We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A find! Historic charm with modern amenities and personable service”
Review of Palace Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel is one of those unexpected discoveries that makes traveling a joy -- and reminds you why it's well worth the time to search for a unique place with a welcoming personality as compared to a boring chain motel. We felt like we were guests in the historic home of hospitable friends. The breakfast of OJ, homemade muffins and a parfait of yogurt and fresh fruit delivered to your room in the morning at whatever time you specify is just one example of the caring attention to detail.

The original hotel was built in 1909 and had gone downhill over the years. Vicki and Fred have owned it for seven years, three of which were spent in a total renovation that was so extensive that Vicki described the result as a "new building in old walls." Fred was a custom home builder in Santa Fe so his experience and expertise were obviously put to good use here. Clearly it was a labor of love for both of them. They kept the best of the original facility -- e.g. historic steel ceiling in the lobby -- and updated everything else with a perfect blend of new (e.g., A-C, all new bathrooms, very comfortable beds with fluffy pillows, fancy china) and old (antique furnishings). The service from Vicki and her afternoon/evening manager Zack was always professional yet warm.

The lobby features an extensive art gallery displaying the paintings of local arrtist Joshua Been, and if you're lucky you may experience him creating one of his realism/impressionist paintings right there,

The hotel is located in historic downtown Salida, so once you arrive and take advantage of the hotel's free parking service (a big plus during busy summer weekends when parking is hard to find) you can walk everywhere.

Warning: There is no elevator, but staff will carry your bags up and down the stairs if you wish. We arrived early and went exploring. When we returned, our bags had already been delivered to our toom.

Room Tip: Consider treating yourself to an upgrade from a regular room to a larger one. We were in room 205...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob and Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 402 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

This quaint little boutique hotel was perfectly located in the historic business district of Salida. I loved the hotel to be fascinating- I loved the historic decor and structure that the owners have retained. The coffee in the room was great. I especially loved the warm muffins delivered to the room in the morning. Overall, we had a nice overnight stay at this hotel. I will add (like other reviewers have stated) that the stairs are quite steep, so keep that in mind when booking your room. The management was very kind in their offers to carry luggage- I would suggest taking them up on that offer!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinNuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Well-appointed and comfortable private rooms with views of down town Salida, CO and the Arkansas River. Luxurious bed linens; Noritake china; eclectic mix of antiques and modern details.

Plenty of coffee in rooms ~ no "pods" of regular and de-caf (one of each) ~ AND the continental breakfast delivered to your room! Lovely, relaxed approach to our day.

Attentive, helpful and non-intrusive staff.

Be aware this facility has no elevator.

Will return!

Room Tip: The Palace Hotel's website accurately describes each room's appointments for a more fitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My third floor suite was clean and spacious, but the decor was taupe and depressing. The ceilings are high, so carting my luggage down 3 flights (no elevator) was a pain. Since there is no elevator, staff should make it clear that they will come and fetch the luggage for you when you check out. To be fair, they probably would have done this had I asked. As often happens in these mountain towns, they try to save on items like TP, which is false economy. I stayed downtown so I could enjoy the art district, which sadly shuts down early even on a Friday night. I should have saved my money and stayed at a less expensive hotel on the highway.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveling_foodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My family and I switched to this hotel in the middle of our stay in Salida. The rates were great, as well as the space. Beautifully decorated like an old fashioned appartment, this place was great. Comfy beds, clawfoot bathtub, and great tv were among the awesome parts of this stay along with fresh yogurt parfaits outside on a table every morning. Its right in town and was an awesome experience!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were lucky enough to find ourselves in Salida Colorado on a driving holiday in America. This hotel exudes "old World charm" but with all the modern perks! The rooms are beautiful, we stayed in room 302 which has a beautiful view of the park across the road. We had our own little kitchen with a cute table for two. We dined here on take-away local pizza (yummy) and enjoyed people watching down below in the street and in the park. A river runs through Salida and there was a little white - water, plenty of kids in canoes mucking around on or in the water. The Palace Hotel is situated close to the quaint shopping streets and there are a few really wonderful galleries selling local paintings, pottery and glass ornaments. The hotel staff were really helpful and there was a local painter set up in the gallery - reception area creating wonderful "works of art" right before your very eyes. There is a great little pub on the opposite corner to the hotel where we sat and had a drink with the locals. There is also a beautiful little Christmas shop where I bought a few local baubles for our tree come Christmas time.
Salida is a small town, with small town values and is a little bit of a step back in time, a real delight and a "must see" if you are in the area. Hotel is a top ten and I would highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the park, you do have to carry your bags up stairs so bear this in min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivien55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This boutique hotel deserves my first-ever online review - we went to Salida for a last-minute getaway for our 10 year anniversary and had no hotel reservations. This historic hotel has just been remodeled and is perfectly done, simple and comfortable design, very clean (no bad smells like many old hotels). Excellent morning room service included (fresh baked muffins and coffee were so good!) Great front desk service and ideal location. We did have the Governor's suite, so the view was good, some of the rooms do not have views but are very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salida hotels
1.5 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
1.5 mi away
Amigo Motor Lodge
Amigo Motor Lodge
#4 of 16 in Salida
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 16 in Salida
205 reviews
1 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
364 reviews
1 mi away
Mountain Motel
Mountain Motel
#7 of 16 in Salida
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Address: 204 N F St, Salida, CO 81201-2134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Price Range: $120 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Historic Hotel Downtown Salida,The Palace Hotel is Salida, Colorado's, premier historic boutique hotel established in 1909. Uncompromised elegance and "Old West" charm create a bastion of comfort and class deep in the heart of the Rocky Mountains. Here, vintage chic meets the modern amenities, in 15 genuinely considered suites.Located in Historic Downtown Salida, Colorado alongside the banks of the Arkansas River, the newly renovated Palace Hotel offers boutique caliber lodging within footsteps of shopping, dining, biking and fly-fishing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing