We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful...they will nickel and dime you behind your back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 30, 2010

The hotel is clean, spacious, and in a great location. The amenities are nice and the pool is huge, but take a good look at your invoice upon checkout.

When I checked in, the lady at the front desk took my AAA card and gave me the discount (10%). She then printed out an invoice and circled my room rate....it was significantly lower than the rate given to me when I made my reservation (more than 10%); but I was delighted to see the savings and went along with it. Little did I know that they were not at capacity that night and gave me the Market rate which was lower than the original reservation rate. What they failed to mention to me was that the rest of my stay would also be booked at market rate, during which they were at capacity and my room rates sky rocketed. When I got home, I made the necessary calculations (I'm an accountant) and found that I would have saved about $20 if the hotel would have just given me the original rate when I made the reservation (including the AAA discount). I know that in the grand scheme of things this is not a lot of money, but I think that it is the obligation of the hotel to work invoices out in ways to benefit their customers, not themselves.

Anyway I called the hotel the next day and spoke with Bill or Bob (I can't remember) who was all BUT helpful. He sounded rather condescending and irritated. He seemed rather put off by my questioning of their billing and I eventually convinced him to calculate the orginal room rates and discounts. I think he was rather surprised that they were, in fact, ripping me off. Maybe he shouldn't be so sure of himself next time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megaketler38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,553)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,326 - 1,332 of 1,553 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2010

Last week (June 2010) we conducted a team meeting at the Hampton Inn on Vilano Beach made up of Aerospace Govt. Employees and Civilian Contractors. This hotel exceeded all of our expectations in every way. We made all of our lodging and meeting room arrangements with Tina at the on-site Hampton Sales Office. She made it so easy and our meeting was a total success. The rooms were very nice, clean and well appointed. Comfortable beds with free Wi Fi, micro wave, coffee service and fridge. Breakfast was complimentary and was not continental at all. It was omelets, French toast, sausage, hot biscuits and something different every day. Hot chocolate and coffee 24/7 and cookies every afternoon at 3!! Our meeting room was set up exactly per our specifications and secured during our lunches and in the evenings. We enjoyed some great local seafood at Aunt Kate’s, Caps, and Toucan Terry’s. The beach was a 45 second walk away. Nice pool and hot tub. The staff behind the desk were very helpful with dinner recommendations and directions. We had zero complaints from our team members. That was a first. I highly recommend Tina and her staff…we’ll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dockrammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Very clean. Excellent free breakfast with hot and cold options. Larger sized room. Very near to the beach and drive on access. Not far from downtown St. Augustine and St. George street parking. Relaxing, shallow pool for young children.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IRockOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

This was a great hotel for a St.Augustine vacation. We had the best of both worlds the pool/beach.The kids had a blast. Everyone was great, the staff was so friendly and breakfast was perfect especially with our size family (9 of us). The rooms were very clean and the beds were so comfy.... Could not beat the price. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MommaN5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

My wife and I stayed here when we visited St. Augustine for our friends' wedding in Sept. 2009. We stayed in a first floor suite that looked out on the sand dunes-across the street was beach access, and the beach was wonderful!

The breakfast there was one of the better continental breakfasts we've seen, but Hampton has always done well in that area. This hotel is far enough away from downtown to enjoy a beachfront getaway, but close enough to jet over for dinner or drinks. Great find!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drewmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

My wife and I chose the Hampton Inn Villano Beach as the hotel for our friends, family, and ourselves, to stay at during our wedding last week. From arrival thru departure the hotel was warm, welcoming, clean, and well maintained. The staff are very friendly, the location is quiet yet close to the tourist area, and the facilities are excellent. The room with the double jacuzzi is an excellent upgrade. We will certainly be staying at this location again on our next visit to St Augustine.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shauny2k3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

We stayed there one night in late April on the way to Disney, and I have to second the comment made by a recent reviewer, who called it the best Hampton that they had ever stayed in. We had a huge room overlooking the ocean (with a balcony too), and it cost less than $140 per night with the AAA rate. The place is almost new and the lobby and pool area are very beautiful. Also, as noted elsewhere, the staff is very helpful. The free breakfast was also the best I have ever encountered at a Hampton. The typical Hampton breakfast is crappy food served in a cramped room. This hotel had a wide selection of items in a large and beautiful room. The person manning the breakfast area, Reg, was very nice and very helpful. When I complained about the lack of cherry danish, he looked for a few minutes until he found some, and then thawed them out for me. In fact, I think this was the only complimentary breakfast I have encounted where almost everyone left a tip.

In the interest of fairness, I must mention a few flaws. Our room (336) had a peeling bathtub which spoiled the beauty of the bathroom, and should be replaced. Also, the pillows were all too soft - they need to get some pillows with more support. Finally, many of the properties around the hotel are run down, and there are not many restaurants that are all that close. Nevertheless, it is an unbelievable bargain, and I would stay there again in a minute when I return to St. Augustine.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoPenguins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilano Beach
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
2 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#10 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,396 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
2.1 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach

Address: 95 Vilano Rd, Vilano Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vilano Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vilano Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Vilano Beach
Price Range: $129 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach hotel is just steps from the sands of beautiful Vilano Beach. Guests enjoy free hot buffet breakfast, free WiFi, outdoor pool, fitness center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites St. Augustine Vilano Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine Vilano Beach Hotel Saint Augustine
Hampton Inn Hotel Oceanside
Hampton Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing