We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Saint Augustine Beach House
Nearby Hotels
Ocean Sands Beach Inn(Vilano Beach)(Great Value!)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Magic Beach Motel(Vilano Beach)(Great Value!)
$125
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceanview Lodge(St. Augustine)(Great Value!)
$119
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cozy Inn(St. Augustine)(Great Value!)
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Conch House Marina Resort(St. Augustine)(Great Value!)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scottish Inn(St. Augustine)
$64
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (552)
Filter reviews
552 results
Traveler rating
428
93
25
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
428
93
25
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorthird floorquicheday bedhear the wavesbeautiful sunriseprivate balconyocean viewbeach chairswatching the sunrisehomemade breakfastboogie boardsa pet friendly hotelfloor roompublix grocery storeevery morningwithin walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
512 - 517 of 552 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for the last week. First you absolutely have to mention the view.... ITS GREAT. I have never seen a hotel motel with a better location, Its next asset is the people that work there, They were an failingly friendly. And that means a lot to me. If the people are interested in making your stay a good one, things will always work out. I liked the tile floor, Near the beach this is the only way to go. the bed was good if a bit high. the frig microwave were very convenient. the air conditioner in the front of the unit was fine, The one in the bed room was so LOUD it made me laugh, I didn`t need it because opening and close the door to the deck regulated the temp just fine. Oh did I mention the view and the sun rise. Also there is a major chain food store within walking distance. Some very nice restaurants close by. And the major tourist attractions of st. Augustine are only minutes away. All in all I WILL DEFINITELY STAY AT THIS HOTEL AGAIN

Room Tip: third floor was great But no elevator. next time I will stay on the second floor,
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, SABH Staff at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2012

The very best news we can receive from guests of The Beach House is that you would definitely stay with us again! We thank you for that wonderful compliment – and we hope you will return soon. Making your stay the very best it can be will always be our number one goal, and we will continue to work hard to ensure we never let you down! Please hurry back to enjoy the amazing sunrises over Vilano – we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The room was large, the view was amazing, and the staff was very friendly, but the main draw is it's location. It's the only hotel directly facing a quiet stretch of public beach (vastly less developed than crowded St. Augustine Beach), within easy walking distance of groceries and casual dining options, and a quick (almost traffic-free) drive from historic St. Augustine.

The only downside is that the housekeeping is a little lax.
- When we checked in, there was a used bath towel hanging in the bathroom. I deposited it outside, but I know people who would have run screaming. If you're that type, this is probably not the place for you.
- While the plates, cups, etc. in the kitchen are a plus, you might want to wash them before you use them. (Fortunately, dish washing liquid is provided; unfortunately, the tenants before us didn't use it.)
- If you stay more than one night, housekeeping will visit only if you ask them. To their credit, someone asked us every day whether we needed anything, but other than asking for more towels, we weren't too demanding -- meaning that by the time we checked out, the room hadn't been fully cleaned for 5 days -- and based on something one of the staff said about how little time she had to attend to rooms between check-out time and check-in time, I suspect that the cleaning our room received after we left was no more thorough than if we had stayed just one night.
- The one deal breaker for me was the floor. After walking around the room barefooted for a short time, the soles of my feet were pitch black. All I can say is ... bring slippers!

Despite these issues, our stay was relaxing, which was what we needed most.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, SABH Staff at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the amazing views, quiet atmosphere, and convenient location to be a relaxing escape. We were very sorry, however, to hear that housekeeping in your room was not up to the high standards we have set for the hotel. Our policy does not allow for compromise in make-ready room prep, regardless of time constraint. Staff is instructed to check with stay-over guests daily to determine individual service requests and to always respond accordingly. It would have been helpful to know of your concerns during your stay, so that we could have immediately addressed them. It is certainly not typical for a guest to have these types of issues, and we hope you will return soon to see us at our more usual best. Thank you for sharing your comments and for choosing to stay with us at The Beach House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I love St Augustine Beach House, hotel right on Vilano beach, the views you get from your balcony are unbelievable, you can even open the screen door and hear the roar of the ocean and a feeling of relaxation. Clean and spacious rooms with a little kitchenette. No breakfast.

Room Tip: Ocean view
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Irene878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, SABH Staff at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2012

We agree -- the views are amazing and when it comes to relaxation, there is nothing like the sound of the ocean waves!! Thank you for spending some 'getaway' time with us at The Beach House and we're very happy to know you enjoyed your stay. Your comments are appreciated - and we are going to look at the possibilities for adding breakfast in the future. Please come back and visit with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

The management was so friendly at ck in. We were celebrating our anniversary and the staff left a card and chocolates. The room is awesome, great view of beach. Patio right on beach. Fridge, micro, small kitchen. Definitely would stay there again. Short ride into town of St. Augustine.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jenniemcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, SABH Staff at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your anniversary at The Beach House - we're happy that you enjoyed your stay and will look forward to seeing you again soon. We appreciate your comments and hope you always find a warm welcome and a great beachside experience during your visits with us. (And of course, pet guests are always welcome too!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Imagine a perfect beach front setting from the most romantic scene out of a movie and that's the feeling you get when you drive up to the St. Augustine Beach House. A quaint small building (only 3 stories) that is only steps from the beach provides you with all the sights, sounds, and breathtaking panoramas of ocean magnificence. It is a stand alone building, with nothing on either side of it, so you have a completely clear and unforgettable view. The rooms are clean, comfortable and cozy in addition to being priced right- $130 for a Friday night in December. Rooms come with convenient kitchenette facilities. There is a good chance you will forget that you came to tour St. Augustine and just want to stay at the beach house.The service is warm and friendly, the location is convenient to a great local breakfast restaurant, and St. Augustine is only moments away. Bring someone you are truely in love with and book 2 nights - a 1 night stay will leave you wanting more of the beautiful atmosphere and ambiance.

Room Tip: Book a third floor room for maximum ocean view.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrufrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, SABH Staff at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2012

What a wonderful testimonial! It means a great deal to us to know that your stay at The Beach House was such a positive experience for you. It is exactly what we strive to deliver to our guests and we thank you sincerely for sharing your thoughts. Your comments help keep us inspired to make every effort to ensure our Hotel offers an enjoyable, relaxing oceanfront getaway. We hope you'll be visiting us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews