We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“beautiful hotel”
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We had a great stay at the Hampton.We had our family of four in one spacious room at this very beautiful Hampton Inn.We loved staying across the bay from old Saint Augustine.We arrived an hour before check-in,but they checked us right in.We dropped off the bags and headed across the parking lot to the beach.It was late February,but it was 82 and sunny.This was a beach where you can drive your vehicle and park.This did not deter from a great beach day.The waves were great!
The hotel pool and grounds were clean and cozy.I enjoyed the patio behind the pool where they had couches and chairs.Very relaxing.The drive over to old saint augustine was about 5 minutes.We found no problems with parking.The hotel was very clean and roomy.

We only encountered one problem or unprofessional service.My older son and I went down to breakfast,which had a very big selection.There were 3 tables of guests and two tables with dollar bills on them.Now being a waitress and a former hotel breakfast waitress I know about this practice.These two tables had this money on them for hours? Tacky ladies really! When you stand in the doorway surveying your guests really watch them because if you really want to give good service you just have to be nice, warm and friendly! None of these were shown to any guests in the hour I was there.I did appreciate one of the two ladies helping me unstick my waffle,after I was struggling for 2 minutes trying to loosen it,but did not appreciate the other one telling my son they had no spray for the machine!WHAT!Ladies I watched you see people struggling with these waffle machines and not once did you offer any help or spray!.You had spray in the drawer,why would you hide it and not help anyone?You did refill the breakfast items but really,your overall service was not very good.You should pick up the bills once in a while to not be soooo obvious.I still am a little miffed at myself for tipping you anything,but as a waitress I always do but you would have been tipped so much more.No class ladies,you make us professionals look bad.
The hotel is beautiful and the rest of the staff is awesome.Just that one bad incident left a bad memory of what is an awesome hotel!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ateems, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this review, April 3, 2011
Dear joryanbob4,
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, but we are dissappointed to hear that your breakfast experience was not as great. We are grateful to receive feedback on areas that we may improve our service and truly appreciate your candor. We hope that when you return to Saint Augustine, you will choose our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    410
    143
    66
    33
See reviews for
484
654
33
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2011

This was my second time visiting the Hampton Inn. Both visits were outstanding. Clean rooms, very friendly and accommodating staff. Breakfast is served by Reggie, who prepares and has everything ready for a hot, fast breakfast. He was wonderful! I recommended this hotel if you are visiting the area of "charming" St. augustine.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmccor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ateems, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this review, March 24, 2011
Dear emmccor,
Awesome stays are what we strive to provide! Our staff is committed to providing our guests with a great visit to Saint Augustine and the beach here at Vilano. Reggie is truly a gem; his charm and spirit of hospitality are rare and wonderful qualities. We are so pleased that you have chosen us twice and we hope that you continue to choose us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2011

I had really high hopes for this hotel and they were just completely unmet. It was mostly due to the agents on duty. All were very rude and had no inclination to even just talk to their guests. We checked in and asked the agent about the weather and she could not have been more rude or short with us. As we were leaving the hotel another agent was dealing with an unruly guest on the phone and began cursing and yelling herself!! In front of guests at the front desk! I actually have 3 years of
Hospitality experience and a bachelors in hospitality management and I was in shock that management let's their agents talk like this in front of guests. Will I be returning?? No way!!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danishep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ateems, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this review, April 3, 2011
Dear danishep,
We are truly sorry that you had such a negative experience at our hotel. Thank you for allowing me to get more information regarding your stay through e-mail. We truly appreciate your feedback and we hope that we may have the opportunity to rectify our shortcomings during your stay. Please contact us personally if you have any additional comments or concerns. The phone number to the hotel is 904-827-9797.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Satisfactory room in chain hotel. Beach is a short walk. It's full of shells, birds, and delightful walking.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ateems, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this review, March 24, 2011
Dear Matthew10:8,
Thank you for your contribution to our comments section. We appreciate our guests providing other TripAdvisor users with any additional information regarding our hotel and its location. Please come and visit us again during your next trip to Saint Augustine/Vilano Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Wife and I spent 3 nights there in February. We lucked out with the weather - for all but 1 day it was at least 70 during the day. We had one of the rooms with a balcony overlooking the beach. When we arrived I noticed the screen door on the slider to the balcony had rusted badly, and they had it replaced by the next morning. It was great to sleep to the sound of the surf. Bed looked a bit banged-up, but was very comfortable. We had a whirlpool bath in the unit that looked like it had seen better days, but it did feel good after walking around St Augustine all day. The location's OK with the beach right there, but it's about 1.5 - 2 miles across the bridge to the Fountain Of Youth park, another mile or so beyond to Old Town. We walked it a couple of times because we like to walk, but keep the distance in mind. There is a very nice outdoor pool area.The free breakfast in the morning was better than the typical free breakfast (genuine bacon strips!), made even more so by the affable British gent who sees over it in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaddioBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ateems, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
Dear DaddioBoston,
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay in Saint Augustine/Vilano Beach. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to have you both stay with us again on your next visit to our amazing city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

My spouse had to attend a conference and asked me to come along w/the kids for a little getaway. Of course I immediately began compulsive research on available lodging, because I really hate wasting vacation time and dollars on a so-so experience....especially if you find out later you could've done better.

I really don't think you'll feel you could've done better; at least for us, our stay was great. The hotel has a perpendicular orientation to the beach, and the boardwalk access to the beach is just a very short stroll across the side parking lot. From the 3rd floor, we could still see the ocean; however, because of the orientation of the hotel their ocean view rooms would clearly be limited.

Very comfortable room, clean, nicely appointed in the manner of Hampton Inns, mini microwave & an under-counter fridge plus a bar sink and a couple cabinets in the kitchenette-ish area. There was a desk & chair plus a comfortable easy chair with ottoman. It didn't have the lack of elbow room I've felt in some hotels we've stayed in. Important with two young teens and their stuff all over the place.

Front lobby is attractive and the breakfast area seemed spacious and comfortable. Coffee was available 24/7 it seemed, and for any half-n-half lovers out there, they have the real deal, not that fake junk (sorry to those who like the fake junk). They also offered flavored creamers. Breakfast spread was good and pretty well kept up. Something for everyone, thank goodness. The only improvement might be to add donuts but they already have a wide range of offerings.

All my interactions with staff members were quite pleasant.

It's a bit removed from the historice district, but in a way that's nice, giving the vacation a mixed experience. There was no problem for us with parking in St. Augustine; however, I should note the time of the year and the fact it was c-c-c-c-old may've had a role in that....I can't say for sure. The drive over to St. A is very short and kind of pretty as you go over a bridge that spans the water of I think it was Matanzas Bay.

A very solid choice . There is an "old Florida" style motel across the street, looks like it's not in business and probably heading to eventual demolition to make room for a modern hotel. If you'd find that a horrible sight, you might not like the view. We, on the other hand, found the giant pink flamingo on the roof sort of a quaint glimpse of an earlier time.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank autma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ateems, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Dear autma,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel. We appreciate all of your compliments and we will definitely consider your suggestion to add doughnuts to our breakfast! We are happy to hear that we were able to accommodate your family for both business and pleasure during your stay. Our hotel believes that just because you're in Saint Augustine on business doesn't mean you can't have a little fun while you're here! We hope to see you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2011

This Hampton Inn provides a great beach location and an easy drive into St. Augustine for touring and dining. Resort was low-key, relaxing and fun. The front desk staff is helpful, knowledgeable and can be relied upon for good local recommendations and information.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank as06122014j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ateems, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Dear beachgoer040,
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hampton Inn and Suites-Vilano Beach. Our staff truly enjoys sharing recommendations with our guests, in hopes that each visitor gets to experience our amazing city as the locals do. Anytime we hear that our favorites were our guest's favorites, we are genuinly excited to have helped create new memories during their vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilano Beach
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#6 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,310 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
865 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
842 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
Address: 95 Vilano Rd, Vilano Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vilano Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Vilano Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vilano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach hotel is only 40 steps from the sands of beautiful Vilano Beach. Guests enjoy free hot buffet breakfast, free WiFi, outdoor pool, fitness center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine Vilano Beach Hotel Saint Augustine
Hampton Inn And Suites St. Augustine Vilano Beach
Hampton Inn Hotel Oceanside
Hampton Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing