We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Saint Augustine Beach House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Nothing fancy but very nice facilities right on the ocean. Family run and with a very friendly vibe. The beach was wonderful and the weather so cool that we slept with the balcony doors open and could hear the ocean.

Room Tip: Oooops, no fitness center....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CristinaAtlanta_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

We agree - there is nothing more relaxing than the sound of the waves breaking just beyond your doorway! We appreciate your comments - and do wish we had the space to offer a fitness center. Hope you were able to try a run on the beach? Jogging or even walking in the sand along Vilano Beach is a great workout!! Please do plan to return for another visit soon - we'll look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 483 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed a week and loved every minute! Staff was excellent. The rooms were right on the beach. Loved waking up to the sound of the waves. Will use this establishment again!! Rooms very clean and right on Vilano Beach. Pet friendly rooms and beach was pet friendly too.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lsw1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

'Outstanding' is the best description we could hope to read! Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are certainly going to look forward to your next visit and will continue to work hard to ensure every one of your future stays with us is as enjoyable. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is our third stay at the Beach House, and absolutely love it. Hotel is very quiet and is located in Vilano Beach, a sleepy little beach town, just over the bridge from the historic downtown St. Augustine area. Vilano Beach is completely walkable, and is nice to be able to walk from the hotel to several of the restaurants on the island for dinner, have drinks, and stumble back. It's also very nice to be able to walk out on the beach after dinner and have drinks on the beach after the beach has closed for vehicular traffic. Hotel employees are extremely friendly and always willing to help with any request you may have. The only tip I would give is that if you stay here (which I highly recommend), is to just make sure you request the room to be cleaned every other day or so. It's the only hotel I've ever stayed at where you have to request the room to be cleaned, but it's not a knock against the hotel, you just get used to it if you stay here a lot. Also, the hotel allows you to bring your pets, which is awesome because the Vilano Beach area is very dog friendly and many restaurants allow you to bring your dogs to dinner and have dinner with you on their patios. The hotel offers complimentary wi-fi and complimentary breakfast until 11a. Breakfast included cereal, pastries, yogurt, frozen waffles, oatmeal, coffee, and orange juice. The rooms are very quiet and big. Would recommend getting a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor to get the best view. We've stayed on the 2nd and 3rd floors and both are great, but will probably stick with second floor rooms to save money, because the view is the same no matter if you're on the 2nd or 3rd floors. If you stay here, check out Beaches of Vilano (walkable from the hotel), it's right on the water, and the fro-yo place in the Publix shopping center also has good yogurt. For a nice dinner, check out the Reef a couple of miles down A1A and the seafood there is awesome! (it'll cost ya though, about $50 a person, but it's probably some of the best seafood I've had - ignore the 3 star review on Yelp, I don't get it at all..) Also, don't waste your time going into historic St. Augustine, it's a bust and full of tourist traps. Spend all of your time in Vilano Beach and St. Augustine Beach, you'll be glad you did. We look forward to a trip back to the Beach House next year!

Room Tip: Pick a 2nd or 3rd floor room (all rooms are ocean view, but 1st floor rooms most likely have obstruc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

What an amazing testimonial!! We so much appreciate your taking time to share your experience and tips - and your truly wonderful comments. We do think we offer a perfect weekend getaway location - and we always hope our guests will leave us feeling like extended family and wanting to return. We will take your housekeeping comments to heart as well, and during your next visit, please be sure to mention anything we can do that would ensure your Beach House stay is as perfect as possible! We'll be looking forward to welcoming you back and from all of us - many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We spent a long weekend at the hotel and loved every minute of it. The hotel is located right on the beach and the views from the room were beautiful. The staff were very nice and made our stay a pleasure. The rooms were bright and suited our family of four perfectly. It was nice to be able to walk to dinner and Publix on our first night. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent_Small
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

We loved every minute of having your as our guests!! Family getaways are so important and we were happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. There is always lots to do in the area - and the beach is always a perfect family vacation spot - so we do hope you will be planning another visit to The Beach House in the near future. We thank you for your wonderful comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel is literally right on the beach and within walking distance to a number of amenities and shops. The room was spacious, comfortable and meticulously cleaned with a galley kitchen, large bathroom and your own private balcony overlooking the ocean.

You are able to walk from your room to the beach front in less than a minute and access public showers and bathrooms while you are out there. Great for the kids, great for the couples. Very friendly staff, who also gave us some excellent restaurant suggestions.

I plan to go back to this hotel whenever I am in Florida.

Room Tip: Spring the extra couple bucks and get a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

It is a truly wonderful compliment to know you found The Beach House 'beautiful' and 'comfortable'. The best compliment, of course, is that you plan to return!! We will look forward to welcoming you back and hope there will be many return visits. Thanks so much for your kind comments...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Loved this cute little hotel that's right on the beach. The staff is very nice and friendly, very clean rooms, towels and beach chairs for your use, and every room has a balcony facing the ocean. It's a quick $5-$7 cab ride over to the downtown area to enjoy the restaurants and pubs, so you are close to the action but far enough to feel relaxed. There is a grocery store a block away which is very handy! There are restaurants very close to the hotel so a cab isn't completely necessary.
Highly recommend staying here! We saw dolphins in the water from the beach right by the hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emaxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you so very much for your comments and recommendation! We are so very glad that you enjoyed your visit and agree the location is really convenient and the beach is right at your doorstep! We do hope you will plan to return soon - our staff (and the dolphins!) will be looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was our second time in the past year staying here. We always have a great time. The room is clean, the staff friendly and accommodating and the view is first class. We always have such a relaxing time. This will be our go to hotel whenever we are in the St. Augustine area!!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Nikole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

What a great compliment to be called your 'go-to' hotel when you visit Saint Augustine!! Many thanks for sharing your comments. Our repeat guests are very special VIPs and we hope you will always feel welcome and at home here! Please plan that next trip very soon. Regards from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilano Beach
2.2 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
2.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
2.0 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#10 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,373 reviews
5.5 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saint Augustine Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saint Augustine Beach House

Address: 10 Vilano Rd, Vilano Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2964
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vilano Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vilano Beach
Price Range: $202 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Saint Augustine Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy incredible views of the Atlantic from your private oceanfront balcony. Spacious rooms offer king beds, kitchenettes, and complimentary Wi-Fi access. A full, hot breakfast is included with your stay. We are just 5 minutes from historic downtown Saint Augustine and within walking distance to several restaurants and shopping. Pets are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Saint Augustine Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saint Augustine Beach House Hotel Saint Augustine
Ocean Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing