We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service in decline, slipping off my favorites list.”
Review of Milford House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Milford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Milford House
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My family and I have been steady annual guests (2-3 trips per year) at Milford House for five years. The natural beauty of the setting, the freedom for the kids and our love of canoeing kept drawing us back. We don't mind the rustic cabins and up until this year the meals have been fine. However after only one trip this summer season we are debating whether we will ever go back. Mis-management has meant the departure of key long term staff who created an atmosphere of warm valley hospitality. Now the service is in decline, the welcome not warm, and the family fun atmosphere disintegrating.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 70Traveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valr60, Manager at Milford House, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Milford House has undergone a change in management, as of Feb 2013. It is the new management team's intent to make sure EVERYONE has the best possible vacation experience.
A return to the old fashion style of warmth and hospitality is our mission.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 72 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

Loved the rustic nature of the SIkes cabin - lots of hot water, dry firewood and kindling, clean throughout and fresh linen.
Having the lake 4 steps from the porch was wonderful.
The others who share the recent Labour Day weekend were a pleasure to be with.
My highest regards to the staff, friendly, patient, kind and caring.
Once is definitely not enough, we are planning to reserve for next year already!

Room Tip: Reserve early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carsalesguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Excellent place to relax by the edge of the lakes for a family vacation that is a real vacation for the whole family. Our 13 members of family just spent another week "together" and fun was had by all. My husband and I had our usual cabin "Grier" named for the original family that used it in the 1930's, our son and his family of five had "Blodgett" also on the lake with its own dock, and our daughter and her family of 4 enjoyed "Colonel" a cute cabin with lake access on two sides. Each cabin has its own dock and fireplace, and housekeeping comes daily to make the beds and sweep the cabin. Delicious breakfast and dinners at the main lodge make Milford House a delightful place for all family members. Lots of time to relax, read, paddle, swim and actually talk to each other. No TV, internet or phones in the cabins make it a wonderful peaceful place. (Free Internet is available at the main Lodge for those who want it.)

For me Milford House is a perfect way to enjoy the woods with all the comforts and pleasures of a rustic resort. We first visited Milford House in 1970 and I still get a kick every summer when we turn on to cabin road.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Outofthepast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We enjoyed 3 nights for our 10 year anniversary at the end of June.Being able to wake in a rustic cabin, walk 50ft to my dock and paddle to the lodge for breakfast was a neat experience. We spent hours on the water paddling with our Duck Tollers in pursuit. I think we were in 4 different lakes, carried over a beaver dam and saw loons at every turn. If you choose to avoid the urge to sightsee in the surrounding area you will be rewarded; the place seems quite deserted all day which was just great for us! Pack as if you are going to the beach or camping for the day, ie. Sprays, candles, drink cozies, snacks, cooler full of ice, a very small CD player(if U care for tunes in the wild-mind the volume as it carries a long way over the lake), extra towels, a tie out if you bring the dog- a floating pool chair would have been awesome for the lake- next time!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ComRef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This place is located in one of the most beautiful settings in Nova Scotia but unfortunately they haven't kept things up. It has such potential but it's obvious they aren't updating anything but merely trying to get as much $$ out of what remains. The cabins are outdated and border on unsafe (in my opinion) - wiring looks shotty, 24" centers for framing that is with 2x4's. I really don't know how they can remain open. That said, truly quaint settings in the woods with each cabin having it's own dock.

the meal plan, don't bother. The food was poor. Obvious they don't have a chef on staff but someone who took a food prep course and knows how to make food in quantities. They claim to use vegetables from their own gardens....obviously not true. My meal was tasteless and although plentiful couldn't bare to eat much of it. The brownie my husband got for dessert was crystalized - like fudge, not brownie. If you can't make a brownie....that's saying something.

We enjoyed canoeing and seeing the loons. Was tranquil and a true get away. Not sure how much longer the place will remain standing. Sad.

Room Tip: As for a cabin secluded - otherwise you're bunched up in a public area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jfarmer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

It's quite a dreamy place. Somewhere between memories of summer camp, the family cottage with the beauty of "On Golden Pond". Each cottage is different yet all are infinitely inviting. Some are very tiny, very suitable for a solo get away while others are quite sizable - wrapped with big decks furnished with hammocks and big wooden chairs - ideal for big family reunions. The beds are new and comfy. Firewood is plentiful and stacked by your door. There's a lake out front and another out back with not a speed boat or sea-doo in sight. Not all the cottages have full kitchens - I'd bring a hotplate along if I wanted to do any cooking. But who wants to cook when the dining is so fine at the main lodge? Ah yes - the main lodge - a throw back to a kinder gentler time with books to borrow and spacious rooms in which to socialise on those cooler rainier days but also supplied with wi-fi so you're not totally out of the loop. Food? Simple, delicious fare served with big smiles. Is this place rustic? definitely, but far from primitive. Comfortable? absolutely. Would I go back? Oh yes!

Room Tip: The cabins closer to the main lodge are better for families, closer to the main beach and a big play...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wroxeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

If you are looking for a 'great escape' back to nature - this is it! Rustic cabins right on the lake with a private dock and a canoe at your beckon call. Wonderful farmhouse style meals served. Great hiking on site (or travel 20 minutes to Keji National Park) or go explore historic Annapolis Royal - also 15 minutes away. Beautiful grounds at Milford House, safe for kids and seniors alike. Very quiet and peaceful - a great get away from city life!

Room Tip: Pick a suitable size cabin for your needs and then go for the more private ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Milford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milford House

Address: 5296 Highway #8, South Milford | RR #4 Annapolis Royal, South Milford, Nova Scotia B0S 1A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > South Milford
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in South Milford
Price Range: $121 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing