We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation and family reunion we could have imagined!”
Review of Lost Valley Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sedalia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lost Valley Ranch
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sedalia
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best vacation and family reunion we could have imagined!”
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We had a family reunion with 22 people at the ranch and it was absolute perfection. We had ages 6 years to 70 years and everyone loved it there. The scenery at the ranch was breathtaking. The staff is the most friendly, warm and kind group I have ever experienced. Everyone from the owners to the kid superviors, to the wranglers to the waitresses to the mainenance people and administrative staff went above and beyond to make sure we were happy. Our kids were very well-supervised but were also able to roam the ranch freely while the adults got some time on their own. We loved the riding, but also the fact that we could go hiking, fly-fishing, trap-shooting or just sit by the pool or read on our porch swing. The food was delicious and plentiful. (We were surprised when we got home that we had gained a few pounds after having been so active!) We will definitely be returning and would highly recommend the ranch to anyone looking to unplug from the world, relax and spend time together in a welcoming and beautiful place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    0
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
104
20
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Lost Valley Ranch was first visited by us in 2003, when our boys were 8 and 5. We attended the final week of their summer session and have signed up for that same week every year since. Some of the same families come back year after year. We trust the staff so much that our boys have the freedom to have the run of the ranch without our having to worry about their safety. In spite of the ups and downs of the economy, the Foster family has stayed true to their mission and their standards of excellence; in stead of skimping, we see continuous improvement each year. The horseback riding is the best we have experienced in North America. The scenery takes your breath away.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

As my 4 year old said on her first trip to Lost Valley, "This is the BEST place EVER!" My parents took me to Lost Valley as a child in the mid1980s, and I was thrilled to take my own children there this summer for the first time. Very little has changed there in the last 25 years, which makes this such a memorable experience. Spending time at Lost Valley is like no other vacation you'll ever take. It's one of the only places left where you can feel free letting your children run free and allow them to experience freedom. After a week there the staff and other guests feel like your extended family. This ranch is on the American Plan, so your room, meals, horseback riding, and most other activities are included in the price--extras include fly fishing classes, massage, skeet shooting, and family photos.

Accommodations are in 1-3 bedroom cabins with ceiling fans. Each cabin is very homey and decorated with a western/cowboy/outdoorsy theme. The living area of each cabin contains a mini-fridge, fireplace (with plenty of wood supplied on the front porch), coffee maker, CD player, and 1-2 pullout sofas. Our family of five (kids ages 10, 7, and 4) fit very comfortably into a 1-bedroom cabin. The front porch swing was one of our favorite places at the ranch!

Meals were delicious and filling. The breads and desserts made by the on-site baker were incredible. The homemade raspberry jam was delicious! Breakfasts were cooked to order from a menu most mornings---eggs, omelettes, bacon, sausage, ham, pancakes, waffles, toast, hash browns, fruits, cold cereals, oatmeal, fresh breakfast bread (changes daily), yogurt, etc. Some lunches and dinners are served as buffets but most give you two plated options from which to choose. Don't like the choices? No problem--the kitchen staff is extremely accommodating and very flexible. There is a kids' menu from which the young ones can choose (unless they are at a separate kids' meal)--grilled cheese, burger, chicken fingers, etc. Our favorite meal by far was the barbecue dinner on Friday evening! If the meals don't fill you up, there is an old-fashioned soda fountain open throughout the day where you can get a milkshake, soda, candy, etc. to hold you over until the next meal.

From Memorial Day to Labor Day, guests stay from Sunday to Sunday. A full children's (ages 3-12) and teens' program are run. During this time children can spend from 9:15 a.m. to 4 p.m. with their "kiddie sups" most days, if you choose, or you can choose to have them with you. Morning and afternoon trail rides are taken most days (ages 6 and up) with an occasional afternoon off for tubing down Goose Creek or a swimming party. Thursday the kids take an all-day ride to a swimming hole. Most days there is also a separate supervised kids' lunch or dinner offered to allow parents some time for adult conversation. Children from age 3-5 can ride their horse around the corral and spend their days around the ranch property doing crafts and activities around a different theme each day. Despite no TVs or cell phone reception, our children were never at a loss for things to do. We've only been home for a few days, and they are already begging to return. There is also family-friendly nightly entertainment offered during the summer months--square dancing, melodrama & ice cream social, programs, etc. Babysitting is available, for an additional hourly fee, for children 2 and younger during the daily rides as well as on some evenings.

Adults can choose to ride on either or both morning and afternoon rides daily through the surrounding Pike National Forest. The surroundings are breath-taking! Despite the change in the scenery caused by the Hayman Fire of 2002, rides at Lost Valley are still amazing. (I almost like them better as you can see so much more now that the trees are gone.) If you are not a horse person, there are lots of other activities as well--numerous hiking trails (and some staff-led hikes), fly fishing classes, hot tubs, pool & sunbathing deck, a stocked fishing pond, etc.

The collegiate staff on site are like no other. They are exactly the type of people I want my kids to become--wholesome, well-mannered, responsible, hard-working! The level of care and interest they take in their guests is exemplary.

I cannot say enough good things about Lost Valley. It truly is a vacation not to be missed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StLouisMom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

It is hard to imagine a better run, better equipped, better staffed, family-focused vacation destination. The philosophy and business model developed by the Foster family and the execution thereof, are clearly exceptional. The staff does an outstanding job of catering to all ages and needs. If you only go to one dude ranch in your lifetime, you can't go wrong by choosing Lost Valley. Nancy and Joe Schmitt

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gandy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Visiting Lost Valley is like stepping back in time to a wholesome family run ranch. Located about 75 minutes outside Denver, 9 miles off a dirt road in the middle of Pikes Peak National Park, the scenery is breathtaking, with skies so blue it looks fake. This was the second year in a row we took my sons away from the big city . My kids (Ages 5, 8 and 11) were in tears when we left because this experience is really like no other. Everyone is assigned a horse for the week and kids stay in supervised groups with kids their own age and the MOST amazing staff you can every ask for. Adults ride, swim, hike or just relax. No cell phone service at all here! The food is excellent (no alcohol or sodas), the accomodations are comfortable private cabins and the scenery is breathtaking.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa-JetsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2010

I have been going to Lost Valley for 9 years. I do not think I will ever stop. I have been to resorts that cost $1,000. per night that cannot compare to Lost Valley in terms of the rest, fun and adventure that Lost Valley provides. The staff is amazing, riding is great no matter what level of rider, food is great and the other guests become great friends at the end of your stay. I honestly can say the only bad thing about Lost Valley is that is too far away for me to visit more often!! Go for a visit, you will not be sorry!!!

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank rlh61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Joy, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Beautiful scenery, friendly people, great food, fun horse trails and ranglers!!!! Cabins are beautiful and immaculate. OOOOOOO - AAHHHHHH!!!! Join the fun!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kobinator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedalia
20.1 mi away
Woodland Park Country Lodge
Woodland Park Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in Woodland Park
209 reviews
18.9 mi away
Pikes Peak Paradise Bed and Breakfast
24.4 mi away
The Outlook Lodge
The Outlook Lodge
#1 of 2 in Green Mountain Falls
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Eagle Fire Lodge & Cabins
Eagle Fire Lodge & Cabins
#3 of 6 in Woodland Park
115 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Lost Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Valley Ranch

Property: Lost Valley Ranch
Address: 29555 Goose Creek Rd, Sedalia, CO 80135-9000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Sedalia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sedalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lost Valley Ranch, Colorado's premier dude ranch, provides an unforgettable guest ranch experience for your Colorado family vacation. Recognized as the only Colorado ranch to receive AAA's Four Diamond rating for 40 consecutive years, it is no wonder Lost Valley Ranch guests keep coming back time and time again. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lost Valley Ranch Hotel Sedalia
Lost Valley Hotel
Lost Valley Ranch Sedalia, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing