We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vilano Hampton Inn gets an A+ in my book!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Vilano Hampton Inn gets an A+ in my book!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2008

We just returned home this afternoon from a wonderful vacation which included 4 nights at the Hampton Inn & Suites-St. Augustine/Vilano Beach. All I can say is it is the best overall Hampton experience we have had. Before I continue, let me say that I noticed some of the reviews for this property hidden among the reviews for the Hampton Inn on St. Augustine Beach, so keep this in mind when using reviews as your basis for choosing a property. This is the Hampton Inn & Suites at Vilano Beach in St. Augustine. This hotel is VERY upscale in its appearance as well as amenities offered. ALL of the rooms have refrigerators and microwaves with a small "galley-style" kitchen like what you would find in an Embassy Suites. The room we stayed in had 2 queen-sized beds and was not a suite, but had quite a bit more square footage than the standard Hampton room, which is nice when you are travelling with a family of four (2 teenagers!). Another thing I noticed about the room was the fact that it had 13(!!) electrical outlets (not counting the ones already in use for lamps/tv/etc.)!! Sounds like a strange detail to notice, but when you have 4 cell phones that need charging each night, plus a laptop, etc., its little details like this that make a difference. Prior to our trip, I had checked out the reviews on Trip Advisor, and I was not in any way disappointed. The area where the hotel is located is a quiet, modest, residential area with very little traffic around the hotel other than hotel guests. The beach is easily accessible, and for convenience you can also drive onto the beach, although very few people did while we were there, and "traffic" on the beach is a non-issue. The pool area is absolutely beautiful as well as everything else about the hotel. The area is being revitalized and I will be interested to see what changes are made the next time we visit. We were also delighted to meet Reggie, their famous (through Trip Advisor reviews) breakfast attendant. He is a delightful man and you will NOT believe the service. I have NEVER seen anything close at any other hotel, ever!! He truly enjoys his job and serving others, and it shows. I would venture to say that he alone is responsible for many a return visitor! There is much more that could be said, just wish we were still there!!

  • Liked — microwaves and fridges in every room, large rooms
  • Disliked — I cannot think of a single negative thing.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momoftwoteens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSt_Augustine, Public Relations at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this review, June 20, 2008
Thank you TripAdvisor member from Tennessee for your positive review. The management and staff are given copies of all reviews on Tripadvisor (good or not so good) and your review touches on items that many of us forget that are there, until we need them. We feels that our guest rooms can match up to the best rooms in the country for size and amenities. For the past 6 1/2 years we have tried to make sure all our guests have a pleasant stay while visiting the area and ownership is also committed in maintaining an upscale feeling for those individuals staying with us. Reggie our breakfast host is one of a kind and is there not only to prepare the food, but also serve as many guests as possible. Reggie was also voted Employee of the Year for 2007/08 out of 12,000 other hospitaity individuals in St. Johns County. He displays his award proudly in the breakfast area. We again say thanks for taking time out of your schedule to write your comments and look forward in seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    401
    135
    63
    31
See reviews for
461
636
32
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austintown, OH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2008

We were in St. Augustine for a wedding weekend and liked the location of the Hampton Inn at Vilano Beach so we booked it for 3 nights. It is across the causeway from St. Augustine on the barrier island. Walk out the front door, turn right and you are 500 yards from the beach! The town has just put in new streets and sidewalks in this area, including beautiful stone tile designs on walkways and pavilion. There are not a lot of businesses nearby yet, but St. Augustine is only about 2 miles away. The beach was pretty private most of the time. It is also one of the few places in Florida that allow cars to drive on the beach at certain times. Getting back to the hotel, we found it very clean and nicely appointed. The lobby area is large, with two computer areas with internet access for guest use. A free breakfast is offered, which includes not only pastries, cereals, yogurt and fruit, but also ham and eggs, sausages and biscuits and gravy. There is always a snack offered in the afternoon, such as fresh-baked cookies and lemonade, and an old-fashioned popcorn machine is running daily as well. The pool area is lush with piped in music and a hot tub. There is also a back covered patio area with two wood burning stoves that are lit at night. Guests can gather on the comfortable porch furniture and watch the nearby fountain. The night we sat out there, one of the guests brought out a guitar and played for us.
This hotel was definitely one of the nicest mid-range hotels we have stayed in. If traveling to the St. Augustine/Jacksonville area I would book this hotel again.

  • Liked — Decor and proximity to beach.
  • Disliked — Not many businesses within walking distance.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank peach3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_baird, Public Relations at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this review, May 28, 2008
Thank you peach3 from Austintown, OH for your most recent review. From your statements, it seems you had a very enjoyable stay while in the St. Augustine/Vilano Beach area. The area of Vilano Beach is great for those individuals that want that layed back feeling. The beach is not as busy as some beaches in our area and yes we do not have that many business within walking distance. St. Augustine is just a short drive and the beach is steps from the hotel. As you mentioned the features and benefits of the hotel are geared towards our guests and we know how important our guests are. Breakfast is were we start our guests off each morning, with a variety of items to choose from. We are pleased that you had the opportunity to enjoy our outdoor areas. The pool and terrace areas are two of our guests favorite place to just kick back and enjoy the surroundings. Again, thanks for taking time out of your schedule to write you comments and we do hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2008

My family and I (spouse, 2 girls 12 &9) stayed between May 13 - 17. The hotel was beautiful.

The hotel is not beachfront, but I've never seen it advertised that way. It's only around 50 yards from the beach with 2 access points. One by a wooden walkway and the other by walking on the vehicle access point (road). It's a wonderful beach with lots of shells (my youngest wanted that). We even saw some dolphins from the beach.

Breakfast was typical Hampton. For people that haven't stayed in Hamptons, it's a lot better than a typical continental breakfast but not as nice as an Embassy Suites breakfast. But hey, it's free and it's something they don't have to do. Stay in a full service hotel and you don't get anything free.

Our bathroom had some issues. The tub surface was peeling and you could tell it really needed some updating. Other than that, the hotel was wonderful. Amy was a ton of help when I kept asking her questions about restaurants and other local information.

I had a nice talk with John Baird, Sales, and he informed me what all the construction was for and showed me drawings of what the area will look like when competed. It looks like it will be a new destination point which will be nice because some of the Vilano beach area is very run down.

I would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — Closeness to the beach, being away from hussle and bussle.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kkitelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_baird, Public Relations at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this review, May 22, 2008
Thank you kkitelin from Kansas City for your recent review. It certainly was our pleasure having you and your family stay with us and I am pleased that you all enjoyed your stay. In reference to the bathtubs, we do have a maintenance schedule to have all the tub re-done, so that we won't have the peeling issue. Amy has been a real asset to us, as she is very helpful informing our guests of great places to enjoy. Yes, our breakfast is standard for all Hampton Inn's and yes it free. I too enjoyed our conversation in reference our future town center. It may take a few years in the making, however it will be quite the destination. Thank you again for taking time out of your schedule to share you comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2008

When you book "ocean view" rooms, you get a view of heavy construction equipment, with ocean in the far away distance. Hotel does not have beachfront. Water pipes were very noisy, as was the morning construction outside. Also, the neighbors' sliding patio doors were extremely noisy and sounded like thunder during the night. Oddly, there was no access to sidewalk out front. The free breakfast was fairly terrible, but wonderful breakfast staff with charming English accent. The tall wall in the courtyard does pretty good job of hiding the delapidated residential house behind hotel. Staff was very nice and helpful. Great exercise room.

  • Liked — Very helpful staff.
  • Disliked — Very limited access to good beaches.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank timlexington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_baird, Public Relations at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this review, May 19, 2008
Thank you TripAdvisor member from Nashville, TN. for your most recent review. The hotel has tried very hard to advise our guests that the hotel is not oceanfront or on the ocean. We have been very careful not to make guests feel that they have a room right on the beach. The beach is approximately 50 yards from the property. This information is in our printed material and on our website. We do apologize if we gave you the wrong impression. The sliding glass doors that face the ocean are being replace in the near future. As you mention the breakfast was not up to your satisfaction, however it is the standard breakfast of all Hampton's through out the country. We are very please with our staff as you were. They are alway couteous and friendly. We do appreciate your concerns and if you have any other suggestions, please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2008

I enjoyed my stay at the Hampton Inn, its a few steps to the beach and a very short drive to Old Town, St Augustine. The room was always very clean and the breakfast area every morning was well attended and stocked. The food was quite tasty as well. All the employees were helpful and friendly.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank elguapo_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_baird, Public Relations at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this review, May 2, 2008
Thank you elguapo_8 for your recent review. The staff and management is pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our housekeeping staff makes every effort to see to it, that our guest rooms are clean and comfortable. A good and well balanced breakfast is also a key element in keeping our guests satisfied. As you mentioned, our location is perfect for guests who prefer either the beach or touring downtown St. Augustine. Thank you again for taking time out of your schedule to share your comments with our readers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2008

Spent a weekend at this very clean and "new" feeling hotel near Saint Augustine, Florida. It passes all but one test --- the pool was cold which stopped the guests from swimming since the weather was cool during the weekend I was there. The guests did use the hot tub which was comfortable. Otherwise, the hotel is the best place for all fussy customers to stay. The employees are friendly and helpful. The hotel has an upscale feel throughout the property. The rooms are fairly large and the breakfast buffet is done very well. If visiting historic St. Augustine it is about a 5 - 10 minute drive to get to the historical district; and the hotel is about 200 feet from the beach. In summary, you will be happy if you stay at this hotel.

  • Liked — very clean and "new" feel
  • Disliked — pool was cold
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank familymanfromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_baird, Public Relations at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this review, April 4, 2008
Thank you TripAdvisor from Ohio for your recent review of the hotel. Even though the hotel is over 6 years old, the management and staff have continued to keep it looking like new. The hotel swimming pool like many others in Florida is not hearted and we do apologize for that. Our many benefits and features make our guests feel that they are getting more for their dollars. The staff is very friendly and helpful towards our guests and that makes our guest feel pleased. As our saying goes "Minutes to downtown and steps to the Beach" makes everyone happy. Thank you again for your time in writing your review. We look forward in seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness,FL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2008

This hotel is very nice and very clean. We had a room on the 3rd floor over looking the ocean. The balcony are great, but the sliding doors need to be fixed. The room next to our sounded like a "train" every time they opened the door (which was a lot and at all hours of the night...most likey smokers) Over all this is a great hotel just fix the doors...oh I almost forgot please stop using styrofoam dishes for breakfest they are not enviromently friendly, my wife and I choose not to use stryofoam, as I sure many other do also.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Fix those sliding doors
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank cleansheets352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_baird, Public Relations at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this review, April 4, 2008
Thank you TripAdvisor from Inverness Fl., for you review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, with the exception of the sliding glass door (next room over) being opened and closed through out the night. We are in the process of getting all the slider fixed over the next couple of months. The breakfast plates and bowls are a standard for all Hampton Inns and we are unable to change this at this time. March 2, 2007 the hotel was certified as a Green Lodging Establishment by the State of Florida and we continue to make progress in making the hotel more enviromently sound. We do appreciate your comments and the time you took to write them and we do look forward in seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilano Beach
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
5.5 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach Inn
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach...
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
Address: 95 Vilano Rd, Vilano Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vilano Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vilano Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Vilano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach hotel is only 40 steps from the sands of beautiful Vilano Beach. Guests enjoy free hot buffet breakfast, free WiFi, outdoor pool, fitness center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine Vilano Beach Hotel Saint Augustine
Hampton Inn And Suites St. Augustine Vilano Beach
Hampton Inn Hotel Oceanside
Hampton Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing