We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the price, staff very nice”
Review of Super 8 Salida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Salida
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Beds are pretty hard but recent years the rooms have improved. Vending machines are questionable and breakfast is pretty minimal but for the money, a good clean place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank 254kerrya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djack7, Owner at Super 8 Salida, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Kerry A,
Thanks for choosing my hotel the Salida Super 8 and sharing your comments here. The recently completed renovation has been received very positively. The feedback has been outstanding. We are fortunate to have many repeat guests like yourself and they love our new rooms. I am very excited to share your comments about my team. They love to be mentioned in reviews. We realize that you have many hotel choices and are honored that your have chosen ours. We are awaiting your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,055)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

818 - 824 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

Salida is a wonderful small community 7,000 feet up and the Super 8 was perfect. They treated my 8 yr old like family and she asked if we could stay when it was time to head home. She loved the pool and 3 hot tubs. The staff and owners were fantastic hosts - not your typical experience with hotel personnel. They even gave her a name tag as an honorary employee - she still talks about them weeks later.
The rooms were a pleasant surprise. The hotel recently updated all their rooms - very tastefully rather than the typical bland renovations I usually see. The rooms were spacious and so very clean thankfully. We stayed at 5 different hotels during our Colorado vacation - and stayed at the Salida Super 8 twice because it was so much nicer than the rest. The owners helped plan several excursions from Salida - their knowledge of activities throughout Colorado and the adjoining states was so helpful. My wife and daughter took advantage of the bikes the hotel has available to guests - and rode all over town.
Thank you Britt and Don Jackson for making our visit such a success.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mburfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djack7, Owner at Super 8 Salida, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Mburfman,
Thanks for choosing my hotel the Salida Super 8 and sharing your comments here. Your decision to return to our hotel again and again means more than you know. Your positive comments regarding our newly renovated rooms are much appreciated, since the completion the feedback has been unbelievably positive. My team will be happy to hear they made a difference in your stay, they works towards that outcome every day. They want you to feel better for staying here. Quiet, clean and up to date rooms are important but it is the team that adds the heart and soul of a hotel. Our's can not be beat. A quick scan of our reviews will tell you the important role that they play and how they contribute greatly to guest satisfaction. Please tell the little one that we still have laundry shifts for her and Yari needs the help. Looking forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night to break up our trip to Durango. Staff was very friendly, rooms were clean, and the hotel is a short trip to downtown. We didn't get a chance to use the pool but my husband went across the street to the Aquatic Center and said it was very nice. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank read1623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djack7, Owner at Super 8 Salida, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear read1623,
Thank you for choosing my hotel the Salida Super 8 for your overnight stay on the way to Durango. We are a perfect stopover to make that trip less burdensome, additionally if planned right you can see the entire trip in the daylight. Your comments about the friendliness of my team and cleanliness are much appreciated. Those are two of our primary goals. Although we did recently complete a complete renovation of our rooms... the heart of a hotel is in its team. I have a great one! Thanks for sharing your comments here. Looking forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The staff was very friendly. My son has Celiacs disease so finding some place for him to eat can be tricky. The staff were very helpful in finding us a good place for him to eat. They have discount tickets for places around Salida like the Salida Hot Springs and Mount Princeton Hot Springs. The room was clean. The pool and hot tubs were clean and well maintained. We'll definitely stay there again whenever we go to Salida.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djack7, Owner at Super 8 Salida, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear JefferyT,
Thanks for choosing us, the Salida Super 8! Scoring us 5's in all categories... my team will be enthusiastically proud! In looking through the most recent reviews... clean and friendly are mentioned over and over. My team and I are reaching our goals. We strive to exceed your expectations and to make a difference in your stay. We want to be more than simply a place to rest, we want you to feel better for staying with us. Thanks for sharing your comments here and we can't wait for your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
djack7, Owner at Super 8 Salida, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
djack7, Owner at Super 8 Salida, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Twins hotel exceeded my expectations. The room was great and my kids loved the pool even the dog was happy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djack7, Owner at Super 8 Salida, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear SteveA,
Exceeded your expectations... that says it all! Thanks for choosing my hotel the Salida Super 8 and sharing such positive comments regarding your stay here. Your willingness to choose us in the future is our goal. Glad to hear that the kids enjoyed the heated indoor pool, three hot tubs and the dog was happy. All important! Excitedly awaiting your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salida hotels
0.1 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 16 in Salida
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Great Western Colorado Lodge
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Salida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Salida

Address: 525 W Rainbow Blvd, Highway 50, Salida, CO 81201-2237
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Salida
#5 Romantic Hotel in Salida
Price Range: $87 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Salida 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super 8 Salida hotel located on Highway 50 offers easy access to popular outdoor attractions (only 18 miles from Monarch Mountain Ski & Snowboard Area) in the Upper Arkansas River Valley. Our Salida, CO, hotel is directly across from the Hiistoric Salida Hot Springs and fifteen 14,000-foot peaks. If you want to relax after a day of sightseeing and activity, take advantage of our sundeck, beautiful outdoor patios with 4 season fire pit, heated indoor pool or one of three hot tubs. In the morning, check the weather and map out your trip through the mountains with free high-speed 5mg/5g Internet, then get going with free SuperStart continental breakfast. We offer limited free parking with large-vehicle spaces, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our pet-friendly hotel. Try one our bikes from our complimentary cruiser fleet to explore our wonderful mountain town (seasonal). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 Salida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Salida
Salida Super Eight
Salida Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing