We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Saint Augustine Beach House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Anniversary Trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We try to find a new destination each year in Florida. This did not disappoint but a few things should be noted.

The room was clean but bare. Just bare walls and floors.

Wi- Fi only worked outside. Balcony was outside but no Wi-Fi. Had to go to front door side.

Kitchen was bare, no utensils. Management would help with what you needed.

Beach was shelly. Not good for walking.

Grill was closed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We truly appreciate your input - and will consider your suggestions as we continue to make changes and improvements to the hotel. Thank you for choosing to give The Beach House a try and we hope you enjoyed the views and were able to have a relaxing stay. Please plan to return when you visit the area - we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    83
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
138
234
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our most recent stay at the SABH was in July. We have been coming here for many years, back when it was called Ocean Blue. We also stayed here last November. Just since November there are improvements and updates of the house, as well as the services. SABH is pet-friendly, beachfront, and feels very private, even while being almost next to a public beach. The old municipal building that used to be Fiddler's Green has been torn down in the interim, giving the south side a much larger view now; you can see St. Augustine Beach now, whereas it was not visible before. The front desk folks are friendly and helpful, and go out of their way to accommodate your needs, providing ice, dishes, and silverware when needed, as well as linens. There is a small Continental breakfast area outside the front office, and a huge cage with colorful birds inside! Each room is a full suite with a private balcony facing the ocean, as well as a shared front porch with chairs. There are recycle bins available on each floor, which is much appreciated. Rooms are large and sunny, with a kitchen area and full size fridge, living room sofa and coffee table, eating area with table and chairs, a sitting area near the bed, and the view is awesome to wake up to. It is a true getaway from the crowds and tourism in St. Augustine, a five-minute drive over the bridge. We most certainly will be returning to the SABH. It is nice that some of the other older motels nearby have been re-vitalized and have re-opened. It feels like homecoming now when we cross over into Vilano Beach headed back to the SABH. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We like to stay on the North corner on the second floor. Now that the municipal building has been re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Many, many thanks for your beautiful testimonial! It is always so good to hear from long-time guests of the hotel who have returned and found it to be even better! The views are never-changing, but we work consistently to keep improving the property and to keep the feeling of coming home part of the Beach House experience. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon, and appreciate your business always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BROOKLYN
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Five minutes from the central historic district is this lovely hotel. It is right on the beach, with balconies facing the ocean. The double room we booked was spacious, really more like a small apartment, will full refrigerator and microwave, and a kitchenette sink separate from the bathroom, a sofabed and dining table. The hotel is locally owned, quiet and charming. Birds chirp outside the office and a light continental self-serve breakfast included waffles, yogurt, cereal and baked goods. This was a wonderful alternative to chains and to staying in town, as we could walk on the beach in the morning then take the short drive into town. The area is very safe and I was comfortable as a woman walking alone on the beach. The hotel is spotless and the staff friendly and very helpful. Boogie boards and other beach items were offered. The hotel is steps away from a surfing location although there was calmer water about a 10 mintue walk away. There was evidence of efforts to preserve and protect the local wildlife. Just I did not see any evidence of lifeguards. As a place to stay, I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a balcony facing the beach. I don't know if all rooms are designed this way; it appeared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank city-hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review! Our goal is to make guests feel at home and comfortable so they can relax and enjoy all that the beach and the historic downtown offers!! We will continue to do our best to offer the very best oceanfront getaway possible - so please plan to visit with us again soon - and thank you again for choosing The Beach House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Nothing fancy but very nice facilities right on the ocean. Family run and with a very friendly vibe. The beach was wonderful and the weather so cool that we slept with the balcony doors open and could hear the ocean.

Room Tip: Oooops, no fitness center....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CristinaAtlanta_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We agree - there is nothing more relaxing than the sound of the waves breaking just beyond your doorway! We appreciate your comments - and do wish we had the space to offer a fitness center. Hope you were able to try a run on the beach? Jogging or even walking in the sand along Vilano Beach is a great workout!! Please do plan to return for another visit soon - we'll look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed a week and loved every minute! Staff was excellent. The rooms were right on the beach. Loved waking up to the sound of the waves. Will use this establishment again!! Rooms very clean and right on Vilano Beach. Pet friendly rooms and beach was pet friendly too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lsw1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
'Outstanding' is the best description we could hope to read! Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are certainly going to look forward to your next visit and will continue to work hard to ensure every one of your future stays with us is as enjoyable. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is our third stay at the Beach House, and absolutely love it. Hotel is very quiet and is located in Vilano Beach, a sleepy little beach town, just over the bridge from the historic downtown St. Augustine area. Vilano Beach is completely walkable, and is nice to be able to walk from the hotel to several of the restaurants on the island for dinner, have drinks, and stumble back. It's also very nice to be able to walk out on the beach after dinner and have drinks on the beach after the beach has closed for vehicular traffic. Hotel employees are extremely friendly and always willing to help with any request you may have. The only tip I would give is that if you stay here (which I highly recommend), is to just make sure you request the room to be cleaned every other day or so. It's the only hotel I've ever stayed at where you have to request the room to be cleaned, but it's not a knock against the hotel, you just get used to it if you stay here a lot. Also, the hotel allows you to bring your pets, which is awesome because the Vilano Beach area is very dog friendly and many restaurants allow you to bring your dogs to dinner and have dinner with you on their patios. The hotel offers complimentary wi-fi and complimentary breakfast until 11a. Breakfast included cereal, pastries, yogurt, frozen waffles, oatmeal, coffee, and orange juice. The rooms are very quiet and big. Would recommend getting a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor to get the best view. We've stayed on the 2nd and 3rd floors and both are great, but will probably stick with second floor rooms to save money, because the view is the same no matter if you're on the 2nd or 3rd floors. If you stay here, check out Beaches of Vilano (walkable from the hotel), it's right on the water, and the fro-yo place in the Publix shopping center also has good yogurt. For a nice dinner, check out the Reef a couple of miles down A1A and the seafood there is awesome! (it'll cost ya though, about $50 a person, but it's probably some of the best seafood I've had - ignore the 3 star review on Yelp, I don't get it at all..) Also, don't waste your time going into historic St. Augustine, it's a bust and full of tourist traps. Spend all of your time in Vilano Beach and St. Augustine Beach, you'll be glad you did. We look forward to a trip back to the Beach House next year!

Room Tip: Pick a 2nd or 3rd floor room (all rooms are ocean view, but 1st floor rooms most likely have obstruc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
What an amazing testimonial!! We so much appreciate your taking time to share your experience and tips - and your truly wonderful comments. We do think we offer a perfect weekend getaway location - and we always hope our guests will leave us feeling like extended family and wanting to return. We will take your housekeeping comments to heart as well, and during your next visit, please be sure to mention anything we can do that would ensure your Beach House stay is as perfect as possible! We'll be looking forward to welcoming you back and from all of us - many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We spent a long weekend at the hotel and loved every minute of it. The hotel is located right on the beach and the views from the room were beautiful. The staff were very nice and made our stay a pleasure. The rooms were bright and suited our family of four perfectly. It was nice to be able to walk to dinner and Publix on our first night. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent_Small
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We loved every minute of having your as our guests!! Family getaways are so important and we were happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. There is always lots to do in the area - and the beach is always a perfect family vacation spot - so we do hope you will be planning another visit to The Beach House in the near future. We thank you for your wonderful comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilano Beach
5.5 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saint Augustine Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saint Augustine Beach House

Property: The Saint Augustine Beach House
Address: 10 Vilano Rd, Vilano Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2964
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vilano Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vilano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Saint Augustine Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy incredible views of the Atlantic from your private oceanfront balcony. Spacious rooms offer king beds, kitchenettes, and complimentary Wi-Fi access. A full, hot breakfast is included with your stay. We are just 5 minutes from historic downtown Saint Augustine and within walking distance to several restaurants and shopping. Pets are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Saint Augustine Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saint Augustine Beach House Hotel Saint Augustine
Ocean Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing