We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, nice quaint little retro motel”
Review of Magic Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magic Beach Motel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Fulton, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, nice quaint little retro motel”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We were there in mid-April and unfortunately the weather was lousy so couldn't really enjoy this place to it's fullest potential. But the owner/manager was very nice making sure we knew how to adjust the heat in our unit and so on. The room was clean and beds were comfortable. The continental breakfast was above par as well. So I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    92
    13
    8
    9
See reviews for
83
114
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

When we were able to get away for a long weekend, I stumbled across this motel in my search for a place to stay. It was built in 1951. In the late 90s it was a backdrop to a TV series, Safe Harbour. After a fire in 2010, it went thru a major renovation in 2012. The hotel is restored and modernized without losing its original charm. The motel features pink flamingos, bright colors, neon lights, a clock and the Magic Beach Motel sign.

My husband and I are found of South Beach and all the art deco style buildings. This peaked our interest. After reading the reviews, we decided to make the destination fun by experiencing this piece of history. The renovation is awesome, All the neon sign and art deco glass are in place. The paint colors are true to the time period (IMO). The upgrades are what amazed us. It is ADA compliant, the decks are made of the composite woods, railings and ramps in place. The rooms are clean, do not smell (they are all NON SMOKING rooms). Smoking is permitted outside.

You can see the ocean from the King Suite w/Jacuzzi tub. This room also has a kitchenette with small fridge, microwave, stove and sink. The beach is a short walk from the motel.
There is also a fold out couch, if you have kids or another guest. The bed was very comfortable with good sheets, the mattress has a cover on it and the place is very clean.
The only suggestion I would have is for them to add a medicine cabinet or some type of storage for toiletries. They do provide a hair dryer, shampoo, hand soap and dish soap.

Check in was quick, staff friendly. The only "complaint" I have is they did not tell us they have a provided breakfast on site. No information in the room stating that fact either. When I called to ask about a good place for breakfast, they referred me to outside restaurants. Don't understand that...

I did not have my lap top this trip; but I did have a smart phone, Reception inside the room was one bar, just outside, on the deck 4 bars. Must be a lot of concrete or something in those walls!

The motel is a short drive to St Augustine and you save a WHOLE lot of money not staying in overpriced motels or B&B's there!

There is a Publix right across the street, which makes it handy for not having to pack groceries beforehand (if you are driving) or getting those last minute forgotten items

We would definitely return.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the ocean, get the King Jacuzzi room. Probably the only room with view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank audrahos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tully, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The magic beach hotel staff is friendly, accommodating and helpful.
The wifi and cell coverage in the room can be iffy but I think it is the 50's construction of the building exterior. The room are clean, simple, and quiet. Our pet was very comfortable as well.

A 2 min walk to the beach. We returned on our way back north.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAD2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRAND JUNCTION
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We spent one night here and would gladly return. We had looked for rooms in St Agustine but they were expensive and crowded. This had a very clean room, reasonable rates, and a 1950s aura about it that was quite fun with all the pink flamingos on the outside. The room was small but more than adequate. There were not restaurants within walking distance, except for a pizza place, but we had a wonderful meal two miles away where we could watch the ocean roll in.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

The pluses location is great, so close to the beach, nearby supermarket and small restaurants, clean, friendly staff,and most surprising, the room was quiet for a motel! There were people on both sides of me, and I did not hear them at all....a really big plus. Also the room had a small kitchenette and a comfortable bed.

The only minus was that the room was a bit small (room with king bed) fine if traveling alone or with perhaps one other person.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Computergeek60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I think I just found my new hideaway from home. This place is located suuuuuper close to the ocean. And it's so darn retro. It's really hard not to fall in love with the place. We were up on the second floor in room 201 with a really nice deck/ocean view. The room itself was super roomie, and had an awesome mural up on the wall. Reception was cozy; and check in was a breeze. Will definitely come back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

My wife and I stayed here 2 nights, kind of on a whim and absolutely loved it. The employees were friendly, rooms were clean and it was in a great quiet location near the beach. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to St Augustine!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilano Beach
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
5.5 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ocean Sands Beach Inn
Ocean Sands Beach Inn
#4 of 5 in Vilano Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Beach Motel

Property: Magic Beach Motel
Address: 50 Vilano Rd, Vilano Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Vilano Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vilano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Magic Beach Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a retro experience like no other, with all the modern conveniences.Each cozy room has been completely renovated and updated. Here in beautiful Vilano Beach, we think EVERY DAY should feel like a Vacation. Just a few short steps from the Atlantic Ocean, there is plenty to do, or nothing to do. Located just five minutes from St Augustine historic downtown, Vilano Beach is known for beautiful family friendly beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Magic Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilano Beach Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing