We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of fun”
Review of Magic Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Magic Beach Motel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a neat place! For all art deco and beach lovers this is the perfect place. We had a two bedroom with kitchen. Well stocked, clean and really COMFORTABLE beds. One minute from a great beach and near all the action in Saint Augustine.

Room Tip: If traveling as a couple, the upstairs rooms have views, murals and jacuzzi bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssm861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 299 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

This quaint little motel is awesome. The rooms, grounds, etc have been recently updated and the owners couldn't be nicer! Nicely appointed rooms and BIG bathroom. Our room had a jacuzzi tub and it was great. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charnojabucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I like individual units- where you pull your car up to the door and this motel was ideal. The motel was run by a wonderful couple that made sure you had everything you needed for your stay. The rooms were very clean with a small efficient kitchen.and they served continental breakfast in the morning. The motel was within walking distance to beach. Restaurants were nearby and the Vilano dock just down the road where you could go fish or sit and watch the spectacular view. I will definitely go back to the Magic Beach Motel the next time I am in St Augustine.

Room Tip: They are mostly on first floor and every room is easily accesible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish7313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We arrived at 8 pm on April 3, so it was already dark. But their funky neon sign drew us to the place like a moth to a flame. It is so cool with the retro look, flamingos, colors, and decor. Even the lines in the parking lot are painted in a sea green color instead of ugly yellow. It fits my personality and love of colorful things to a tee! This is no sterile, run of the mill, motel. That's what makes it so great, that and the beds are actually comfortable. I didn't have to use my pillow I had packed, either. The couple who runs it are very friendly. The room was clean and quiet. I liked that the windows open so we could sit at the small table for breakfast with the windows open and the breeze blowing through. The beach was just a very short walk away. We didn't have to go through parking lots or across a busy street to get there which was also nice. It is conveniently located near attractions in St. Augustine. I would definitely like to stay here again.... The only thing I would like to change about this place is that we couldn't check availability dates through trip advisor. We had to google their website and go from there. No biggie, really. But I didn't understand why some hotels we were able to look at rates and such through trip advisor and this one we couldn't. But it is definitely worth the little extra effort to find this place. I am so glad we did.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

One of my colleagues and I spent two nights at the Magic Beach Motel while on business in St. Augustine. I have stayed many times at area hotels and resorts, but Magic Beach offers the most unique lodging experience. The rooms are nicely furnished, comfortable, and extremely clean. The owners and staff are very friendly and accommodating. The beach, shops, and restaurants are all just a few steps away. I hope to return soon with my family.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wmaloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This past weekend we spent our 29th wedding anniversary at the Magic Beach Motel. We have been to the St. Augustine area for a number of years and had always stopped by Vilano for coffee at the pier. One of the sites that interested us most was the Magic Beach Motel. Even though it was in a run down state, and later burned, it was old Florida.
Thanks to Earl and Remy Jensen, the art deco architecture has been restored and is there for everyone to enjoy. Attention to the detail of the original motel and their genuine care for the guest makes it is a great place to be.
Knowing that we were coming for our anniversary, they had a bottle of sparkling grape juice in our room and a beautiful signed card for us.
The rooms are very clean.
The area is visitor friendly and the entire area and beach is within walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

This restored historic motel is fabulous. It is cute as can be in an "old Florida" style, but restored better than new. We had a cute little suite with fridge and flat screens. Continental breakfast was fresh coffee, bagels, and fresh fruit with a nice offering of pre packaged cereal and Danish. Besides being clean and cute, the motel is located on Porpoise Point on a beautiful beach just a mile or so from downtown st. Augustine. So it is quiet and private with tourist attractions and night life close by. The pool was small but very clean and well maintained. Bring your bikes, this is a good area to ride. Very little traffic and nice shopping center with Publix close by. Will definitely recommend it to my out of town guests.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anladee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilano Beach
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
2.0 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#10 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,370 reviews
5.5 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Jaybird's Inn
Jaybird's Inn
#15 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,130 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
819 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Beach Motel

Address: 50 Vilano Rd, Vilano Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vilano Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Vilano Beach
Price Range: $91 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magic Beach Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a retro experience like no other, with all the modern conveniences.Each cozy room has been completely renovated and updated. Here in beautiful Vilano Beach, we think EVERY DAY should feel like a Vacation. Just a few short steps from the Atlantic Ocean, there is plenty to do, or nothing to do. Located just five minutes from St Augustine historic downtown, Vilano Beach is known for beautiful family friendly beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Magic Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilano Beach Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing