We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great choice for beach or city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 2, 2009

We chose this hotel after reading the great reviews on TripAdvisor. It was everything others said: handsome grounds, helpful staff, large and well-maintained rooms, and a good breakfast. Our first night we were afraid the toilet had backed up: we awoke to a putrid smell in the middle of the night. By morning, it was fine. The clerk suggested it may have been the sprinklers. Indeed, a flaw in paradise is that the water around here has a high sulphur content. This wouldn't be unique to this hotel. This is a fine choice for the beach (a few steps away) or the city (a short drive).

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GordonPsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSt_Augustine, Public Relations at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2009

Thank you TripAdvisor from Louisville for your review. It's great to hear positive comments concerning the staff and accommodations from our valued guests. We take great pride in being sure that the areas surrounding the hotel are always being maintained. The features and benefits of the hotel are what keeps our guest coming back. The hot breakfast, spacious guest rooms and outdoor terrace are just a few to mention. As you mentioned, steps to the beach and minutes to downtown, is really convenient for our guests. Thank you again for taking time out of your schedule to share your comments with us. We look forward in seeing your in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,347 - 1,353 of 1,527 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2009

Reggie is the breakfast attendant and he baits the hotel guests by putting money on the tables. He watches the guests and pesters them as the guest eats and he doesn't clean off tables. He leaves his bait money on the dirty tables to influence the next guest to leave a tip. He hounds over the tables and then when that guest leaves a tip...thinking that it is customary to do so...he will not take the tip or all of the trash off of the table just a napkin or two and throw it away... just to make it look good. He will walk around and sigh and hum and try to make eye contact with you to try to start a conversation...he obviously thinks this is customer service...noooooo...this is his start of the 'con' process to get a tip from you. He is fancy with his style and with his flair of movement as he fills a creamer bin or puts some forks in the holder. Don't be turned off from Hampton's in general... I just stayed in South Carolina before here...they are 'right on' with customer service and politeness.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midkkingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2009

We just returned from a family vacation to St. Augustine. We have two children 2 and 4 and really enjoyed this hotel. First of all, it has very updated accomodations. The breakfast is great and Reggie was wonderful and attuned to families with chidlren. The beach is across the street but there is a park in front with a sidewalk fountain perfect for small children, especially in the hot summer. When we went, though, the weather was still a bit chilly. The beach was a bit rough- but we were in still in Florida winter temps. The hotel is located very near St. Augustine- you just have to travel over a bridge. At the foot of the bride is a park with a carousel, which was a favorite for our children. We would go in the trolleys during the day with the children and they loved it. Very low key vacation- which was prefect for us.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yohanac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSt_Augustine, Public Relations at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2009

Thank you TripAdvisor from Miami for your positive review. The staff and management does appreciate your comments in regards to the hotel and surrounding areas. Reggie has always been great with families, as well as individual guests for the past 7 years. As you had mentioned, the hotel is only steps to the beach and minutes to down. The carousel is a wonderful treat for the children and for the adults, a simple reminder of their childhood. We are pleased that you enjoyed your vacation and thank you for taking time out of your schedule to comment on your trip to St. Augustine. We look forward in seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2009

We were swayed to book this hotel by all the great reviews here. While I have no real complaints about the hotel (I generally like the Hilton and Hampton chain) I do think the location made it much less enjoyable. Yes, the beach was very nearby, but the hotel is located in an area of shuttered motels, dying businesses, and NO nearby restaurants. Vilano Beach appears to be a dying community. To get anything to eat, you had to get in your car and drive across the bridge to St. Augustine -- and then hunt around for parking.

If you're here to visit the sights of St. Augustine (and it's a charming town), I suggest you choose a hotel that's actually in the town itself.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docwatson_236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSt_Augustine, Public Relations at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2009

Thank you TripAdvisor member from Maine for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the location of the Hampton Inn & Suites. With the infrastructure completed, we are just waiting for the economy to turn, so we may complete the Town Center. Again, thanks for taking time out of your schedule to write the review and if you have any questions please let us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2009

We picked this motel due to its rating on Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed. In fact, we added an extra day and stayed for three rather than just two days due to the motel, its location, and the beach so close by that we could hear the ocean at night from our room. The service was exceptional, everyone was very helpful especially Reggie who could brighten up anyone's morning. We found this a perfect place to stay and not too far from the historic district. The beach is beautiful, great sunrise. We had only one thing that we would recommend possibly fixing if able and that would be the noise that is created when people open up their patio doors leading to the balconies; it almost made a sound like thunder but no one did it during the night so it wasn't a bother. My husband enjoyed the whirlpool, it was a little cool for the pool yet (March 8, 9, 10). If we ever come back to the area, we definitely would stay again. Thanks for a wonderful three days.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkoMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSt_Augustine, Public Relations at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2009

Thank you TripAvisor member from Minnesota for your comments. It's great to hear that you would stay an extra night due the the features and benefits of the hotel. The beaches you mentioned are steps from the hotel and we are just minutes to downtown St. Augustine. We are very proud of our staff and it reflects in the comments like yours. Reggie has been like an Ambassador for the hotel and he treats guests in the best way possible. We continue to maintain the sliding glass doors going out to the balconies, however every now and then we miss one. We do apologize for the inconvenience. We do appreciate your time in writing this review and we look forward in seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2009

Most hotels in St Augustine are either on the US1 (so noisy) or on the strip just North of town. The Hampton, on the other hand, is out at Vilano Beach about three miles away from the town, across a spectacular bridge. Vilano Beach itself is work in progress - stalled due to the recession; it's just the Hampton plus two motels (both for sale), an Italian restaurant and a cafe. The beach itself is popular with day-trippers as you can drive onto it for $6. The Hampton was the best hotel we stayed in on a 17-day trip to Florida. Quiet, luxurious room, excellent breakfast, smart pool area, good staff. The only downside was that the pool was unheated. We got this, with advance booking, at the coupon rate of $85 a night. Judging by the number of empty spaces in the car park, I reckon they'll usually do a deal.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chorizogolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSt_Augustine, Public Relations at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2009

Thank you TripAvisor member from North Yorkshire, England for your recent review. The staff and management is pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites, while visiting St. Augustine. Our features and benefits are enjoyed by many of our guests and our reviews attest to that. With steps to the beach and minutes to downtown, it make the hotel an ideal place to stay.Many individuals are waiting for the new Town Center to be completed and with the infrastructure completed, we are just waiting for the economy to turn around. Thank you again for taking the time to write your comments and we look forward in seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2009

This is one of our favorite places to stay. My husband and I first visited in September 2008, and enjoyed our visit so much that we decided to return with other family members. The hotel is clean, attractive, offers a good breakfast, and is located ideally, but what makes it extra special is the staff. They go above and beyond to make their guests happy. This time, our first night (they were completely sold out) my sister-in-law and her husband had a room with a defective air conditioning unit. Mario, one of the General Managers, was very apologetic and since we would be staying another four nights he graciously upgraded both rooms to Ocean View Whirlpool Suites. Chris, whom we had gotten to know on our first visit, was extremely friendly and helpful with restaurant tips, and Reggie (who takes care of breakfast) proved that he was most deserving of his Employee of the Year award. He won it over all 30,000 hospitality employees in Saint Augustine, and his service, British accent, and sense of fun are the reasons why! Don't miss eating at Cap's and Mango Mango while you are in the area. The Red Trains are great, and Vilano Beach is one of the best kept secrets in Florida.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSt_Augustine, Public Relations at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2009

Thank you TripAdvisor from Atlanta, GA for your wonderful comments. The Staff and Management is very pleased that you had the opportunity to come back to St. Augustine and the Hampton Inn & Suites for a second time. Both staff and management have learned through out their employment, how valuable our guests are and they continue to go out of their way, in providing guests with a memorable experience. Again, thanks for taking time out of your schedule to write your review and we look forward in seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilano Beach
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
812 reviews
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#6 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
2.1 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
5.5 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach

Address: 95 Vilano Rd, Vilano Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vilano Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Vilano Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vilano Beach
Price Range: $125 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach hotel is just steps from the sands of beautiful Vilano Beach. Guests enjoy free hot buffet breakfast, free WiFi, outdoor pool, fitness center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Otel, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites St. Augustine Vilano Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine Vilano Beach Hotel Saint Augustine
Hampton Inn Hotel Oceanside
Hampton Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing