We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Salida
Post
Inbox
Search
Save
Review Highlights
Bumpy Ride - Clear Views

Growing up in Canon City, Salida was somewhere to sometimes escape too. Especially now with their... read more

Reviewed September 15, 2019
jennaleigh13
,
Parker, Colorado
It dominates the town

This is a must do if you spend any time in Salida. The big "S" on the cone-shaped mountain catches... read more

Reviewed August 7, 2019
Kathrine B
,
Loveland, Colorado
Read all 77 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Salida
from $25.00
More Info
from $76.72
More Info
from $79.56
More Info
from $25.65
More Info
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveler rating
42
24
10
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
42
24
10
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dirt road worth the effort downtown salida quick drive views are great photos visitors mtn vehicle windy cars
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 77 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2016

I love driving up and down the dirt road leading up to spiral drive, but I don't usually go to the top unless I want to burn lots of gas! Its steep and a great thrill!

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank SalidaSurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2016

Common guys get it together with the lights of the heart and the S at night it hasn't been right since the forth of july last year! congrats on getting the heart figured out though! I love it! Best to go up at night, wonderful view of the ENTIRE valley.

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank Alexandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2016

A trip to Salida is not complete without a trip up to Mount Tenderfoot . You can hike up or ride your mountain bike right from town . Or drive up on the dirt road . The view is well worth the trip .

Date of experience: April 2016
2  Thank BlueMoonhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2016

Driving up the road is so faux pas to the locals. I recommend walking, as I did, up to the summit. Follow F street North, across the Arkansas river bridge, and park near the caboose. Cross the tracks and head north, you'll find yourself on a trail with switchbacks that bring you to the top. Halfway you may find a bench to sit on. Walk all the way to the top and up the stairs and enjoy the view. You shan't be disappointed.

Even better, consider biking! There is extensive bike trails that branch off just below the summit. Excellent if your bike is of the ruggedized mountainous variety. Just don't drive. It's lame!

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank BeamMeUp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2016 via mobile

Drove up here after supper and finally found the road leading up to spiral drive. I'm sure it is easy to find in daylight but was challenging in the dark. The gate was locked so we didn't make it all the way up. ..too creepy in the dark to walk. Was a beautiful view of Salida though! Nice quick side trip, but I'm going in the daytime next time.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank 559beckyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews