We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beaautiful Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tudor Rose Bed & Breakfast and Chalets
Ranked #2 of 6 Salida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2010

The Chalets at the Tudor Rose are eloquent and comfortably set among pinons, providing us with a totally relaxed vacation destination. The horses were safely pastured just outside our windows so that we had no worries about them. Browns and Brookies were cooked on the outside grill as well as steaks - all while watching gorgeous sunsets after challenging horseback rides up Mt. Shavano or Mt. Antero. We were able to 'ride-n-reel' day trips all along the 14ers, fish the Arkansas from it's headwaters to Salida and come back to a comfortable 'home-away-from-home', kick our feet up and just breathe in the rarified mountain air. The hosts of the Tudor Rose are simply the best and made sure our stay was successful and pleasant in every way.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonShreveport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 308 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2010

This Salida, CO B&B is in an excellent location. The rooms are comfortable, the innkeepers are friendly and the breakfasts are extra special. We have stayed there 3 times and enjoy being a repeat customer!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelgnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

This was a really great place to stay as far as location/proximity to the town, rustic feel, cleanliness, and updated. I could only find a few things wrong: the bed was super hard & killed my back, there weren't extra pillows and blankets readily available, there wasn't a dishwasher which was a bit inconvenient when you are sharing the chalet with 5 other people, and I wish the chalet had a tv in the master bedroom. Luckily, my niece brought a DVD player which saved me because I like to fall asleep with background noise. If you have horses, this place is perfect as it has some really nice pens for your horses.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RightHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

Easily the best place to stay in Salida and a super value! Very nice rooms, a comfortable home and fantastic views and access - one of the best B&Bs we have stayed at! A variety of rooms or chalets to choose from and very accommodating owners made for a simply wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smiller4598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

we just returned from a wonderful stay at the rose.... we have found our winter hideaway.. ... the tudor rose is warm in ambiance and attitude. jon and terre' are quick to welcome you and put you at ease with their easy going manner.. you can tell they enjoy what they do..we were made to feel it was good to kick back and make ourselves at home... we enjoyed the whole experience..the home is a good blend of formal and yet user friendly.... we watched the olympics in the cozy wolf den and the stars from the hot tub... what's not to love... the morning meal was a delight... we will stay at the tudor rose again and encourage you to give it a go....

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keeptheawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2009

The chalets had everything we were looking for and more! Comparable accommodations could not be found in the area. The location and direction of the picture windows were very well thought out. The fireplace was comforting during the chilly nights. The full kitchen and outdoor grill was very convenient. After long days of enjoying the outdoors, it was nice to come "back home". The area is secure and we felt very welcome! We would definitely come back! As a matter of fact - we could live here!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smyzymayl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We are rather astounded at ANY negative reviews of TheTudor Rose. This was our third stay with Jon and Terre and each has been delightful. We have always been on our way to somewhere else, but have decided we need to make this a "destination" place to stay. The place is a Tudor mansion...so it is English. We think the decor fits the mansion perfectly. Breakfast is always excellent with a variety of something some folks would call "hearty" as well as freshly-baked muffins and an array of fresh fruit. And what's this about rules? That's crazy! If folks would read the information on the website, they would know what the B&B includes and what a stay at one of the chalets does and does not include. By the way--the chalets are outstanding--lots of windows through which to see the mountain scenery and very attractively and comfortably decorated. And we think quite reasonably priced! We have always stayed in the WhiteWater Room and love it. If all B&B's were like the Tudor Rose, we would never stay in a hotel or motel again!!! The amenities are thoughtful and the toilet tissue is soft (this is very important to some of us) ;-). So while some folks might have different views of different things, we like both the Rose AND the hosts very much.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank luv2travel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salida hotels
1.5 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 16 in Salida
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Mountain Goat Lodge
Mountain Goat Lodge
#1 of 6 in Salida
327 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mountain Motel
Mountain Motel
#7 of 16 in Salida
241 reviews
1.4 mi away
Super 8 Salida
Super 8 Salida
#3 of 16 in Salida
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Rose Bed & Breakfast and Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Rose Bed & Breakfast and Chalets

Address: 6720 County Road 104, Salida, CO 81201-9743
Location: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Salida
Price Range: $137 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the top of the hill, at the end of the road, on 37 private and secluded acres, it's a different world. We offer 6 rooms at the Bed and Breakfast, and we also have 5 Chalets that sleep six each on the property. We are surrounded by mountain views and are only 1 1/2 miles to downtown Salida. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing