We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro cute, clean and comfy but kitchen not equipped”
Review of Magic Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Magic Beach Motel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We spent one night here on a recent trip and just loved the place! The decor is very nice with very comfortable beds and rooms. We had a second floor efficiency with a bit of an ocean view.

The owners have really gone the extra mile to make the place authentic and inviting. I just wish we could have stayed an extra night or two. Next time!

My only complaint was the continental breakfast, offered at a neighbor property. About the worse I've ever seen. We did not partake. I guess the folks who manage the continental at Magic Beach were gone.

There was no one in the locked office in the morning for check-out, so we just left our keys over at the neighboring property. One interesting thing that I planned to mention to the office that morning is that we found it kind of weird that the kitchen unit had no pots, pans, dishes, silverware - nothing at all except for a coffee maker with coffee supplied. If I had known that I probably would not have paid extra for a kitchen unit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
There are newer reviews for Magic Beach Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 295 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

This 1960 vintage motel has been well maintained and is fun for a visit.The walls of the rooms are painted inside with unique pictures. The owners and help are friendly. The continental breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 284JJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here last weekend and had a great time. The rooms are very clean and a real world Florida style. They serve breakfast every day and the staff is helpful and friendly. Magic Beach Motel is also really close to a lot of the St. Augustine attractions but on the quieter side of the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Whether you are going for a weekend, a week, or even if you are a "Snow BUNNY" trying to hide from the cold northern months The Magic Beach Motel is the perfect place for you. We just got home and the first thing I did was write this review(my first) This place had single's staying for the winter all the way to big families like us traveling with 5 kids....Most chain motels treat large families like we are going to tear the walls down. Not here, the owners down to the house keepers made sure everyone feels welcomed. Every time I saw the owner he said :Dont forget the pool in heated 80" today." Just to make sure we knew even though its February the kids could have a warm swim. Our room had 2 bedrooms with the most beautiful Muriel's(ask for room 1110 or 110) Also dont forget to walk down to the dock, Every Sat night they have live music.In the summer they have awesome yard sales set up there. Vilano Beach is Florida's best kept secret, I want to make sure Magic Beach Motel isnt kept a secret...We can NOT wait for our next trip...Google the history of vilano beach before you go it will help you understand how historic this motel really is!

Room Tip: room 1110 or 110 has the historical murals also has 2 bedrooms.....
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tennille C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Cute place Very clean, friendly. Close to beach. Bed very comfy Nice location felt safe. would go back Would recommend to a friend Love the Muriel's on the walls. Next time I am in St.Augistine I will stay at Magic beach motel again

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danceing16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Forget those boring chain hotels, this is an ultra cool motel complete with pink flamingos which recently underwent a major renovation. Short on amenities and long on charm and location, location, location.
Helpful and friendly staff, spotless rooms. What else do you need?

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zarin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I spent Saturday night here recently as an alternative to the droll hotels in Orange Park, where her parents live. Magic Beach Motel turned out to be a great choice, and we'll definitely be repeat customers.

The new owners recently completed a million-dollar-plus renovation, and they did it right. Bathrooms have the original, funky pink and green tile, there are original flamingo insets all over the place, and the bedding was very comfortable. The rooms are small -- this is 1950s -- but provide everything you'll need (ours was a king with no kitchenette, but still had a small refrigerator) and are spotlessly clean. A better-than-basic breakfast was included with the room, and the beach is just one building away. It's also a very short walk to a large grocery and restaurants, yet very quiet at night. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank originalbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilano Beach
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
2.0 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,307 reviews
5.5 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,107 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
807 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#6 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Beach Motel

Address: 50 Vilano Rd, Vilano Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vilano Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Vilano Beach
Price Range: $93 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magic Beach Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a retro experience like no other, with all the modern conveniences.Each cozy room has been completely renovated and updated. Here in beautiful Vilano Beach, we think EVERY DAY should feel like a Vacation. Just a few short steps from the Atlantic Ocean, there is plenty to do, or nothing to do. Located just five minutes from St Augustine historic downtown, Vilano Beach is known for beautiful family friendly beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Magic Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilano Beach Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing