We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beachfront location while traveling with pets & kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Saint Augustine Beach House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Stayed at this hotel a few years ago and can say that the recent renovations give this beachfront hotel a much higher standard. Found the rooms to be clean and updated with newer furnishings. Our family of (4) and dog fit comfortably in the room, with our kids using the pull out sofa each night. We loved watching early morning sunrises from the balcony and using the separate private pathway through the sea oats to the beach each day. Vilano Beach is a great little beach town with easy access to nearby St Augustine. While the surrounding area appears a bit depressed, there appears to be a new supermarket being built which we hope will help with the redevelopment of this area. If visiting this area we encourage you to give this hotel a try. Friendly staff, Great value & Great location!

Room Tip: 2nd & 3rd level rooms have the best views of beach
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank beachbennetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 507 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2011

Rooms were clean with plenty of room. Great for pets too (they even have dog treats at the counter). Perfect view of the ocean and a good surf spot is nearby. Also, ultra friendly staff. Thanks marc for the Ice left in the freezer for me with "John" written on it - after 6 hours of surfing, that was perfect for an achy shoulder. Dillon too, very accommodating and hooked us up with some good coffee which we enjoyed back at home this morning. I will return and would recommend to friends. Awesome spot for our stay in St. Aug.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firefox264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

It was just luck that brought us to this hotel. We were driving the east-coast down to Orlando and wanted a beautiful beach to stay at for some days. We also wanted it to be close to the beach. And we got both! It was so peaceful and harmonic in this hotel, with white walls and no broadloom on the floor. Felt really fresh! And the wiew from the balcony....you can´t wish for more!
The staff was great! Helpful and kind. They give you beach-towels too.
For breakfast you need to go to the gas-station to bye something, but it was OK. They had ok food. But in a year or so there will be a big mall nearby so it will be eaisier to get something to eat. When we were there the wawes were perfect! Our 14 year old daughter, learn to handle them and had great fun! It`s a dream to go back! But we live in Sweden so the dream will go on till we can afford it. I mean the fligt-trip, not the hotel, wich was pretty cheap compared to other hotels close to the beach. ( This was closest!) We can really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Absolutely my favorite place to stay at any beach! Fabulous views! Have been coming here for years & I am very happy for the new owners! They have done an amazing job with the renovations! They are extremely friendly & will go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Wishing them many more successful years & I will be back often & refer them even more than that! Congrats!

Beth Graham
Jacksonville FL

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We have stayed there twice this summer and plan on staying there for any future trips. They are always so friendly and helpful onsite. The manager even took up all our bags for us. Super cute area too and access to the beach is just awesome.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ninaj143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

This is one of the most charming places you can find to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. The staff is amazing, all the details have already been thought of. All you have to do is just show up. With the ocean at your private balcony and the intracoastel just a half mile or less away, you can watch the sun rise and set. It's so beautiful, and the Old City of Saint Augustine just over the bridge is minutes away. You don't want to miss a chance to stay at The Saint Augustine Beach House!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shmiller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The newly renovated St. Augustine Beach House (or just, "The Beach House," as we call it) is a block closer to the drive-on (4WD vehicles only) sand than its high-priced hotel neighbor, and a lot more affordable. The Beach House's clean, cozy, 3-story beachfront accommodations are ideal for pet-lovers--couples or families--who want to be right on the beach for a vacation. From the doggie treats at the check-in desk to the Mom-and-Pop-style restaurant and grill they run on the hotel's first floor (borrow their chairs and then grab a cold drink on your way to the sand), this place is not luxury, rather it's ideal for a cozy get-away on the beach or a beachfront home base for afternoon and nightly excursions into the nearby and historic village of St. Augustine. The Beach House's Vilano Beach neighborhood has seen better days, however, and the abandoned motels nearby are depressing. But better days are ahead with a brand new Hampton Inn across the street, and a totally cool new breakfast diner called Over the Ditch Cafe is now open where pre-beach pancakes or a post-beach sandwich are a short 1-block walk from the Beach House. Also nearby, and a short walk away you'll find Bay Ray Boat Rentals where hourly jet ski and motor boat rental can make the weekend stay at Vilano Beach of St. Augustine both memorable and easy on the wallet.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a beachfront sunrise view from your own third floor balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InOrland0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilano Beach
2.2 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
2.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
2 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#10 of 79 in St. Augustine
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saint Augustine Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saint Augustine Beach House

Address: 10 Vilano Rd, Vilano Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2964
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vilano Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Vilano Beach
Price Range: $216 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Saint Augustine Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy incredible views of the Atlantic from your private oceanfront balcony. Spacious rooms offer king beds, kitchenettes, and complimentary Wi-Fi access. A full, hot breakfast is included with your stay. We are just 5 minutes from historic downtown Saint Augustine and within walking distance to several restaurants and shopping. Pets are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Saint Augustine Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saint Augustine Beach House Hotel Saint Augustine
Ocean Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing