We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Saint Augustine Beach House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Loved our visit”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We spent a long weekend at the hotel and loved every minute of it. The hotel is located right on the beach and the views from the room were beautiful. The staff were very nice and made our stay a pleasure. The rooms were bright and suited our family of four perfectly. It was nice to be able to walk to dinner and Publix on our first night. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent_Small
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We loved every minute of having your as our guests!! Family getaways are so important and we were happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. There is always lots to do in the area - and the beach is always a perfect family vacation spot - so we do hope you will be planning another visit to The Beach House in the near future. We thank you for your wonderful comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    86
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
146
242
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel is literally right on the beach and within walking distance to a number of amenities and shops. The room was spacious, comfortable and meticulously cleaned with a galley kitchen, large bathroom and your own private balcony overlooking the ocean.

You are able to walk from your room to the beach front in less than a minute and access public showers and bathrooms while you are out there. Great for the kids, great for the couples. Very friendly staff, who also gave us some excellent restaurant suggestions.

I plan to go back to this hotel whenever I am in Florida.

Room Tip: Spring the extra couple bucks and get a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
It is a truly wonderful compliment to know you found The Beach House 'beautiful' and 'comfortable'. The best compliment, of course, is that you plan to return!! We will look forward to welcoming you back and hope there will be many return visits. Thanks so much for your kind comments...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Loved this cute little hotel that's right on the beach. The staff is very nice and friendly, very clean rooms, towels and beach chairs for your use, and every room has a balcony facing the ocean. It's a quick $5-$7 cab ride over to the downtown area to enjoy the restaurants and pubs, so you are close to the action but far enough to feel relaxed. There is a grocery store a block away which is very handy! There are restaurants very close to the hotel so a cab isn't completely necessary.
Highly recommend staying here! We saw dolphins in the water from the beach right by the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emaxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you so very much for your comments and recommendation! We are so very glad that you enjoyed your visit and agree the location is really convenient and the beach is right at your doorstep! We do hope you will plan to return soon - our staff (and the dolphins!) will be looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This was our second time in the past year staying here. We always have a great time. The room is clean, the staff friendly and accommodating and the view is first class. We always have such a relaxing time. This will be our go to hotel whenever we are in the St. Augustine area!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nikole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
What a great compliment to be called your 'go-to' hotel when you visit Saint Augustine!! Many thanks for sharing your comments. Our repeat guests are very special VIPs and we hope you will always feel welcome and at home here! Please plan that next trip very soon. Regards from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our quest was to find place on Vilano Beach for just one night that would take dogs (specifically a 90 lb. Shepherd). An on line search revealed The St. Augustine Beach House. This place was clean, up to date in furnishings and décor, quiet and very accommodating. We would recommend the St. Augustine Beach House for a short stay or a week long vacation as it is located right on the beach and within walking distance to the ICW, Publix, shopping and restaurants. Also just a short drive over the bridge to St. Augustine. (The view from the top of the Vilano Beach Bridge is one of the best panoramic views in Florida!) Staff was great. It is good to see Vilano Beach coming into it's own again!

Room Tip: Bottom floor had no ocean view due to dunes. Still it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimandSherri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thanks so much for your wonderful comments! We love our beachfront location and agree that it has great access to all Saint Augustine has to offer!! We also do love pets - and welcome them regardless of size... We hope you will be planning a return trip very soon and look forward to welcoming you back to The Beach House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights. I really liked this place. It is minutes from downtown St. Augustine, The view is beautiful, my husband and I sat on our balcony every night and enjoyed the ocean front view. There were dolphins almost every evening. The room was large with a nice kitchenette. The staff at the desk were excellent. They made you feel very welcome and had plenty of suggestions for where to eat, things to do etc. The only reason I gave it four stars instead of five was because of the housekeeping. They just missed the little touches that you are used to in this price range. It is the first hotel I ever stayed in where housekeeping made you wash your own coffee pot. They also forgot to stock things (like toilet paper and coffee) so we had to go to the desk to get it. Being at a beach front hotel a quick sweep of the floors would have been nice as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank shlj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We appreciate your kind comments and are truly happy to know you would plan to stay with us again! Attention to detail is very important to us, so we are disappointed that you had some issues with the housekeeping service. We'll definitely step up the effort in that department. In the meantime, we look forward to seeing you again and hope it will be very soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pell City, Alabama, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Let me begin by saying that the positive reviews on tripadvisor are not overstated. My family came here for a week and we are not leaving disappointed. I will attempt to give as much detail as possible so you can make an educated decision based on your personal vacation goals.

First and foremost is the hospitality. The hotel business is one founded on hospitality and the hospitality at the Saint Augustine Beach House is of the highest sort. I couldn't begin to count the number of times we were asked if they could do anything for us. The thing is, it didn't seem contrived or obligatory in nature. They genuinely seemed like they were happy to tend to our needs. From coordinating room cleaning times to providing fresh beach towels to the complimentary continental breakfast, the service was second to none.

The second point is family friendliness. They provide beach chairs, toys, boogie boards, etc. for the kids (of all ages) to use on the beach. This saved much room in the vehicle on the trip here. The area is quiet and the presence of a Publix supermarket a block away was wonderful for cost savings. A 10 minute walk was the Vilano Pier that juts out into the intercoastal waterway. On the way to the pier is a nice little frozen yogurt shop. Next to the pier is Vilano 180 restaurant which has some really good pizza.

Third accolade is pet friendliness. That is no small attraction given that our dog is as important to our kids as she is to us. In fact, the whole town of St. Augustine is one of the pet friendliest places I've ever visited. For a small fee ($15, if memory serves me) our dog was able to stay with us. When we booked the room, I was specifically looking for a place with first floor accommodations because our dog is 12 years old and has arthritis. With no elevators in the hotel, first floor was a must. They worked with me in arranging the dates and even shuffled some of the rooms that were reserved to get us in a first floor room during the timeframe we were looking to travel. Again, this plays to the first point where service and hospitality are fantastic.

Fourth is the beach. While Vilano Beach is a drive-on beach, the vehicles are limited on how far they can proceed onto the beach. It never felt dangerous for our kids. Also, the beach has something for everyone. Straight out from the hotel the surf can get pretty big. We saw surfers, bodyboarders and skim boarders while we were here. The beauty of the beach, though, is that if big surf isn't your thing, a short walk to the south, just past the rock jetties (it'll make sense when you're there) is much calmer and amenable for little ones. And though we were visiting at the height of summer, the beach never felt crowded. Also, the beach is pet friendly (leash required) and the kids had a blast petting all the dogs that came past.

Finally, the room. The rooms at SABH are just what you want in a beachside room. Tile floors, with bright and airy decorum. The fact that every room faces the ocean is a nice plus and even the first floor rooms offer a view of the water beyond the sea oats. I've had the opportunity to stay in some very nice places with my work and while I have stayed in more luxurious hotels, I have zero complaints about the accommodations.

I really can't say enough about Saint Augustine Beach House. I've already recommended it to my parents and brother. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone else, either. It is the epitome of a family beach vacation hotel. I look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Wow - we so very much appreciate the time you took to share such truly awesome comments! It was our pleasure to welcome you and your family here at The Beach House - and it means a great deal to our entire staff to know that your experience with us was a memorable and happy vacation for your family. The goal of everyone here is to do our best to ensure our guests feel like extended family and would consider returning to visit with us again. Thank you so much - you truly made our day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilano Beach
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
2.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
2.2 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
867 reviews
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
5.7 mi away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saint Augustine Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saint Augustine Beach House

Property: The Saint Augustine Beach House
Address: 10 Vilano Rd, Vilano Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2964
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vilano Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vilano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Saint Augustine Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy incredible views of the Atlantic from your private oceanfront balcony. Spacious rooms offer king beds, kitchenettes, and complimentary Wi-Fi access. A full, hot breakfast is included with your stay. We are just 5 minutes from historic downtown Saint Augustine and within walking distance to several restaurants and shopping. Pets are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Saint Augustine Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saint Augustine Beach House Hotel Saint Augustine
Ocean Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing