We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Summer Camp for Adults”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Milford House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Milford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Milford House
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Summer Camp for Adults”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

My spouse and I recently stayed here for two nights. The property is reminiscent of summer camp, with a large main lodge, a tuck shop, and many rustic cabins situated around the lakes. The cabins themselves are very primitive with running water available only in the bathroom. Dishes are supplied, but not pots and pans so if you plan to bring a coleman stove to cook your own meals, bring along these items as well. Firewood is provided on each cabin's porch. The cabin, although very primitive with open beams and plywood walls, was very clean and equipped with extra blankets and pillows available for those chilly nights.

Despite the daylong down pour, we enjoyed the hiking trails. It is well worth it to rent a canoe and explore the many lake on the property. A group of baby turtles hatched while we were there and we had fun helping them cross the road in to the river.

The staff at the main lodge were friendly and pleasant. Given the cost of the cabin for the amenities provided, you could definitely get more elsewhere for your money. However, if you are willing to pay more for a very rustic experience, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    13
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

My family and I have been steady annual guests (2-3 trips per year) at Milford House for five years. The natural beauty of the setting, the freedom for the kids and our love of canoeing kept drawing us back. We don't mind the rustic cabins and up until this year the meals have been fine. However after only one trip this summer season we are debating whether we will ever go back. Mis-management has meant the departure of key long term staff who created an atmosphere of warm valley hospitality. Now the service is in decline, the welcome not warm, and the family fun atmosphere disintegrating.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 70Traveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valr60, Manager at Milford House, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Milford House has undergone a change in management, as of Feb 2013. It is the new management team's intent to make sure EVERYONE has the best possible vacation experience.
A return to the old fashion style of warmth and hospitality is our mission.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Loved the rustic nature of the SIkes cabin - lots of hot water, dry firewood and kindling, clean throughout and fresh linen.
Having the lake 4 steps from the porch was wonderful.
The others who share the recent Labour Day weekend were a pleasure to be with.
My highest regards to the staff, friendly, patient, kind and caring.
Once is definitely not enough, we are planning to reserve for next year already!

Room Tip: Reserve early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carsalesguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Excellent place to relax by the edge of the lakes for a family vacation that is a real vacation for the whole family. Our 13 members of family just spent another week "together" and fun was had by all. My husband and I had our usual cabin "Grier" named for the original family that used it in the 1930's, our son and his family of five had "Blodgett" also on the lake with its own dock, and our daughter and her family of 4 enjoyed "Colonel" a cute cabin with lake access on two sides. Each cabin has its own dock and fireplace, and housekeeping comes daily to make the beds and sweep the cabin. Delicious breakfast and dinners at the main lodge make Milford House a delightful place for all family members. Lots of time to relax, read, paddle, swim and actually talk to each other. No TV, internet or phones in the cabins make it a wonderful peaceful place. (Free Internet is available at the main Lodge for those who want it.)

For me Milford House is a perfect way to enjoy the woods with all the comforts and pleasures of a rustic resort. We first visited Milford House in 1970 and I still get a kick every summer when we turn on to cabin road.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Outofthepast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis Royal, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We enjoyed 3 nights for our 10 year anniversary at the end of June.Being able to wake in a rustic cabin, walk 50ft to my dock and paddle to the lodge for breakfast was a neat experience. We spent hours on the water paddling with our Duck Tollers in pursuit. I think we were in 4 different lakes, carried over a beaver dam and saw loons at every turn. If you choose to avoid the urge to sightsee in the surrounding area you will be rewarded; the place seems quite deserted all day which was just great for us! Pack as if you are going to the beach or camping for the day, ie. Sprays, candles, drink cozies, snacks, cooler full of ice, a very small CD player(if U care for tunes in the wild-mind the volume as it carries a long way over the lake), extra towels, a tie out if you bring the dog- a floating pool chair would have been awesome for the lake- next time!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ComRef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

This place is located in one of the most beautiful settings in Nova Scotia but unfortunately they haven't kept things up. It has such potential but it's obvious they aren't updating anything but merely trying to get as much $$ out of what remains. The cabins are outdated and border on unsafe (in my opinion) - wiring looks shotty, 24" centers for framing that is with 2x4's. I really don't know how they can remain open. That said, truly quaint settings in the woods with each cabin having it's own dock.

the meal plan, don't bother. The food was poor. Obvious they don't have a chef on staff but someone who took a food prep course and knows how to make food in quantities. They claim to use vegetables from their own gardens....obviously not true. My meal was tasteless and although plentiful couldn't bare to eat much of it. The brownie my husband got for dessert was crystalized - like fudge, not brownie. If you can't make a brownie....that's saying something.

We enjoyed canoeing and seeing the loons. Was tranquil and a true get away. Not sure how much longer the place will remain standing. Sad.

Room Tip: As for a cabin secluded - otherwise you're bunched up in a public area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jfarmer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

It's quite a dreamy place. Somewhere between memories of summer camp, the family cottage with the beauty of "On Golden Pond". Each cottage is different yet all are infinitely inviting. Some are very tiny, very suitable for a solo get away while others are quite sizable - wrapped with big decks furnished with hammocks and big wooden chairs - ideal for big family reunions. The beds are new and comfy. Firewood is plentiful and stacked by your door. There's a lake out front and another out back with not a speed boat or sea-doo in sight. Not all the cottages have full kitchens - I'd bring a hotplate along if I wanted to do any cooking. But who wants to cook when the dining is so fine at the main lodge? Ah yes - the main lodge - a throw back to a kinder gentler time with books to borrow and spacious rooms in which to socialise on those cooler rainier days but also supplied with wi-fi so you're not totally out of the loop. Food? Simple, delicious fare served with big smiles. Is this place rustic? definitely, but far from primitive. Comfortable? absolutely. Would I go back? Oh yes!

Room Tip: The cabins closer to the main lodge are better for families, closer to the main beach and a big play...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wroxeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Milford
18.4 mi away
Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
12.6 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
3.1 mi away
Tranquil Times B&B
Tranquil Times B&B
#1 of 9 in Annapolis Royal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa
15.5 mi away
The Whitman Inn
The Whitman Inn
#1 of 1 in Kempt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hillsdale House Inn
Hillsdale House Inn
#2 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milford House

Property: Milford House
Address: 5296 Highway #8, South Milford | RR #4 Annapolis Royal, South Milford, Nova Scotia B0S 1A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > South Milford
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in South Milford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing