We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location! Pet Friendly property!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Saint Augustine Beach House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Huge rooms with a balcony that over look the beach. Very friendly and informative staff. Kitchenette with fridge. We did not miss being in the Historic area at all. Our dogs loved the beach. We will stay here again and refer all our friends. Towels would be my only complaint. All towels were more like dish towels rather than bath towels.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jkdaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, SABH Staff at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2012

Thank you so much for your review, and for you’re your comment that you plan to return again – and refer your friends. It is truly the best compliment we can receive!

We are working hard to create a unique beachfront getaway, and have made improvements to rooms, furnishings, gardens, exteriors. It’s a process and we feel we’re making steady progress. We’ll make sure that upgrading our towels is definitely in the plan and we thank you for your input. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 485 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2011

My husband and I wanted to get away for the weekend to celebrate his birthday. Our visit was in early December and we knew the weather would not be the best but we wanted quiet and a view both of which we got at the Saint Augustine Beach House. We had a room on the third floor which had a great view of the ocean. There were other guests there that weekend but we never really saw or heard them. The staff was extremely helpful and carried our bags up for us as there is no elevator. The room was plenty big enough for more than us to have been comfortable and the king size bed was a dream. I laid in bed reading while watching the rain and waves from the window. I also love that we were able to support a local small business vs. a chain hotel. We will definitely stay here again when we want to stay near St. Augustine.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krimson76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, SABH Staff at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2012

Thank you for spending this special birthday occasion with us here at The Beach House. Next time we’ll be sure to include a birthday cake to help with the celebration! We agree that although December is not the warmest of seasons, the ocean views are still amazing.

Our goal as a small, privately owned hotel is to create a relaxing, personalized experience for each of our guests. We’re therefore delighted that you enjoyed your time with us – and even happier to hear you will be visiting again! Your comments are very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Offseason visit Thanksgiving week, with elementary child & small dog. Room had tile floors, kichette with frig, microwave, sink, and utensils. Pullout sofa good for our child but needed extra blanket; Queen bed very comfy with good pillows. No phone, little soap, asked & got extra towels plus beach towels. Right ON beach with great views! No elevator so 3rd floor was a bit toug w/luggage. Couldn't get WiFi to work, even with assistance. Cafe was closed for season & only a few places to eat. Area seems to be in a big slump, but there is building/renovations going on. Overall liked it but felt a bit isolated.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJandDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We spent a week at the St Augustine Beach House last week and I highly recommend it. The staff just bent over backwards to make us comfortable and answer any questions. Our room was on the second floor and we had a fantastic view of the beach, especially the glorious sunrises. There is nothing between your balcony and the beach to spoil the view. The room felt airy and cheerful. As I said, the staff treated us like old friends even though we just met. I really didn't want to leave and I'm looking forward to coming back.

Room Tip: For the best view of the beach, choose a second or third floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickHale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

All you would expect: Great location for the beach, close to town, big private rooms with balconies, most friendly people pleasing staff. (they hustle for any little need you may have, something severely lacking elsewhere)

No breakfast like the chains but coffee and kitchenette with a restaurant just steps away is a refreshing change. This place may not be modern but it is clean and has character.

I would definitely return and bring my furry babies with me next time.
What a joy of a stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mozartmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Spent a nice weekend, enjoyed the excellent view and being up on the beach. Management staff super friendly and helpful. Condition of rooms need upgrading. Can tell these were condos. Bathroom cabinets screwed shut, lock on kitchen cabinet. Drywall repair in bathroom wasn't finished...taped and mudded, but not painted.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

What a great find!!!
My wife and I were so skeptical about this hotel that we only booked for one night. We found ourselves very fortunate to have been able to extend our visit to 3 nights and would have made it 4 if the room was available.
Clean rooms, comfortable bed and friendly staff made this a great mini vacation. Next time we plan on staying longer.
With all the broken down hotels in St. Augustine this one is a true gem. If your used to the Ritz this is not for you be warned but for the rest, you wont be disappointed.
I his wife cant wait to go back again! The most amazing mini vacation I've had in a long time!! Sunrises that will take your breath away!!
Thanks to all who made it happen!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilano Beach
2.2 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
2.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#9 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,401 reviews
2 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saint Augustine Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saint Augustine Beach House

Address: 10 Vilano Rd, Vilano Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2964
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vilano Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Vilano Beach
Price Range: $192 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Saint Augustine Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy incredible views of the Atlantic from your private oceanfront balcony. Spacious rooms offer king beds, kitchenettes, and complimentary Wi-Fi access. A full, hot breakfast is included with your stay. We are just 5 minutes from historic downtown Saint Augustine and within walking distance to several restaurants and shopping. Pets are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Saint Augustine Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saint Augustine Beach House Hotel Saint Augustine
Ocean Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing