We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
“Very impressed!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Just got back from a delightful stay at the Hampton Inn at Vilano Beach with my daughter and infant granddaughter. Great breakast, beautiful and clean pool, very comfortable bed, and extremely courteous employees. This hotel is very near the beach and a short drive to the historic district, restaurants, etc. I will be back soon! Hopefully the tiki bar will be open on my next visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVilano, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you, kathy b, for your exhilarating review! It is very uplifting for our staff to hear they are doing a great job and we will strive to maintain our service level! We would love to welcome you back to check on our newest improvements still coming! See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    827
    410
    140
    66
    32
See reviews for
477
651
34
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The staff at this Hampton were very nice and efficient and made sure that our requests for a first floor room in a quiet area were well fulfilled. The rooms are spacious with the Hampton bedding that is clean for each guest including the comforter that we really like and we had sliding glass doors with a screen door to a private patio that we really appreciated as we know some of the rooms do not have openable windows, which is a downfall we have encountered in Hamptons. The doors also obviously had sensors on them, so that the AC automatically switched off when they were left open, which we felt was good policy and appreciated not having to do that manually. Then when the doors were closed it automatically came back on and the wall thermostat was much preferred over one on unit and seemed to do a good job of accurate sensing (another problem we have found in some Hamptons.) The rooms were clean and had a goodly # of additional outlet extenders for electronics and a nice little bar area with micro/frig/and sink, altho we wished it also included a small freezer compartment for our "blue ice' for coolers. Plenty of towels and toiletries of decent quality were provided. The only things that we were not completely impressed with, is that it seemed like the patio furniture was a bit worn and the outside grounds were not that well kept, altho the pool area was fine. In general, some areas need a bit of updating it seems, especially since the pricing is of the more "resort" level for the rooms. The breakfast was so-so and not up to the standards of the best Hamptons we have stayed at and the staff tried hard, but had a hard time keeping up with an obviously very crowded motel. The Vilano Beach area was the biggest disappointment as it is kind of run down and unkempt looking and the beach is packed with cars driving up and parking on the beach on the weekend and the beach is very shelly coquina sand with a strong wave break that is not good for young children, although there is an inlet that goes back to the intercoastal that is better for swimming and has some more powdery sand around it at the end of the beach nearest the motel. There are lifeguards, but only "portapotty" facilities there. Do, LOVE, that there is a big new Publix grocery store right across the street from the motel, and that may help to revive the area a bit in the future. It is obvious that they have tried to revive the area with nice sidewalks, plantings, etc. and a wading platform for kids (that was not working) but it just has not been kept up-probably due to funding issues, so a bigger business tax base, sparked by Publix might help.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoosiers525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVilano, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Hoosier525,

Thank you for your review. We are glad our staff and hotel lived up to your expectations. Thank you for your suggestions/comments concerning our patio furniture and grounds. We will consider these as we work to improve our hotel for future visits. It is also our hope that the Vilano area will continue to be improved as well. We look forward to your next visit in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We've been coming to this nice hotel for several years now. The last visit was last October and when we came back recently the lobby appeared a little different. This hotel has always been nice obviously if we've come back several times now. This time the counter for check in was split into two pieces and looked awkward. I believe there was a fountain that was no longer there and the free coffee was moved near the check in counter away from the food area. It looks better in the food area on the round counter top area. More appetizing!

There were two weddings going on and a family reunion the weekend were were there. I'm not sure if the coffee was moved to accommodate the large crowds that congregated in the lobby area. The large crowd is not something a couple wants to see. Nothing against the folks that were in the large groups. This is something the hotel can manage a little better. If a group rents out a banquet room, which I believe they did then that's where the party should be. This goes for any weddings or social groups that may want to stay at the hotel. Of course, people should be allowed to go to the main lobby area and hang out but when there are like 20-25 people it can be a little daunting for the weekend getaway a couple may be looking for. It appears the hotel setup dinner or some type of party in the food/lobby area.

The room bathroom appeared to be refreshed a bit and the room was clean as always for this Hampton. The toilets seems to have a new push button system. It's tougher to push than the standard lever. It looks like they have two options for the types of pressures to use. The overall appearance of the room was very good considering this hotel is putting about 10 years on it now. Good experience as always but the hotel maybe can do better with larger groups and I hope the lobby is not done with any renovations because the last visit looked better than this one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank centflasun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joey M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear centflasun,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review! We are honored that you chose our property again this year. I do apologize that you encountered issues with the groups we had in-house.

I can tell you that we finished the renovations to the lobby last week. We just had photographs taken this week and we will be putting them on our website once they have been processed so that you can see the the final results!

We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Joey M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our family needed a nice beach holiday before our son returned to school, and having been once to the area we looked for a nice hotel on the beach that was affordable and we got all that and more at this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVilano, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear John L,

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope your son has a successful school year and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and I have stayed three times (each stay about a week) at this hotel over the last ten years. The last week of July, 2013, we stayed again for a week. I love the customer service of the front desk people and esp. Reggie Bailey; he has been with hotel since it was built!

The room we were given when we arrived had air conditioning issues; we were told it was on a sensor and would cool down. It didn't. We were upgraded at no additional charge, to a suite, and the air conditioning functioned well. The problem in this room was that it hadn't been cleaned from the last stay. Coffee grounds spilled on the floor, counter tops in each area uncleaned and the carpet throughout hadn't been swept. We reported it to the front desk and they noted it in a book, but no one cleaned those areas the entire time we stayed. They made the bed and restocked supplies but nothing else!

We love this place and St. Augustine. My wife teaches Marketing for the Hospitality Industry, so we can be critical. I hope the new management will sharpen their housekeeping teams so as not to ruin what is a great place otherwise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVilano, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Lou S,

Thank you very much for your comments. We appreciate your remarks concerning the housekeeping issues you had during your stay. The information will help us address the problems and improve service for the future. We hope that your experience will not prevent you from returning and look forward to giving you a better impression of our hotel the next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norris, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Very nice Hampton Inn with oversized room (two doubles) in a great location. We were very close to attractions in Saint Augustine like the lighthouse, Fountain of Youth, and the fort, but not stuck in the hectic traffic of historic district. Basically just a quick walk across the parking lot to the beach. Small fitness room, but good equipment. Large breakfast with excellent, helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Creativetada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joey M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Creativetada,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your review of our property! We are delighted that you enjoyed our amenities, location and service (especially, in breakfast)! We are also glad that you have discovered our little corner of the world.

We look forward to your next visit to Vilano Beach!

Best Regards,

Joey M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Clean rooms, courteous employees, dont stay in the old part of town. This hotel is 2 miles from the historic district. Worth the extra 2 miles! Even though we had a "city view" we could still see the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joey M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

We are so grateful for your business and appreciate your review of our hotel! We are glad that you got to experience the "best of both worlds" when it comes to St. Augustine - the beach and the historic district.

We hope to see you again very soon!

Best Regards,

Joey M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilano Beach
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
5.5 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
853 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#6 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
838 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
731 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
Address: 95 Vilano Rd, Vilano Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vilano Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vilano Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Vilano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach hotel is only 40 steps from the sands of beautiful Vilano Beach. Guests enjoy free hot buffet breakfast, free WiFi, outdoor pool, fitness center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites St. Augustine Vilano Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine Vilano Beach Hotel Saint Augustine
Hampton Inn Hotel Oceanside
Hampton Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing