thank you for your very kind comments! Thank you too for noting that our hotel listing was moved out of Saint Augustine by Trip Advisor - we're still here but many people cannot find our listing!! Please hurry back - we'll be looking forward to seeing all of you again. Regards and best wishes from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed here with our dog and it was the most dog friendly hotel that we have ever encountered. The room was not fancy but it was large and comfortable with a sofa, refrigerator, microwave and sink.
The view of the ocean was spectacular. Each room faces the ocean, but the rooms cost more on the second and third floors. It is located on Vilano Beach which is also very dog friendly. The staff was amazing. We will definitely return to this hotel and will recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DakotaBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you for your comments - we are pet lovers here at The Beach House, so being 'pet friendly' is truly important to us! We're very glad that you and your pet enjoyed your visit - and we really appreciate knowing you plan to return and would recommend us... that's the best news we can get!! We look forward to your next visit and thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

fantastic location with clean comfortable rooms.the staff is conscientious and friendly with a real emphasis on being dog friendly. but if you don't like dog smelly rooms fear not the people there that didnt have a dog were as pleased as we were.the beach is dog friendly as well Beaches bar just down the road
. loved the entire experience, we will be back

Room Tip: all rooms face the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwilliams814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

We appreciate your review and are very happy that you enjoyed your experience at the beach! Please plan to return soon - and let us know if there is any way we can help to make your next visit just as good! We look forward to welcoming you back to The Beach House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilano Beach
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
2.2 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
2.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
887 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saint Augustine Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saint Augustine Beach House

Address: 10 Vilano Rd, Vilano Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2964
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vilano Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vilano Beach
Price Range: $174 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Saint Augustine Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy incredible views of the Atlantic from your private oceanfront balcony. Spacious rooms offer king beds, kitchenettes, and complimentary Wi-Fi access. A full, hot breakfast is included with your stay. We are just 5 minutes from historic downtown Saint Augustine and within walking distance to several restaurants and shopping. Pets are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Saint Augustine Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saint Augustine Beach House Hotel Saint Augustine
Ocean Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing