We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family vacation with young children”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Miami
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great family vacation with young children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2009

We just returned from a family vacation to St. Augustine. We have two children 2 and 4 and really enjoyed this hotel. First of all, it has very updated accomodations. The breakfast is great and Reggie was wonderful and attuned to families with chidlren. The beach is across the street but there is a park in front with a sidewalk fountain perfect for small children, especially in the hot summer. When we went, though, the weather was still a bit chilly. The beach was a bit rough- but we were in still in Florida winter temps. The hotel is located very near St. Augustine- you just have to travel over a bridge. At the foot of the bride is a park with a carousel, which was a favorite for our children. We would go in the trolleys during the day with the children and they loved it. Very low key vacation- which was prefect for us.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yohanac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSt_Augustine, Public Relations at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this review, April 3, 2009
Thank you TripAdvisor from Miami for your positive review. The staff and management does appreciate your comments in regards to the hotel and surrounding areas. Reggie has always been great with families, as well as individual guests for the past 7 years. As you had mentioned, the hotel is only steps to the beach and minutes to down. The carousel is a wonderful treat for the children and for the adults, a simple reminder of their childhood. We are pleased that you enjoyed your vacation and thank you for taking time out of your schedule to comment on your trip to St. Augustine. We look forward in seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    401
    135
    63
    31
See reviews for
461
636
32
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
maine
Level Contributor
133 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2009

We were swayed to book this hotel by all the great reviews here. While I have no real complaints about the hotel (I generally like the Hilton and Hampton chain) I do think the location made it much less enjoyable. Yes, the beach was very nearby, but the hotel is located in an area of shuttered motels, dying businesses, and NO nearby restaurants. Vilano Beach appears to be a dying community. To get anything to eat, you had to get in your car and drive across the bridge to St. Augustine -- and then hunt around for parking.

If you're here to visit the sights of St. Augustine (and it's a charming town), I suggest you choose a hotel that's actually in the town itself.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docwatson_236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSt_Augustine, Public Relations at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this review, March 30, 2009
Thank you TripAdvisor member from Maine for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the location of the Hampton Inn & Suites. With the infrastructure completed, we are just waiting for the economy to turn, so we may complete the Town Center. Again, thanks for taking time out of your schedule to write the review and if you have any questions please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2009

We picked this motel due to its rating on Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed. In fact, we added an extra day and stayed for three rather than just two days due to the motel, its location, and the beach so close by that we could hear the ocean at night from our room. The service was exceptional, everyone was very helpful especially Reggie who could brighten up anyone's morning. We found this a perfect place to stay and not too far from the historic district. The beach is beautiful, great sunrise. We had only one thing that we would recommend possibly fixing if able and that would be the noise that is created when people open up their patio doors leading to the balconies; it almost made a sound like thunder but no one did it during the night so it wasn't a bother. My husband enjoyed the whirlpool, it was a little cool for the pool yet (March 8, 9, 10). If we ever come back to the area, we definitely would stay again. Thanks for a wonderful three days.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkoMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSt_Augustine, Public Relations at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this review, March 27, 2009
Thank you TripAvisor member from Minnesota for your comments. It's great to hear that you would stay an extra night due the the features and benefits of the hotel. The beaches you mentioned are steps from the hotel and we are just minutes to downtown St. Augustine. We are very proud of our staff and it reflects in the comments like yours. Reggie has been like an Ambassador for the hotel and he treats guests in the best way possible. We continue to maintain the sliding glass doors going out to the balconies, however every now and then we miss one. We do apologize for the inconvenience. We do appreciate your time in writing this review and we look forward in seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2009

Most hotels in St Augustine are either on the US1 (so noisy) or on the strip just North of town. The Hampton, on the other hand, is out at Vilano Beach about three miles away from the town, across a spectacular bridge. Vilano Beach itself is work in progress - stalled due to the recession; it's just the Hampton plus two motels (both for sale), an Italian restaurant and a cafe. The beach itself is popular with day-trippers as you can drive onto it for $6. The Hampton was the best hotel we stayed in on a 17-day trip to Florida. Quiet, luxurious room, excellent breakfast, smart pool area, good staff. The only downside was that the pool was unheated. We got this, with advance booking, at the coupon rate of $85 a night. Judging by the number of empty spaces in the car park, I reckon they'll usually do a deal.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chorizogolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSt_Augustine, Public Relations at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this review, March 27, 2009
Thank you TripAvisor member from North Yorkshire, England for your recent review. The staff and management is pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites, while visiting St. Augustine. Our features and benefits are enjoyed by many of our guests and our reviews attest to that. With steps to the beach and minutes to downtown, it make the hotel an ideal place to stay.Many individuals are waiting for the new Town Center to be completed and with the infrastructure completed, we are just waiting for the economy to turn around. Thank you again for taking the time to write your comments and we look forward in seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2009

This is one of our favorite places to stay. My husband and I first visited in September 2008, and enjoyed our visit so much that we decided to return with other family members. The hotel is clean, attractive, offers a good breakfast, and is located ideally, but what makes it extra special is the staff. They go above and beyond to make their guests happy. This time, our first night (they were completely sold out) my sister-in-law and her husband had a room with a defective air conditioning unit. Mario, one of the General Managers, was very apologetic and since we would be staying another four nights he graciously upgraded both rooms to Ocean View Whirlpool Suites. Chris, whom we had gotten to know on our first visit, was extremely friendly and helpful with restaurant tips, and Reggie (who takes care of breakfast) proved that he was most deserving of his Employee of the Year award. He won it over all 30,000 hospitality employees in Saint Augustine, and his service, British accent, and sense of fun are the reasons why! Don't miss eating at Cap's and Mango Mango while you are in the area. The Red Trains are great, and Vilano Beach is one of the best kept secrets in Florida.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSt_Augustine, Public Relations at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this review, March 23, 2009
Thank you TripAdvisor from Atlanta, GA for your wonderful comments. The Staff and Management is very pleased that you had the opportunity to come back to St. Augustine and the Hampton Inn & Suites for a second time. Both staff and management have learned through out their employment, how valuable our guests are and they continue to go out of their way, in providing guests with a memorable experience. Again, thanks for taking time out of your schedule to write your review and we look forward in seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
267 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2009

My husband declares this the nicest Hampton Inn we have stayed at so far, and we have stayed at a lot. I still like the one in Chincoteague, Virginia but could be persuaded that St. Augustine is #1. Others have written in great detail about all that this Hampton has to offer, so I won't, other than to say, that this is no cookie cutter Hampton Inn. We were upgraded to an oceanfront suite for our three night stay. Our balcony faced the beach and got the morning sun, a perfect place to enjoy Hampton's free breakfast. And the screened balcony door meant that we could leave it open at night, hearing the ocean waves without entertaining the bugs. We didn't get an opportunity to sample the pool or the firepit because we were too busy playing tourist. But they looked very inviting. I only have a few minor quibbles. The open window between the bathroom and the bedroom is closed by wooden shutters. Not too happy about the lack of privacy this causes. Took a while for the hot water to arrive. My back would appreciate a computer table in the living area, rather than just a coffee table. Other than that we were quite delighted with the Hampton Inn at Vilano Beach.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSt_Augustine, Public Relations at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this review, March 10, 2009
Thank you TripAdvisor from Toronto for your wonderful review. I do appreciate your comments and I know the staff and management will enjoy them. To be fair, the Hampton Inn & Suites, Chincoteague is also an excellent hotel and like us is rated very high with Hampton and TripAdvisor. We are very pleased that you did enjoy your stay with us well visiting St. Augustine. The shutters in between the bathroom and the bedroom have been up for debate for some time. It's either love them or dislike them. The hot water does take a little longer to get to the east end of the building and we do apologize for the inconvenience. We have tried to put a desk and chair in the parlor area of the suite, however we have found it takes up to much space. Again, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we do appreciate the time you took to write youer review. We look forward in seeing you the next time you are in St. Augustine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2009

We enjoyed a two night stay at this Hampton Inn in mid-February. The predominantly positive Trip Advisor reviews influenced our choice, but what really sealed the deal for me was something you (surprisingly) don't see that often on Tripadvisor: The management actually reads and responds to every entry. That indicated to me that the hotel has a strong customer focus and was likely to be very well run. This was indeed the case - there is good reason why this Hampton Inn is (currently) Tripadvisor's #1 rated hotel in the St. Augustine area. We'd love to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayJfromNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSt_Augustine, Public Relations at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this review, March 6, 2009
Thank you RayJ from NC for your comments regarding the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us this past February and we look forward in seeing you again. Also, thank you for the compliment in regards to answering our past guest reviews and comments. I just feel, if an individual takes time out of their schedule to critique the hotel, then I have an obligation to answer them. Again, thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilano Beach
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
5.5 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach Inn
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach...
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
Address: 95 Vilano Rd, Vilano Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vilano Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Vilano Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vilano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach hotel is only 40 steps from the sands of beautiful Vilano Beach. Guests enjoy free hot buffet breakfast, free WiFi, outdoor pool, fitness center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine Vilano Beach Hotel Saint Augustine
Hampton Inn And Suites St. Augustine Vilano Beach
Hampton Inn Hotel Oceanside
Hampton Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing