We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (464)
Filter reviews
464 results
Traveler rating
218
147
49
27
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
218
147
49
27
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach across the street boogie boards two lane road no elevator small hotel ocean side room was clean make your own waffles bagels st augustine free breakfast enjoyed our stay quiet area would stay here again hot breakfast historic district
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 464 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2019 via mobile

We never stayed there, we asked friend to check it out prior to our vist in june 2019 , We thought it was on the beach, but from what we where told, it’s across a very busy highway just imagine trying to cross a interstate , impossible! So we canceled the reservations and move on to another hotel! Of course they couldnt cancel it there. We had to go through the travel site we booked them on! Which that gave us a run around! But eventually we got it canceled! But heres a thought if we book a hotel no matter whom we book it through, why not have the ability to cancle it at the hotel versus being passed around from one company to another to another!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSBI-Management, Manager at Ocean Sands Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2019

Mike L,

I am sorry to hear that you cancelled your reservation and never actually stayed with us. I know that going through the process of canceling a reservation through an online travel agency (OTA) can be trying at times. When a guest reserves a room through an OTA, the reservation exists in two places. One at the hotel and one with the OTA. Even if we cancel the reservation in our system, it still exists in OTA because we do not have control of their systems. There is in fact a two lane coastal road that intersects our property. We have never concealed this in any way. We do not claim to be beach front, or that our hotel sits directly on the sand. The beach is part of our property and guests have a private access to it. To state that the road is similar to an "interstate" is simply inaccurate. Can traffic be heavy at times, sure. But, the walk to the beach for our guests is far shorter than any other I am aware of in Saint Augustine. No to mention the fact that our beach prohibits all vehicle traffic. Our perspective is that we would rather worry about traffic walking to the beach rather than worrying about traffic while we are relaxing and playing on the beach.

-OSBI Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2019

Great location in a residential area away from busy downtown/historic district. Breakfast room is extremely small; actually the smallest I've ever encountered. Our room was comfortable and the bed/pillows were great. Our view was 2nd floor, wetlands. You don't want 1st floor, wetlands. Cars parallel park right in front of your sliding glass door. No view! Inn needs renovation.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2019

Kayla was so receptive at check-in! We just stayed the night, but were pleased to find fresh, new linens & carpet, a clean room and pleasant balcony overlooking the beach. All of the amenities like the iron/ironing board, coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator, as well as the table for two and convertible sofa, side tables and lamps made this corner King unit a surprising find.

Room tip: Just know that beach view overlooks highway that is well trafficked.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DayTrip776712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2019 via mobile

The location was the main draw for us with Ocean Sands. It’s in a quiet area that is pretty remote from the bustle of the city, and has access to an incredible beach. Unfortunately the road lies between Ocean Sands and the beach so you will have to cross the street which can be challenging at times since there is no crosswalk to get to the beach access. The hotel is also a fairly short drive to Downtown, and the historic areas.

The room was very clean and we had no complaints about any of the furnishings, not luxurious but it was perfect for our trip! Shampoo, conditioner, soap, and lotion were provided. The staff was helpful in answering all of our questions during our stay. We had five people in our room and they were extremely helpful in providing a trundle bed for our extra guest.

Recommend this hotel if you’re not stuck on staying in downtown and are looking for a beach trip while in St Augustine.

Thanks for a great trip!!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank ScottS728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2019 via mobile

This Hotel’s greatest claim to fame in my opinion, are it’s staff. The front desk personnel were outgoing and very helpful. The ladies cleaning the rooms were very efficient and accommodating. The lady assisting in the “dining room” was available to help with any need. In other words Ocean Sands Beach Inn Staff are top notch. Our room was lovely and very clean and as we had requested a 2nd floor Ocean View room, we had a great view of the beautiful Villano Beach from our private balcony. However, as you are literally a stones throw from the scenic A1A, the traffic was heavy and noisy, which means if you desire quiet you must keep the balcony door closed even if the weather is lovely. (We did eventually get use to the traffic and noise. And it lessened as the night wore on.) If you like a Super Firm mattress you will LOVE the bed, but I recommend you bring your own pillows. They are firm too. The hotel is in need of some TLC. Our door was missing a gasket which meant we we able to clearly hear the conversation in the hall and the children playing. A better than average continental breakfast is served from 7am-10am in the dining room, but it is such a minuscule room that it is difficult to get around the tables. As there are only 4 inside tables it would be nice if trays were provided so that food could be taken back to the rooms.
I believe in finishing a review on a positive note.This hotel is situated so that it offers it’s lodgers a beautiful beachfront to walk along and shell; Or just sit and read or swim in the warmer months. Will we return? Probably not. But it won’t be because of the staff, they are superb.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews