We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Saint Augustine Beach House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Saint Augustine Beach House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

The St Augustine Beach House is THE place to stay if being on the beach is what you're looking for. Wonderfully friendly people who sincerely want your stay to be perfect. Dog friendly, and very, very clean and very quiet. We stayed Aug 2-5 and had an awesome long weekend. Beautiful ocean view from our 2nd floor room. Such a great location -- directly on the beach yet close and convenient to grocery store, restaurants, and downtown. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CCCJJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, SABH Staff at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
We agree that The Beach House has a very special location directly overlooking beautiful Vilano Beach. It is so good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and plan to return again. Vilano is a great little beach getaway spot convenient to the historic district - so you have the ocean plus lots of historic sights and attractions! Thank you so much for your comments and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    81
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
136
232
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Owensboro, Kentucky, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We visited them July 29 thru Aug 2, 2012. It was Great. All the staff was the best. We had vehicle problems, they recommended the best place for auto repair. Our van was repaired the next day!! They are definetly a family place and pet lovers. The Ocean view was great from our 2nd floor room. Our dogs loved the Deck. Our 9 year old grandson loved the birds and the ocean waves. We will definetly go back!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, SABH Staff at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
We do enjoy having families spend time with us - and we believe The Beach House is a great spot for a family getaway any time! Pets are always welcome and we enjoy them all - dogs, cats and birds! Thanks so much for staying with us and for taking time to let us know that you and your family had a great visit. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We visited last weekend of July - 2012. Our stay was unbelievable great. Chad & Mark were awesome with service and sugestions. They did everything to have our stay one to remember. We have stayed in many top hotels - Service and helpfullness was impeccable. Views of the beach and Sunrises unbelievable.

Next trip to Saint Augustine Beach - Diffently stay here.

Our hats are off to the owner and staff - Don't stop all the good

Barry - Beth - Rico

Room Tip: Rooms 206 or 306 - large - Great view - Lots of sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, SABH Staff at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to post such a great review. Our staff sends best wishes and thanks for choosing The Beach House. We all look forward to welcoming you back and hope you'll return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

From the moment of our arrival, the employees treated my daughter and I as if we were long time friends and valued customers. Everyone was helpful with providing honest assessments of where to go, where to dine (and more importantly places to avoid), as well as providing information on the beach. Beach Chairs, boogie boards, towels, and umbrellas were provided at no additional charge. In fact, there were no hidden charges at all!! There was a limited nutritious breakfast provided, and a nice patio provided a place (in addition to your private balconey) to enjoy the views.

For the kids (even adult kids at heart) feed is provided to hand feed the birds, food is also provided for the cats that frquent the area. I'm not a huge animal person, but I love the compassion that the staff have for pets. Getting to feed the birds was a lot of fun for my daughter.

I had injured my knee immediately prior to our vacation, the employees were very helpful with taking the bags to our room, and offering OTC mediciation.

I found the rooms clean, spacious, and decorative. The employees were very professional, courteous, and sincere. I highly recommend SABH to anyone looking for a great experience. Vilano Beach is truly a "best kept secret,' well, so is St Augustine Beach House!! We will be returning!

My name is Daniel Armstrong, I am from austin, Texas, and my contact number is 512-758-2670, you are welcome to call me and verify I was a customer.

Room Tip: Third Floor!! Nobody above you so you won't hear "upstairs traffic.'
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRA001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, SABH Staff at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
From all of us here at The Beach House, many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. We have all enjoyed reading your comments and truly appreciate your kind words and recommendation. We do consider our customer valued guests and extended family - so we hope you will be returning soon for another stay with us. Hope you and your family are well and we send our kindest regards...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

One of the staff (Mark), standing on the porch outside the office, asked my wife and I for any suggestions, as we got in our car to leave. Not just going through the motions -- he was really asking, that was clear. I could only tell him that I could not think of one thing I would want to change. This hotel is right on the beach and within walking distance to a Publix and some great frozen yogurt. Easy driving distance to historic St. Augustine. Look no further: if you want to vacation in St. Augustine and you want to spend time on the beach, this is your place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomrutledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, SABH Staff at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Many thanks! We always are looking for ideas on how to make your stay even better - we really value any suggestions. It is great to know you truly enjoyed your visit - and even better to know you would come back to visit with us again. Regards from all of us here at The Beach House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

If you ever spend time in NE Florida and are looking for a cool little beach Motel that is right on the ocean and 10 min drive to St Augustine you have to stay at The St. Augustine Beach House.

My husband took me there the night before my surgery, for some RXR before the big day. The owner's are just amazing people and you just feel like your home when you are there.

They are very health conciseness, and squeeze fresh juices for you in the morning. I got fresh carrot that evening when we checked in. Anyway, it's a great place run by great people, so please check them out if you visit that part of the state.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatesBestGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, SABH Staff at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We hope your surgery went well and you are feeling great! It was our pleasure to have you stay with us for a little relaxation - nothing beats the beach for a bit of rest. It happened that Mark had just finished making a fresh batch of his famous carrot juice - so it worked out well!! We look forward to seeing you again and send our best wishes to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I spent a lot of time trying to find the perfect place for my family to relax and enjoy the beach. This was perfect for us for many reasons. Every single one of the staff was extremely friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The hotel is right on the beach and recently renovated. I am still amazed at how clean the rooms are (we had three rooms between all of us). Finally, it was something we could afford. Every other place I looked at was too much money, or required a stay of 4 days or more. I highly recommend the Saint Augustine Beach House and look forward to the day that I can return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoMitcherl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, SABH Staff at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Our staff sends best wishes and many thanks for being our guest! Our goal is to make you feel welcome, comfortable and free to relax enjoy the sunshine and ocean breezes. We appreciate you taking time to share your comments - and will look forward to your next visit to The Beach House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilano Beach
5.5 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
1.9 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saint Augustine Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saint Augustine Beach House

Property: The Saint Augustine Beach House
Address: 10 Vilano Rd, Vilano Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2964
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vilano Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Vilano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Saint Augustine Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy incredible views of the Atlantic from your private oceanfront balcony. Spacious rooms offer king beds, kitchenettes, and complimentary Wi-Fi access. A full, hot breakfast is included with your stay. We are just 5 minutes from historic downtown Saint Augustine and within walking distance to several restaurants and shopping. Pets are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your The Saint Augustine Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saint Augustine Beach House Hotel Saint Augustine
Ocean Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing