We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible, exceeded out expectations.”
Review of Lost Valley Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sedalia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lost Valley Ranch
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sedalia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2011

You can not go wrong by choosing Lost Valley Ranch. The accommodations, service, food and scenery are second to none. Our kids (11 & 8) had an incredible experience as did we. The staff and management goes out of their way to make your stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atsims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony W, Manager at Lost Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

We are so happy to hear that you had an unforgettable experience here at Lost Valley Ranch. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and the Trip Advisor community. We do hope to continue to exceed your expectations on your next visit to the ranch from the accommodations and service to the food and activities. Oooo aaaah from your Lost Valley Ranch family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 171 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2011

All 6 of us, age range 5 to 66, had a fabulous time. Staff soon became like family ... they couldn't seem to do enough to make our visit memorable. Food and accommodations were excellent. It was hard to leave at weeks end.

Room Tip: Try for near Colt 45! Wonderful of horses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adsandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony W, Manager at Lost Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

Every Sunday, there are bittersweet feelings as we have to say good-bye to guests and welcome another group. There is so much excitement and sadness all mixed up in one day. We were sad to say good-bye to your family as well but we are filled with excitement as we anticipate your return. We look forward to serving you and helping to create new memories at Lost Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Every thing was excellent, from the cabin, meals, horses and riding, all of the staff was just wonderful. I am still smiling.. and I am going back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeslieI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony W, Manager at Lost Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

What an honor to be at the top of your list for vacations. Thank you for vacationing here with us and thank you for your return to the ranch. We do hope to continue the precedent that we have set in the years to come. Oooo aaaah from your Lost Valley Ranch family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

We are world travelers, yet 48 hours after being at Lost Valley we decided that we would return every year. I will do my best to explain this special place. Out of the several hundred horses, they will help you pick the one that is matched to your abilities. For the beginning and intermediate riders the horses are there for you. The surprise and delight for the truly advanced rider, is that there are very forward, advanced horses available (please do not overestimate your abilities. Riding up and down steep mountains on narrow trails- galloping through valleys with no trails are easy places to get hurt if you do not truly know how to ride very well).

The food is excellent, large “to order” breakfasts, hot lunches and large dinners with home made desserts. But the big draw is the staff: bright charming and talented (just wait until you hear the play and the singing around the campfire) they are interested in you and your children and will do anything they can to make your stay enjoyable.

Cabins are large, comfortable; have refrigerators and a basket of food goodies upon arrival.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank janbakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

From the moment we were picked up at our hotel in Denver to the minute we left, the enjoyment and laughter never stopped.
The word 'NO' is not in there vocabulary - the staff were the best i had experienced anywhere in the world, so courteous, so friendly, so respectful so helpful and so knowledgable in their field of work.
Horse riding was for all standards, I had never been on a horse before going to Lost Valley, after some one to one tuition i was loping after 3 days. Tell them what you want and they will sort it for you.
The Wranglers both male and female care so much about you and their horses that the bond between rider and horse is inevitable, truly excellent and well trained individuals.
The lodges which are of high integral quality (ours had a single bed room with a beautifull queen sized bed, jaquzzi and shower, underfloor heating and a small lounge with an open fire if you wanted to start one) are dotted on the slopes of the ranch all are within very close walking distance of the beautiful main eating lounge.
The food is of an extraordinary high standard and so much!! The BBQ at the old jail house, the variety of steaks on saturday and ALL the sweet dishes are but a few of the meals to die for. If you add to this the friendly service provided by the staff meal time is a genuine TREAT. The wonderful interaction between the guests and the staff made it a really enjoyable time every minute of every day
I cannot speak highly enough of the Lost Valley Ranch they are all people who geuinely care about you and your needs and it was our best holiday in 30 years of marriage.

Heres to the next time - IT CANT COME QUICK ENOUGH!!!

Glyn

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glynsalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

My Aunt took my 11 year old daughter on a special trip to Lost Valley in Sept, 2010. Having never been to a Dude Ranch, she did not know what to expect, but Lost Valley had come highly reccomended by an acquaintance. It was probably the best vacation advice EVER. The staff was superb, activities - oh there were plenty, the food was delicious, lodging was comfy, and did I mention the FANTASTIC STAFF!! This is truly a diamond in the rough. If you are thinking about a trip - think no more and go for it - you will not be disappointed! This week long trip for 2 of our family members has sparked a trip for a group of 20 of us. Can't wait to experience it for myself - Oooooaaaa

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjjnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

This was our family's tenth week at Lost Valley Ranch since 1999. It just keeps getting better, from the staff to the food to the accommodations, horseback riding and hiking! Bob and Karen Foster own and run the best ranch in America which just happens to be in one of the most beautiful parts of the west -- about 1 1/2 hours northwest of Colorado Springs. This is the perfect place for families of all ages and we spent the week with guests from their 30s to their 70s, along with children and grandchildren, all having the times of their lives! This place must be experienced to be believed, but I cannot imagine how anything could be improved. They have received 4 diamonds from AAA for the past 30+ years and there is no question as to how well-deserved this rating is. In fact, I would heartily support a rating of 6; it's that incredibly special!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lost Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Valley Ranch

Address: 29555 Goose Creek Rd, Sedalia, CO 80135-9000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Sedalia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sedalia
Price Range: $110 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lost Valley Ranch, Colorado's premier dude ranch, provides an unforgettable guest ranch experience for your Colorado family vacation. Recognized as the only Colorado ranch to receive AAA's Four Diamond rating for 40 consecutive years, it is no wonder Lost Valley Ranch guests keep coming back time and time again. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lost Valley Ranch Hotel Sedalia
Lost Valley Hotel
Lost Valley Ranch Sedalia, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing