We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch option!”
Review of Ploughboy inc. - CLOSED

Ploughboy inc.
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Description: Almost all of our food is sourced within 100 miles of our location in Salida, CO and all of our products are made in Colorado. We are constantly forming new relationships with exceptional local producers, bringing their great local products to a central, easily accessible sales point in the heart of Salida and creating the best customer shopping experience we possibly can. Converting food dollars back into the local economy, as opposed to large corporations, is our way of sustaining Colorado small business. We want to our producers to come to value us as a great partner in growing their businesses and our customers to think we are the coolest food store they have ever experienced. We find that our customers want more than generic grocery meats and produce. They want fresh, delicious foods that are raised right here in Colorado, by our Colorado neighbors - pasture-raised beef, pork, yak and chicken, seasonal vegetables ranging from juicy fruits in the fall to beautiful organic vegetables in the summer and of course Colorado-based milk and cheese products. We also craft beautiful soups, sandwiches, main dishes and desserts in our own kitchen for you to enjoy.
Bentonville, Ar
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great lunch option!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had a wonderful sandwich here today! Great atmosphere and fresh food! The place to go for a delicious, light lunch in Salida!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lauren_ames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    20
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Food Treasure Trove for an out of town Foodie”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

What a gift to find this spot in downtown Salida, CO! It is a charming and welcoming spot across from the main grocery store in town. From amazing breads, to the most delicious and beautiful eggs I have eaten anywhere, to the selection of grass fed beef and local fish. We ate well and easily stocked our cabin home just outside of town. The dairy was amazing, and their selection of cheeses and sausages hit home. We were also delighted by the accommodating and friendly staff who encouraged us to "try" everything, and gave us samples of local eats and treats. The Cherry Rhubarb jam is seriously delish! I was worried about what we would find to eat in this little town, but were greatly surprised and delighted by the array of beautiful and fresh veggies to the scrumptious treats. They even had local Kombucha, which did not disappoint. Get there early and go often! Every trip into town over our 7 day stay, we stopped in and bought more food to take back with us to our cabin.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeanaMeana61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Reviewing Not as a Restaurant”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

First, let me say this isn't really a restaurant, and any answers regarding a meal will be given only if required for this review, so pay no attention to them. In my mind this is sort of a health food store but with real food!

We were in Salida this week to pick up an order of beef. While in town we stopped in the store so my wife could buy some raw milk, which she hadn't had since her childhood. While there we picked up some sour dough bread, which was delicious, along with some local apple butter, also tasty, as well as a couple samples of various breads.

I believe we were dealing with the owner, not sure, but she was very helpful. When I tried to buy some cheese, she strongly urged us to taste it first, as she didn't think it was what we thought it was. She was right. Had we bought it we would have been disappointed. Not that there was anything wrong with it, I'm sure it's great - if you like goat cheese! We'll now make it a regular stop whenever we are in or near Salida.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2MileHi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fresh and healthy food”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

We were introduced to this place by a salida local. It is a deli with a health food shop attached.

Delicious lunches, they taste so healthy and home made... And the bread, it is to die for.

They also sell fresh veggies and upmarket groceries.

We ate here twice, it was so good. I would be a regular if I lived in salida.

Helpful?
Thank AussieBatGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Great food market plus snacks”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

A great selection of food items for normal shopping plus bread and food items to take away. Next door is a small wine and cider shop with tasting and a great attitude. Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Glen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ploughboy inc. also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing