We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Place”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Monarch Gem

Monarch Gem
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Monarch Gem
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Monarch Gem
Fire Pit  going down to the river
summer time relaxin' on the back deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Salida, Chaffee County, Colorado

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Schlotter...
Bellingham
1 review
“Great Place”
Reviewed October 2, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just outside Salida and surrounded by mountains. Retro decor and lots of space. Definitely will stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Reviewed July 23, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable beds. Quiet and peaceful. Plenty of room.
Liked least: Views of mountainsand stream were obscured by trees.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hayley C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Cutest Retro Cabin Ever!”
Reviewed January 30, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

I fell in love with this place from the second I stepped in it. The decor is straight out of the 50's yet all remodeled and squeaky clean. The place is cozy and warm with a nice fireplace and huge couch so your whole family can hangout in the living room together. The t.v. worked great and we were able to watch a movie next to the fireplace which was a treat. The beds were great, everyone slept very well. The back deck is huge with plenty of sitting room and looks out to a nice setting. The river is right behind the house and salida and monarch ski area are just 20 minutes away. With the kitchen fully stocked with everything we needed we were able to cook a nice dinner after a long day of skiing. All and all it was an awesome trip and I would definitely recommend this place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The most comfortable place I've ever stayed!
Liked least: Nothing, it was perfect :-)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traci c
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed January 25, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed (group of 5) for 3 nights and 4 days and had a great time! The house is very comfortable, had a fully stocked kitchen (we supplied our own food, of course) and beautiful surroundings. We hiked around the creek out back, checked out the Salida downtown area, drove up the road for a day of skiing at Monarch, and were able to come home to relax and grill steaks at the end of it. The location was great; outside of town so it was quiet with an amazing starscape at night, but just a short drive into town or up into the mountains. We will definitely be back this summer for some rafting and hiking!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very comfortable, beautiful surroundings
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing