We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 9, 2008

We just returned from our stay in St. Augustine at the Hampton Inn & Suites Velano Beach. We LOVED this place! It was always clean, the room was huge and kept clean, the breakfast was delicious and plentiful and the fresh baked cookies, fresh popped popcorn and lemonade at 5pm everyday was a HUGE hit with my kids. Every employee that we encountered at the hotel was extremely nice and professional.

We had a king suite with a jacuzzi with an ocean view. The room worked perfectly for my family. The living room and bedroom were divided by the bathroom which gave my husband and I a little bit of privacy. The bed was very comfortable and we LOVED the pillows! The jacuzzi came in very handy after a long, hot day out and about. The view from our balcony was breathtaking! We loved watching the boats sailing around on the Atlantic.

We used the pool and hot tub everyday. The pool and hot tub are in need of some repairs soon but other than that it was kept clean and was very pleasant!

We loved the fact that the only time we had to drive anywhere was for dinner. We opted to use the Red Trains tour and they provided a FREE shuttle to pick us up and drop us off at the hotel everyday. We would call down to the front desk and they would call them for us! It can't be more convienent then that!

Overall, we will be telling all of our friends and family about this hotel and we WILL be returning!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank melinasierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_baird, Public Relations at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2008

Thanks you melinasierra from Tampa for your wonderful review. The staff and management is please that you and your family had a enjoyable stay while visiting St Augustine. The hotel staff takes pride in their work and your comments just reinforces their commitment. The added features and benefits that are offered to our guests, is our way of saying thanks for staying with us. It is easy to leave your car at the hotel and take the Red Trains into St. Augustine for your tour and the pass is good for three days. Thank you again for taking time out of your schedule to comment on your stay and we look forward in seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,584)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,430 - 1,436 of 1,584 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2008

Thank you Hampton Inn for another great vacation!!
As always everything was just perfect. Our room was always very clean and tidy and everyone was very helpful and pleasant.
Thank you Reggie for making our breakfast so enjoyable. Reggie is a GEM and the Hampton Inn should treasure him!!
We'll be back next summer and we''ll bring our family with us!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Evansvillecorgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSt_Augustine, Public Relations at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2008

Thanks you TripAdvisior from Evansville, IN for your review. As a regular guest, I see that the staff and management has continued to make your stay enjoyable and that is what the Hampton Inn & Suite is all about. Clean, tidy and being helpful is a sign of committment by our employees. Reggie has been our ambassador for many years and is well liked by many of our guests. He goes out of his way to see that everyone starts off the morning with a good breakfast. Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to send us your comments. We all look forward in seeing you and your family next summer for another fun vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2008

This is the creme de la creme of Hampton Inns! It is clean, has a breathtaking decor, very Spanish villa looking in keeping with the St Augustine theme. Bob at check in was polite, efficient, and was extremely helpful with honest suggestions regarding restaurants and attractions and tours,the 4 days we were there. He was right on with everything!
Thank you Bob! The rooms are beautifully appointed and the wet bar with microwave and refrigerator was a blessing. The hotel is steps from the beach and is part intercoastal waterway and part ocean. There is a nice view of the lighthouse from the beach. There are a few family owned restaurants on the same road that were fantastic! The location is just wonderful as it gives you a reprieve from the hustle of town yet it is right across the bridge from everything. The view from the rooms is not the best even from the ocean front rooms because of the dunes. ( the hotel is only 3 floors) The balconies are large and lovely. There was only one thing that annoyed us about the hotel. The famous breakfast host is way too much for me. I want to be left alone at breakfast. This person was at every table like a politician, soliciting tips and catch me at my best cards. Meanwhile the food and cups were depleting. Over all though that was easy to get by because of everything else being so wonderful. Also at 5::00 daily they serve lemomade. cookies and popcorn in the lobby-nice touch! I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mookiepebbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_baird, Public Relations at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2008

Thank you mookiepebbles from Pa. for your wonderful review. Bob is very caring person and wants all our guests to have a great time well staying with us. You are right, concerning the features and benefits of the hotel. The staff and management takes pride in keeping the hotel looking new and seeing the guests enjoying themselves. Nestled in between the intracoastal waterway and the Atlantic Ocean and minutes to historic downtown, our guests have the best of both worlds. Our breakfast hosts try to be considerate to our morning guests and yes sometimes can be over bearing to some individuals. Catch me at my best, is a program that Hampton Inn does once a year and our employees go out of their way to accommodate the guests, so they will sign the cards with their name on it. I am sorry that your breakfast was interrupted and we did not maintain the other services required at breakfast. Our evening snacks are a hit with most all of our guests. Cookies, popcorn and lemonade are always fun to enjoy, especially after a long day of business or touring the streets of St. Augustine. Again, thank you for taking time out of your schedule to write your comments, regards the Hampton Inn & Suites. See you next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

We were very pleasantly surprised that a hotel in this category can be this nice. This hotel is extremely well managed and a cut above most others. Every person we've dealt with, from check-in, breakfast, and general questions has been as helpful and friendly as can be.

The lobby appears to have been recently redone, and is very attractive. Our room was very spacious, with a fridge, sink and microwave and comfortable beds. A couple of furnishings are a bit older, but overall we would rate the room highly. The overall decor of the room is inviting. Wireless internet service is included and worked great.

Free breakfast is included offering a very wide continental selection as well as eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy. The eating area is spotless and relaxing. There is also a nice area to eat outdoors with plenty of shade and ceiling fans. In the evening there always was fresh fruit, lemonade and popcorn available for snacking. A nice touch.

The hotel is steps from the ocean and includes a mid-size pool, and a small but well equipped gym.

We got a terrific rate on-line (perhaps because of a summer booking) and the overall experience was that of a much higher priced hotel. We recommend it highly and would stay here again in a minute.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank C from NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_baird, Public Relations at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2008

Thank you TripAdvisor member, C from New York for your most recent review. We do appricate your surpise when you arrived at the hotel and realized wow, what a hotel. The staff and management (since opening) has alway had, the customer comes first attitude. The property for the most part is the same as when we opened. The decor of the hotel and the guest rooms have had minimum changes and we give credit to our entire staff for keeping the hotel in the shape it is in. Our features and benefits, do set us apart from many of our competitors and we realize our customer do appricate it. Thank you again for taking time out of your schedule to write your review on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2008

Had a wonderful 4-day stay just before Fourth of July holiday.
Staff was great; we arrived late at night and, despite my pretty foul mood after a long flight and a drive from Orlando, Cornelius at check-in was courteous and professional. The one time I needed to call the front desk (a midnight request regarding the loud talkers in the parking lot just outside our balcony), they resolved the situation within 2 minutes.

The facilities were clean, well-equipped, and surprisingly quiet (so close to July 4, I was prepared for more revelry and loud children, as was happy to find none of it). It also had a very well-tended feel, everything in working order, plentiful and nicely displayed. And of course, I really appreciated the free parking, free Internet and complimentary breakfast.

The construction mentioned in other reviews seemed to be virtually completed, with a new pavilion and water fountain built between the parking lot and the dunes; workers were at the last stages of laying grass alongside the curbs.

Based on TripAdvisor reviews, we were considering this hotel and the Hilton in St. Augustine proper -- and we're convinced this was the right choice (as long as you have a car to make the short drive into the old city). The ability to walk a few yards to the beach or 4 blocks to the inlet and marina was wonderful and relaxing; we also liked the residential neighborhood and even the funky / seedy hotels on the same strip; made the place seem real instead of plastic.

Highly recommended and we're coming back next year!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KathleenM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_baird, Public Relations at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2008

Thank you KathleenM1 from San Francisco for your wonderful review. The staff and management were pleased to hear that your stay with us was what you had expected. Cornelius, who is our night auditor have been with us since the hotel opened and is a great asset to to the hotel. Our staff takes pride in keeping the hotel looking like new and to maintain the highest standards of our company. Since we opened the hotel, families with small or older children seem to be well behaved and for the most part have wonderful manners. The construction on the road will be completed the week of July 14, 2008. We do thank all our guests for their patience. The hotel is conveniently located between the ocean and the intracoastal and only minutes to historical downtown St. Augustine. Again, thank you for your comments and the time taken out of your schedule to write them and we will see you the next time you're in St. Augustine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2008

We just returned home this afternoon from a wonderful vacation which included 4 nights at the Hampton Inn & Suites-St. Augustine/Vilano Beach. All I can say is it is the best overall Hampton experience we have had. Before I continue, let me say that I noticed some of the reviews for this property hidden among the reviews for the Hampton Inn on St. Augustine Beach, so keep this in mind when using reviews as your basis for choosing a property. This is the Hampton Inn & Suites at Vilano Beach in St. Augustine. This hotel is VERY upscale in its appearance as well as amenities offered. ALL of the rooms have refrigerators and microwaves with a small "galley-style" kitchen like what you would find in an Embassy Suites. The room we stayed in had 2 queen-sized beds and was not a suite, but had quite a bit more square footage than the standard Hampton room, which is nice when you are travelling with a family of four (2 teenagers!). Another thing I noticed about the room was the fact that it had 13(!!) electrical outlets (not counting the ones already in use for lamps/tv/etc.)!! Sounds like a strange detail to notice, but when you have 4 cell phones that need charging each night, plus a laptop, etc., its little details like this that make a difference. Prior to our trip, I had checked out the reviews on Trip Advisor, and I was not in any way disappointed. The area where the hotel is located is a quiet, modest, residential area with very little traffic around the hotel other than hotel guests. The beach is easily accessible, and for convenience you can also drive onto the beach, although very few people did while we were there, and "traffic" on the beach is a non-issue. The pool area is absolutely beautiful as well as everything else about the hotel. The area is being revitalized and I will be interested to see what changes are made the next time we visit. We were also delighted to meet Reggie, their famous (through Trip Advisor reviews) breakfast attendant. He is a delightful man and you will NOT believe the service. I have NEVER seen anything close at any other hotel, ever!! He truly enjoys his job and serving others, and it shows. I would venture to say that he alone is responsible for many a return visitor! There is much more that could be said, just wish we were still there!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank momoftwoteens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSt_Augustine, Public Relations at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2008

Thank you TripAdvisor member from Tennessee for your positive review. The management and staff are given copies of all reviews on Tripadvisor (good or not so good) and your review touches on items that many of us forget that are there, until we need them. We feels that our guest rooms can match up to the best rooms in the country for size and amenities. For the past 6 1/2 years we have tried to make sure all our guests have a pleasant stay while visiting the area and ownership is also committed in maintaining an upscale feeling for those individuals staying with us. Reggie our breakfast host is one of a kind and is there not only to prepare the food, but also serve as many guests as possible. Reggie was also voted Employee of the Year for 2007/08 out of 12,000 other hospitaity individuals in St. Johns County. He displays his award proudly in the breakfast area. We again say thanks for taking time out of your schedule to write your comments and look forward in seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2008

We were in St. Augustine for a wedding weekend and liked the location of the Hampton Inn at Vilano Beach so we booked it for 3 nights. It is across the causeway from St. Augustine on the barrier island. Walk out the front door, turn right and you are 500 yards from the beach! The town has just put in new streets and sidewalks in this area, including beautiful stone tile designs on walkways and pavilion. There are not a lot of businesses nearby yet, but St. Augustine is only about 2 miles away. The beach was pretty private most of the time. It is also one of the few places in Florida that allow cars to drive on the beach at certain times. Getting back to the hotel, we found it very clean and nicely appointed. The lobby area is large, with two computer areas with internet access for guest use. A free breakfast is offered, which includes not only pastries, cereals, yogurt and fruit, but also ham and eggs, sausages and biscuits and gravy. There is always a snack offered in the afternoon, such as fresh-baked cookies and lemonade, and an old-fashioned popcorn machine is running daily as well. The pool area is lush with piped in music and a hot tub. There is also a back covered patio area with two wood burning stoves that are lit at night. Guests can gather on the comfortable porch furniture and watch the nearby fountain. The night we sat out there, one of the guests brought out a guitar and played for us.
This hotel was definitely one of the nicest mid-range hotels we have stayed in. If traveling to the St. Augustine/Jacksonville area I would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank peach3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_baird, Public Relations at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2008

Thank you peach3 from Austintown, OH for your most recent review. From your statements, it seems you had a very enjoyable stay while in the St. Augustine/Vilano Beach area. The area of Vilano Beach is great for those individuals that want that layed back feeling. The beach is not as busy as some beaches in our area and yes we do not have that many business within walking distance. St. Augustine is just a short drive and the beach is steps from the hotel. As you mentioned the features and benefits of the hotel are geared towards our guests and we know how important our guests are. Breakfast is were we start our guests off each morning, with a variety of items to choose from. We are pleased that you had the opportunity to enjoy our outdoor areas. The pool and terrace areas are two of our guests favorite place to just kick back and enjoy the surroundings. Again, thanks for taking time out of your schedule to write you comments and we do hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilano Beach
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
849 reviews
2 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#10 of 79 in St. Augustine
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
2.1 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
5.5 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach

Address: 95 Vilano Rd, Vilano Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vilano Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vilano Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Vilano Beach
Price Range: $142 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach hotel is just steps from the sands of beautiful Vilano Beach. Guests enjoy free hot buffet breakfast, free WiFi, outdoor pool, fitness center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine Vilano Beach Hotel Saint Augustine
Hampton Inn And Suites St. Augustine Vilano Beach
Hampton Inn Hotel Oceanside
Hampton Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing