We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great get away. Nice and quiet.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 4, 2008

Nice clean hotel away from the noise and the crowds. It is a very short walk to the beach. Hotel was clean, breakfast was OK. However, we were there over Thanksgiving weekend and they could not keep up with the crowd for breakfast. Things were always running out. They tried to keep up but it was hard.

We enjoyed this hotel because it was away from the hotel strip. So the beach was nice and quiet. We even walked the beach at night with no problems. But remember to take a flash light if you plan to do this because it is dark but peaceful.

Beds were confortable and the sheets were only changed upon request. We requested a 3rd floor room away from the elevator and this was provided. The front desk even found us a better room when we mentioned it. The outside gas fireplaces were a nice plus. Plenty of ice in the machines which is hard to find.

The only thing was the hot tub would not turn on the last night and the staff was not helpful with this problem. Larger towels for the pool and hot tub available at the front desk.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Ser3mxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_baird, Public Relations at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2008

Thank you Ser3mxs from Atlanta, GA for writing your review. We do appreciate all comments that would make our guests stay more enjoyable. Your statement concerning breakfast is something that we have corrected, especially during holidays. The features and benefits of the hotel makes our guests feel very at ease. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed the beach and yes, please take a flash light when going out at night. I am sorry, our front desk staff was unable to help you with getting the hot tub running. We have since trained our entire staff on the operations of the hot tub. Our front desk staff is alway trying to accommodate each guest request, even if it takes a little longer to check the individual in. Again, thank you for your time in writing your review and we hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,404 - 1,410 of 1,569 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2008

I'm not sure why there is a single bad review of this hotel, but, they are all incorrect. The hotel itself is really nice (much better than anything in the nearby area) and the staff is completely professional, accommodating, friendly, and will go the extra mile for you. They have a free breakfast from 6-10a, little garden fireplaces for a nice night ambiance, and the rooms were very clean. We were able to get two adjoining rooms without a reservation. My kids (ok, me too) enjoyed the smell of fresh cookies and popcorn every night coming from the lobby. We will definitely be visiting this hotel again - it was hard to leave.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bglodde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_baird, Public Relations at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2008

Thank you TripAdvisor member from Ohio for your most recent review. Our staff and management do enjoy reading comments from TripAdvisor members and do appreciate your statements. The staff and management also takes great pride in providing our customers with great service and accommodations. Value added, is the popcorn, cookies and lemonade, which many of our guests wait for in the evenings. Thank you again for taking time out of your schedule to comment on the hotel. Look forward in seeing you all in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2008

"When you call the kids, tell them they have to visit us here for the holidays" my husband announced; "we're not leaving.:"
I can understand why he felt this way - we've been on the road for five nights traveling down to Ocoee from NY and this was by far the best hotel experience we've had - including the other Hamptons we've stayed at. The room is large and the furnishings very comfortable. As other reviewers have said, the beach is just steps away and the hotel staff is the best. Cookies and popcorn with lemonade were the unexpected evening treat.
My only issue: occasionally, in other hotels, I've seen a tip basket at breakfast, but here, the tables had singles laying on them - which Reggie did not collect when he cleaned up. I was surprised by this - it seemed a little bit of a ploy to remind guests to leave a tip.
We do have to leave today but we'll be stopping here again as we head back north

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pmorena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_baird, Public Relations at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2008

Thank you TripAdvisor member from the Hudson Valley for your review. We are all (staff and management) pleased that you had a wonderful stay with in the St. Augustine area. The hotel has a lot of features and benefits that make us #1 on TripAdvisor. Enjoying lemonade, cookies and popcorn after a day of touring or work can top off the day for our guests. The situation in the breakfast area has been correct and we do appreciate your concerns. Again, thank you for your time in writting your comments and we look forward in seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2008

Great hotel at a great price! Clean, spacious, well appointed rooms, and extremely helpful staff both at the front desk and the breakfast bar. Steps from the beach, beautiful patio garden, with gas fireplaces for cool evenings. We had a great stay and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Family_Fivesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_baird, Public Relations at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2008

Thank you TripAdvisor member from Fairfax Virginia for your most recent review. Our staff and management takes pride in maintaining the hotels appearance and will go out of their way to ensure guest satisfaction. Your comments are appreciated and I will past them onto our staff. Again, thank you for taking time out of your schedule to write your review and we look forward in seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2008

My husband and I just got back (October 23) from a few days getaway to St. Augustine. The hotel was wonderful. Beautiful ocean view. Hotel very well maintained. Reggie--the other reviews here are absolutely no exaggeration. He needs to train others on how to enjoy a job and do it well. He's a natural ambassador for both Hampton Inn and Vilano Beach. Will definitely stay here again. (Hesitate to recommend it because I want to be sure to get a room at a great rate when I want it!)

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Desiree626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_baird, Public Relations at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2008

Thank you TripAdvisor from Owning Mills, MD.,
for your positive review. We are pleased that your stay with us was enjoyable. The staff and management takes pride in maintaining the hotel and outside area's. Yes, Reggie is our Ambassador and he is well appreciated during his morning shifts. Thanks you again for taking time to share your comments and we look forward in seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2008

My family of 3 stayed at this property for 2 nights on the way home from Disney. It was a typical Hampton with a few extra special niceties: the check-in staff were professional and helpful, the lobby and grounds were lovely, and Reggie could not have been more helpful and kind during the good breakfast both mornings! The location was peaceful and only a very short walk to the beach. Although this was a typical Atlantic Beach (dark, coarse sand with rough waves) it met our expectations. We liked being able to drive on the beach to unload our blankets, chairs, etc. rather than carrying them from the hotel. The hotel room was adequate. The beds were comfortable, good air conditioning, and very spacious with a microwave and small refrigerator. The only negatives were the carpet had a dirty look to it and the tub area was moldy (in the corners and on the ceiling). It looked like it just needed a good scrubbing. We liked the convenience of driving across the bridge into St. Augustine. 2 good restaurants in the area were Caps (not too far from the hotel) and Mango Mangos. We would definitely visit them again. Overall we had a pleasant experience at this Hampton and in the St. Augustine area, and would stay at this property again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ChattanoogaMcmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_baird, Public Relations at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2008

Thank you TripAdvisor from Chattanooga for your recent review. The staff and management is please that you enjoyed your stay while visiting the St. Augustine area. As you mentioned the features and benefits of the hotel were to your likings. I do regret that you had some concerns with the guest room. We do have a daily preventive maintenance program for the hotel to prevent issues such as yours andwe due apologize for those concerns. Again, thank you for taking time out of your schedule to post your comments and we look forward in seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2008

Great welcome, with all the info we needed. Upgraded to seaview spa-tub room. Slightly old smell to room, but not unpleasant. All round very good- sat on balcony until the wind and rain drove us in.
Evening cookies, popcorn and lemonade very welcome
Breakfast excellent; definitely above normal Hampotn standards.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ethelman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_baird, Public Relations at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2008

Thannk you TripAdvisor member from London for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the feature and benefits of the hotel. I am sorry for the unpleasant smell in your room and we are looking into in as we speak. The weather is mother nature at it best sometimes and it will drive guests back into the hotel. Again, we are please that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for writing to us and we look forward in seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilano Beach
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
2 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#9 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,445 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
2.1 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach

Address: 95 Vilano Rd, Vilano Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vilano Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Vilano Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vilano Beach
Price Range: $133 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach hotel is just steps from the sands of beautiful Vilano Beach. Guests enjoy free hot buffet breakfast, free WiFi, outdoor pool, fitness center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Otel, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites St. Augustine Vilano Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine Vilano Beach Hotel Saint Augustine
Hampton Inn Hotel Oceanside
Hampton Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing