We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Salida
Post
Inbox
Search
Save
Review Highlights
Great experience

The volunteer was really friendly and made the trip worth while. He gave us fish food and answered... read more

Reviewed August 18, 2019
GingerMedic1
,
Canon City, Colorado
via mobile
Fascinating science and sustaining trout fisheries in Colorado

I have been to the Durango fish hatchery about 10 years ago. I either didn't learn the same things... read more

Reviewed May 20, 2019
L6661TAseano
Read all 45 reviews
  
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveler rating
25
15
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
25
15
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish food trout high mountain video feeding volunteers tanks fishing visitors colorado lakes handout leaping boys
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 45 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2015

very interesting place my wife and I loved it kids will like it very much fish love to be fed video they show is very interesting staff very friendly and answers ant questions you may have

Date of experience: October 2015
1  Thank 729geraldk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2015

Don't go with HUGE expectations, and you will not be disappointed! Come-on, its free and educational! I have three teenagers with my wife and I. We ALL 5 ENJOYED THIS! Sit down, watch the 10 min video about what they do. Then you get to go out and feed all of the fish for free! Plan a hour. Just enjoy the pretty fish.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank jeepncolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2015

From little kids to us big kids (63 years old) the Mt. Shavano Fish Hatchery is a must tour for locals and out of town visitors. We were met by Bill, volunteer host, and he immediately gave our grandson (3 years old) a container of fish food. He was sold - this is going to be fun!!!!! We walked along a series of concrete hatchery vats that had fish sorted according to size. The food can be tossed into the open vats and watch the fish go wild!!!! Very cool set up for the little ones. We then sat down and watched a 10 minute video. The video really gives you a perspective on how important the 19 hatcheries are in Colorado. We then met Bryan, the hatchery manager and he spent time answering our questions. He gave us some info. on the Greenback Cutthroat Trout. Very interesting. When in Salida you must go to the hatchery - it's very close to town. Say hi to Bill and Bryan - they really know the hatchery business.

Date of experience: July 2015
2  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2015

We went with our 2 kids and our friends' 2 kids. Everyone had a great time. They gave us plenty of food to feed the fish and we walked around looking at the various stages, etc. The staff there were very helpful and at the end, we went in and watched what was actually a pretty good video about Colorado fish hatcheries.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank maakdiggity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2015

Visitor center has a short (about 8 minute) film about Colorado fish hatcheries and the excellent work they do. Volunteer was friendly. They give each visitor a free coffee container of fish food to feed the fish. Fun way to spend an hour and educational too about Colorado fishing. No dogs allowed, but very nearby parking available and a quick stop.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank MileHighCty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews