We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Salida!”
Review of Super 8 Salida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Salida
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis, MO
1 review
“Best place to stay in Salida!”
Reviewed February 24, 2009

We always choose Super 8 when staying in Salida. It is perfect! Close to Monarch Ski Resort, MTN bike trails, river rafting, local dining, and hot springs. The rooms are always clean and have a nice view of the mountains. The free breakfast, included with hotel stay, is perfect before hitting the mountains before skiing or biking. Internet access in the lobby is nice for checking out the local weather too. The staff and owners are always friendly and go out of their way to accommodate their guests. Best place in town to stay!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank advtrcasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    297
    114
    34
    22
See reviews for
411
263
60
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2009

My stay at this Super 8 exceeded my expectations. The location of the hotel in such a quaint town was great. Traveling alone meant that safety was a key factor and I felt completely safe. My room had space and was clean and a great value. This is a perfect location for a ski trip or a hiking trip or just to get away and relax.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GallowayOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2009

Stayed here 3 nights on a break from traveling across country. Really glad we picked the super 8.. I highly recommend to anyone staying in Salida. The staff was very friendly and helpful and made our stay a pleasant one.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarmk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardner, Colorado
Level Contributor
94 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

My partner and I recently stayed here and had a below-average experience. The room was functional, king bed with microwave and little fridge. Large TV with HBO and cable. In-room coffee maker with horrible coffee. The configuration of the room is weird in that the TV is located mid-way in the room, so that it is neither in front of the bed (where we do 99% of our hotel TV-viewing) or the couch. However, one hot tip worth noting, the TV had DVD-player hook-ups so you can bring your own to watch movies. The heater was mostly quiet though it did an odd drip-drip noise that fit no pattern. The wifi was very weak for our room (the complex is fairly small).

The three hot tubs (two outside) are nice, though the one we hopped in was not hot, maybe around 100. The pool was full of happy kids though it looked warm we didn't jump in.

The breakfast is one of those typical continental breakfasts, though they had a small bowl of peeled rubbery hard-boiled eggs. Also, the breakfast area is tiny, having precious little room to navigate with more than 1 person there (the place was packed with skiers).

However, the hardest thing to fathom is the 10am check-out time, worsened by the 9:30am knock on the door and again at 9:50am by hotel staff demanding to know when we were leaving. Geeze, we had paid for 10 more minutes, shouldn't the knocking commence at 10am?

There are much cheaper and as nice or nicer motels in Salida. Do better and go next store or down the street. I know this place is listed as 'the price of Super 8" or whatever, but until they bump up the check-out to 11am or Noon and triple the size of the breakfast room, I'll stay away.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dogbuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djak, Owner at Super 8 Salida, responded to this review, February 25, 2009
Greetings Dogbuckeye,
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. It is truly appreciated. Please accept my apologies for the interruption by our housekeeping staff. We will address that immediately.

Regarding our check out time at 10am. Unlike most hotels that offer a check in around 3 or 4pm ours is 1pm. Due to our location we felt that the early check-in was a benefit to our guests. Most of our guests travel a significant distance to get to our town and the ability to check in early and relax before venturing out into our beautiful area. In part due to your comment and discussion with other guests we have revised our check out time to 11am and modified our check-in time to 2pm, with the ability to offer early check-in and late check-out based on availability.

Again thanks for staying with us.

Don Jackson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, IL
2 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2009

Just got back from a great visit to Salida and Skiing/Snowboarding at Monarch. Don was a great host! Very helpful with all aspects of our trip, including lift tickets, rentals, hot springs, and snowmobiling. We had a large group, over 20 people and the service was excellent in all areas. They were flexible and helpful when there were minor problems. Used the pool and hot tubs and had no problems. Also, the breakfast worked well for us. We plan to return if at all possible, next year!

  • Liked — Hosts!
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank blueis62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
115 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2008

The wife, dog and I have stayed at Salida Super 8 many times over the years. First in 2001, 2004, 2006 and 2007.

We really liked the rooms. Always had refrig, microwave and coffee pot. Real nice indoor pool and hot tub. Although, never took advantage of the free breakfast, many people did. Have a computer for the customers to use. A laundry to wash clothes.

Motel is close to some of the tallest peaks in Colorado. A very good jumping off point to many sites of the area here in Colorado.

We do plan on going back someday.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank BudinOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2008

The staff here is really friendly. The motel has pretty good breakfasts, which include boiled eggs, toast, bagels, instant oatmeal, yogurt, pastries, toaster french toast, apples, oranges, cereal, coffee, tea, milk, and orange juice. They have an indoor pool and hot tub and 2 outdoor hot tubs, guest laundry, barbecue area, and guest computer in the lobby.

They are very welcoming of pets and even have a designated area of small rocks for walking the pets. Unfortunately the rocks make it difficult to pick up after the dogs, and they don't have trash cans around even if you tried.

We stayed in a room with a king sized bed. All rooms with king beds are on the bottom floor. I never heard people in the rooms next to ours, but we heard every step the people upstairs made. The plumbing upstairs was also quite loud.

I cannot say that I found our room to be all that clean. The shower had black mold at all the seams and the shower floor was dirty. Between the night stand and the bed, where it's hard to get the vacuum, I saw fingernails.

I booked this motel after reading the reviews. I was hoping for a great experience, but I only found it to be so-so.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Lack of cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nickels_worth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salida
0.1 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 16 in Salida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.7 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
0.2 mi away
Amigo Motor Lodge
Amigo Motor Lodge
#3 of 16 in Salida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
15.5 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Salida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Salida

Property: Super 8 Salida
Address: 525 W Rainbow Blvd, Highway 50, Salida, CO 81201-2237
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Salida
#5 Romantic Hotel in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Salida 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super 8 Salida hotel located on Highway 50 offers easy access to popular outdoor attractions (only 18 miles from Monarch Mountain Ski & Snowboard Area) in the Upper Arkansas River Valley. Our Salida, CO, hotel is directly across from the Hiistoric Salida Hot Springs and fifteen 14,000-foot peaks. If you want to relax after a day of sightseeing and activity, take advantage of our sundeck, beautiful outdoor patios with 4 season fire pit, heated indoor pool or one of three hot tubs. In the morning, check the weather and map out your trip through the mountains with free high-speed 5mg/5g Internet, then get going with free SuperStart continental breakfast. We offer limited free parking with large-vehicle spaces, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our pet-friendly hotel. Try one our bikes from our complimentary cruiser fleet to explore our wonderful mountain town (seasonal). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Salida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Salida
Salida Super Eight
Salida Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing