We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience, would recommend enthusiastically”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gateway Inn & Suites Salida
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great experience, would recommend enthusiastically”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

Stayed there for one night for ski trip to Monarch Mountain. From my first encounter over the phone to make a reservation to our departure, all of the staff was very friendly, very accommodating and very helpful. Family suite was spacious and comfortable. Room was very clean and well appointed. Staff went out of their way to be helpful. Good breakfast selection included in price. I would (will plan to) stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler45876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayInnSalida, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this review, June 1, 2010
Thank you for the kind words, everyone appreciates compliments. We hope you enjoyed your skiing at Monarch, it was an excellent season. We are skiers and it is always nice to share in the excitement of a ski vacation with our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    57
    43
    12
    19
See reviews for
89
79
40
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mid-west
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

Our car broke down late in the afternoon while traveling through Salida. The dealership was next door to the Gateway Suites so we booked a room there while our car was being repaired. The room was OK. The beds were not comfortable - very hard and squeaky. The biggest problem were the other guests. There were parties going on in the open parking area between the two buildings and guests kept setting off their car alarms making it virtually impossible to get any rest. We contacted the management and were told that they really could not do anything about it. If your car breaks down in Salida, Co. you might want to search for another lodging arrangement a bit farther down the road unless you are looking for a party.

Stayed August 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank mckks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayInnSalida, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this review, June 1, 2010
We are sorry to hear about your car breakdown, and unhappy stay with us. We never allow parties in the parking lot. We have live in staff whose job is to secure the parking area and make sure newly arriving guests do not disturb the guests already in their rooms. We will try to do better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

The hotel was fine. The staff was very friendly. It is not a luxury hotel, but the bed/room was great and clean. Breakfast was typical for the type of hotel. We didn't hang out at the hotel, we just wanted a clean, safe, and comfortable place to sleep. Walmart had their employees staying there long term.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinRenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayInnSalida, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this review, June 1, 2010
Thank you for the recommendation. We are always pleased to hear about a positive stay at the Gateway Inn and about a good vacation stay in Salida. See you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for the Tenderfoot Duathlon over the Labor Day Holiday. The price was $109.99 for a shoe box that smelled like turpentine from their chosen cleaning supplies. I was willing to overlook this until the owners/inn keepers attitude and rudeness. The continental breakfast is located in the main lobby and the food is shoved in the corner which spans about 4 feet by 4 feet. People are crawling over each other to get the crumbs and scraps that they call "breakfast," Horrible...never again.

  • Liked — Somewhat located close to the race
  • Disliked — Just about everything else.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sundancephotoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayInnSalida, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this review, June 1, 2010
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We work hard to be competitive on price as well as value. The Triathlon morning is very busy, with everyone up and moving at the same time. We did our best to keep up, but you can understand that with everyone needing to get to the starting line at the same time, this was a busy period for us. We will try to do better in the future. Even if you don't stay with us, please do come back to Salida for another triathlon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2008

We only stayed one night over the Labor Day weekend, but in general were disappointed with what turned out to be a regular motel with an overpriced room. There was no attendant available for breakfast so what little there was to offer in terms of waffle batter and coffee ran out. I would only stay here again if there was nothing else available in the area.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COMom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayInnSalida, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this review, June 1, 2010
We are sorry to hear that you were not delighted with your stay with us. We do have a full time person at the front desk, whose responsibility it is to restock and maintain the breakfast area. In the future, feel free to come the few feet to the front desk and ask if one of our breakfast items is not empty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe
Level Contributor
60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2008

We stayed at the Gateway on 6/11. We had a great experience. The person that checked us in was very cordial to us. The room was nice and clean. There was a bag full of goodies waiting for us, that was a nice suprise. The bathrooom was very clean. We enjoyed thier constinental breakfast, the fresh made waffles always make a great start to any morning! We enjoyed our stay and will be back in the future! God Bless You - Sherrill Hooker and family

  • Liked — The bathroom was extremly clean.
  • Disliked — The breakfas area where you prepare you food is small - only one person at at time. Plenty of tables and chairs.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SherrillHooker26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayInnSalida, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this review, June 1, 2010
Thank you for staying with us several times. We always consider the repeat guest to be a nice acknowledgment of our quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe
Level Contributor
60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2008

We like the town of Salida. Stayed here in 2001 passing through. As we came into town and decided to stay, we were near the Gateway Inn. My husband said "look how well groomed and maintained the yard is, that means it is okay"! We paid $70'ish taxes and all. The check-in is very neatly decorated with the wilderness decor you would expect to see in Colorado. The lady who checked us in was very gracious. We got into our rooms and I was totally impressed. I enjoyed the very full gift bag, nice touch. It doesn't matter what hotel I'm in, first thing I do is pull the sheets back and our beds were very clean. Continental breakfast was the usual make yourself waffles, pastries, cereal, juices - right up our ally! Quick and filling. One of the staff memebers was constantly checking breakfast, cleaning, wiping, re-filling waffle batter. They were smart, they had the squirt butter for the waffles, a lot easier then trying to spread from a tub type butter. The area where the actual food is for breakfast is very small. Only one person at a time. Luckily when we got there, no one else was there or that would cause a longer wait. There is plenty of sitting space. This use to be a Econolodge. We were very impressed and will book again next time we are in the area. God Bless You, Sherrill Hooker and family

  • Liked — The price.
  • Disliked — We had to leave.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherrillHooker26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayInnSalida, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this review, June 1, 2010
Thank you for the rave review. It is nice to see that people recognize all our hard work. We take pride in all aspects of our hotel, and look forward to seeing you sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salida hotels
1.4 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
0.6 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 16 in Salida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
1.4 mi away
Amigo Motor Lodge
Amigo Motor Lodge
#3 of 16 in Salida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
1.1 mi away
Great Western Colorado Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn & Suites Salida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn & Suites Salida

Property: Gateway Inn & Suites Salida
Address: 1310 East US Highway 50, Salida, CO 81201-3202
Location: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gateway Inn & Suites Salida 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gateway Inn & Suites Salida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Salida
Gateway Motel Salida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing