We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tudor Rose Bed & Breakfast and Chalets
Ranked #2 of 6 Salida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Rude owners. Over priced. We were 5 minutes early for the check-in time and the owner Jon was very rude and his wife, Terree, made some snide comment in the background. Every encounter we noticed a similar demeanor and once we overheard the owners bad mouthing another guest. Rooms are ok for B&B.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RafterRafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartee, Owner at Tudor Rose Bed & Breakfast and Chalets, responded to this review, September 25, 2009
When these folks arrived and rang the bell about 5 minutes before checkin, they asked if it was too early to check in and should they wait. After looking at the clock, I jokingly suggested they might wait in the car for 5 minutes, just kidding. Obviously, an attempt at a little humor was not in order since these guests had been on the road all day and were very tired. We apologize and by no means were we attempting to be rude in anyway, although it probably came across to them that way. We make every effort to allow guests to check in early, provided the rooms are ready to go.

The private conversation we were having was regarding family, and by no means do we bad mouth our guests.

Thanks for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    28
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
62
177
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

We had a good time at the Tudor Rose. We thought that the price was reasonable. Our room was very nice. The breakfast was so so. Jon was very nice to my husband when he made a special request, so we were extremely surprised that our friends had such a horrible experience there. They were treated very shabbily when they asked to use facilities and have breakfast. They were staying at the chalet. It seems as if that could have not been that much trouble..... esp. the hot tub. But cussing out customers is not only not good business but reprehensible! I do agree that there are way too many rules about this and that. Patrons should feel like they are being catered to instead of so many expectations when you are on vacation. People tend to have repeat visits and give good recs when they are treated nicely and with respect.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gene_Julie_Jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2009

We stayed one short night here. We got in late and left early but we were happy with the stay. I have stayed in many B and B's and the thing to appealed to me the most was the outdoor space and views that this B and B has to offer. It is away from the town center but very convenient to all of the actvities. The inn keepers were great and the breakfast was tasty and plentiful.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4realtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes park Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2009

We just stayed at the Tudor Rose B and B, in Salida, Colorado for 2 nights. Our accomodations were very nice. A lovely room upstairs in the home with a king bed, shower, TV, radio, all the things you need for your stay. John and Terre are great hosts and have been in the B and B business for over 15 years and know what is needed for good service and a relaxing stay. We will definitely go back for another stay.

There is a great room downstairs for guest use and another reading room, lots of books are available, a wide screen TV is in the great room for guests to use. We watched the Denver Nuggets beat the Lakers in game 4 of the NBA west finals.

A wonderful breakfast awaited us each morning with a main entree, home made desert, fruit, coffee and juice. You can sign up the day before for a breakfast time. The home was built in the late 70's and remolded for a bed and breakfast, the room we stayed in has a shower and bathroom in the bedroom, very convient for access. There are also 5 small homes ( chalet's ) on the property that you can rent if you want more room for larger groups or to be alone, each is fully equipped for cooking, and relaxing.

The property has 37 or so acres and a couple of trails that you can hike with views of wildlife, mountains and landscape. You can drive to old town Salida in about 5 - 10 minutes with plenty of shops and restraunts nearby, Salida is in the process of rebuilding and new srores are starting monthly. The Arkansas river runs right through town for rafting, fishing and other water sports, there are also many mountain trails, roads and hikes to explore. You can rent a 4 x4 in town to get into some of the remote areas in the mountains weather permiting. Monarch ski area is close by for winter sports.

We recomend the Tudor Rose B and B for a nice relaxing stay anytime you are in the Salida, Colorado area.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eparkco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2009

Stayed here while snowboarding at Monarch Mountain for the weekend. It was a great place to stay! Very close to downtown Salida, and just about a 20 minute drive up to Monarch. The food was excellently prepared, and the room was lovely. The owners seemed like lovely people, as well. I would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apss0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas,TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2009

We got a great rate and the place surprisingly clean. Breakfast was excellent! My only complaint is that the owners were a bit off-putting at times. We ordered pizza and they got our delivery wrong and had to return when they rang the doorbell the owner seemed angry to be unnecessarily disturbed. He made us feel a bit uneasy. My husband and I had packed our bags for three trips back to back with more clothes than we could keep up with and had difficulty keeping our room neat after long days of skiing. The owners informed our friends that our beds were unable to be made one day because " there was stuff everywhere". I was mortified when that friend announced it to the group. It would have made alot more sense for the ownwers to just tell us. The way our friend told it, it seemed more like gossip than information. That was pretty unprofessional in my opinion. Other than those two encounters they were quite pleasant and hospitable and I know that the other 5 people who were on the trip with us had no complaints. I would recommend staying there to others although, after my experience, I wouldn't do it again.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jihan777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartee, owner at Tudor Rose Bed & Breakfast and Chalets, responded to this review, March 19, 2009
We are sorry that this group of seven had an uncomfortable experience. We were definately surprised by the late night doorbell and orginally thought it might be someone looking for a room or a guest that had forgotten their key. We did not know that they had ordered in pizza. Once everyone got settled with their pizza, all seemed well. We also take pride in our housekeeping staff and their efforts to clean during a guest's stay and we apologize if we miscommunicated our concerns. We have a policy on not touching or moving our guest's personal items and we wanted to communicate our difficulties in being able to make up the rooms properly. As always, we appreciate any and all comments from guests that allow us to continually improve the B&B experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2009

My sister and I made last minute reservations and our hosts were very gracious! I like the choice of set breakfast times and the use of their hot tub and scenic trail on their property (do take the walking sticks provided!).
The accomodations were comforatble and clean. It was a true "homey" feeling and I appreciated the quiet scenic surroundings (yet just close enough to downtown Salida).

Thank you Jon and Terre for your hospitality. The good word will be passed on!
Susie and Karen

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank SooooooZQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salida hotels
1.5 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#9 of 16 in Salida
357 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mountain Goat Lodge
Mountain Goat Lodge
#1 of 6 in Salida
315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mountain Motel
Mountain Motel
#5 of 16 in Salida
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Rose Bed & Breakfast and Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Rose Bed & Breakfast and Chalets

Property: Tudor Rose Bed & Breakfast and Chalets
Address: 6720 County Road 104, Salida, CO 81201-9743
Location: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the top of the hill, at the end of the road, on 37 private and secluded acres, it's a different world. We offer 6 rooms at the Bed and Breakfast, and we also have 5 Chalets that sleep six each on the property. We are surrounded by mountain views and are only 1 1/2 miles to downtown Salida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tudor Rose Bed & Breakfast and Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing