We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Salida
Post
Inbox
Search
Save
Review Highlights
Trail Marker Trees

Went to a special presentation on local Ute Prayer Trees presented by the author of the book the... read more

Reviewed August 11, 2019
Marcy B
,
Azle, Texas
A hidden jewel!!

For any of you who always like to check out the local museums this is a must see. Not only did it... read more

Reviewed August 10, 2019
Kaye j
Read all 27 reviews
  
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveler rating
19
7
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
19
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews local history small town trout artifacts railroad docent volunteers fur bearing fascinating display visitors stories viking hike
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 27 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2015

Nice little museum packed full of interesting memorabilia covering multiple aspects of the early days in the area.

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank Mountainmaddness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2015

When family members from Florida and South Carolina said they would like to see places in Colorado where they had never visited, I decided Salida would be the place to go. Our visitors were interested in learning about the history of this very interesting small town, so we went to the Salida Museum. We thought the collections, displays and explanations were outstanding. The museum guide was enthusiastic and clearly knowledgeable about Salida’s history. He had stories and answers about everything that caught our attention. We learned that Salida in the late 1800s was a busy railroad center, serving regional nines. Ranching and farming have been important in the area for a long time. Many items from home life and businesses are seen throughout the museum. Salida has evolved from its early activities to its present prominent connection with professional and recreation rafting and kayaking on the Arkansas River and as a tourist destination. A visit to the Salida Museum is definitely worthwhile for adults and children. And if you are wondering what to do during a summer thunderstorm, the museum is a great place to spend some time.

Date of experience: July 2015
2  Thank Henry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2015

We had a great time learning about local history from Bob Campbell as we toured this museum, even got to see the famous "Fur-bearing Trout" featured in an episode of the Mysteries at the Museum television show! Lots of interesting items attached to famous historical figures all with a local Salida connection. Will be back to see it again next trip to Salida!

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2014

The animas city museum is quite interesting with lots of history displayed. This once was the animas school and therein lies more history. The people in charge there are very informed and extremely friendly and helpful. Always visit when in durango, co and never disappointed.

Date of experience: September 2014
Thank carolyns460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2014

Friendly people who volunteer their time there. Hometown museum. Enjoyed the layed back feeling. 2 large rooms with lots of antiques etc, many of which were donated by residents.

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank Jacqueline f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews