We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fun hike for the whole family including the dog!”

Devil's Head Fire Lookout
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“fun hike for the whole family including the dog!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hike is an easy path that is well marked for the entire family. Once to the top, you will need to climb stairs at the end and that is the toughest part of the hike. Bring water and a light lunch to enjoy at the top as you will be in ahhh of the views.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    18
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spectacular view”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hike was very pleasant and beautiful. Although the name makes you want to bypass this destination, it truly is a breathtaking piece of land made by the hands of God! The views from the top were awsome as well. My only negative experience was : @ 9,000 + feet in the air, halfway up the stairs, some nasty female with no home training left a used pantyliner on the steps. I hope she reads this review because she will find out that i talked about, her, her mother, and her great grandmother BAD for my three small children having to see this on their vacation!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SFields1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Hike!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I read through several reviews on this hike stating it wasn't that exciting of a hike but an awesome view when you reached the top. Yes, the 100 mile visibility from the lookout was incredibly beautiful, but the climb was equally as inspiring. Large boulders and a variety of trees made the hike enjoyable. There is a 9 mile drive on dirt, but certainly worth it. I would absolutely recommend this hike to anyone. We saw every age making the hike, most with smiles on their faces!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deonna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Awesome Firewatch”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We loved this hike to the top. Lots of families and others hiking as well. Once at the top of the tower you get an amazing view of surrounding Rockies. While we were there the Fire Watch was monitoring a new Forrest Fire.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TrevellingDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great family hike!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Grab a picnic and head up. This is a great family hike in Denver's backyard. The views are stunning and the hike is relatively simple. Recently my mother in law went with my husband and me when we took our nieces and nephews up. The Kida ranged from 5 to 14, my mother in law has terrible knees and has had two surgery on them and was able to keep up. Its a pleasant hike.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devil's Head Fire Lookout also viewed

 

Been to Devil's Head Fire Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing