We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow! Old world charm is not dead!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palace Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wow! Old world charm is not dead!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I had not planned where to stop. Left Colorado Springs in the afternoon, with the intention of driving until nightfall. It was already dark when I hit Salida, CO. I followed the sign pointing towards the "Historic town centre", not expecting much.

I asked the waitress in the restaurant if there were any "oldy worldy" hotels nearby and she pointed me to the Palace, two doors up the road.

It is a beautifully renovated 3 story hotel. The rooms are little suites with their own kitchens and lounge areas.

My only regret is that I couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    40
    5
    8
    0
See reviews for
50
190
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dallas, tx
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We found this hotel while traveling through Salida Colorado this past week. I wanted to stay "off the strip" and experience more a of a "old charming Hotel" and WOW was I impressed. The Hotel was built in 1901 and most recently used as a "longer term" cheap Hotel to what unfortunatly falls to most of these older Hotels.

The new owners have painstakenly remodeled this Hotel over the last 3yrs enlarging the rooms and hallways while keeping the original woodwork, trestles and adding new windows and even keeping the original radiators for "looks". The original copper ceiling remiains in the lobby and they painstakenly had the plaster redone throughout the hotel to complete the remodel.

The beds are overstuffed, large and very comfortable with crisp fine linen that just completes the experince. Finally you are supplied with fresh ground coffie for your morning and greeting with fresh muffins and homemade "greek yougurt" fruit parfaits.

The staff was warm and friendly and happy to show me as many rooms as I wanted..." I love Hotels and good remodels"

We throughly enjoyed our stay opting for a large suite on hte 3rd floor overlooking hte park, street and river. It was simply very enjoyable and I would highly recomened this Hotel for any stay in Salida and hope to return.

Room Tip: Room was in front next to the Governors Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bpeters500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine, Colorado
Level Contributor
148 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Don't go to the motels on 50.. Come into town, enjoy the good food and then walk to your charming hotel afterwards. I love this place so much more than the hotels on rte. 50. Newly remodeled and updated.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed two nites in room 307 (on the 3rd floor which was a bad idea with no elevator and two large suitcases) thank goodness for help from the front desk staff. Beautiful, large room with an exceptionally comfortable king-size bed. Agree with the previous reviewer regarding bathroom space etc. but the room was so lovely we really didn't notice any inconvenience. Breakfast (including coffee grounds for guests to make their own coffee in the kitchenette included with each suite) is placed on a buffet in the landing where one helps themselves to the delicious "Palace Parfait" and pastries; would prefer breakfast brought to the room and the coffee already made for guests but my husband graciously went out each morning to get our breakfast and made coffee for me :) We will definitely stay here again. Check out local artist, Joshua Been's work in the lobby; he's quite good. Josh was holding a workshop there during our stay; we ended up buying the painting he was working on.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrselves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolores, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

This would be a perfect Museum or Restaurant- NOT a place to sleep.
The rooms are as pretty as shown on the website and spacious. They have a good continental breakfast. You can hear each truck and older car that drives by and poor you if the person above you wears shoes! The management says it is because it is a historic place... Lame excuse . We always try to stay at older places e.gHassayampa Inn in Prescott Az and have never suffered from outside noise! This was a huge dissappointment! No shampoo or conditioner and no housekeeping unless you stay for more than 3 days even though rooms start at $160 a night-RIP OFF

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMHowser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salidapalacehotel, Owner at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
The Palace Hotel is a fully renovated historic hotel with extensive sound mitigation improvements including new thermopane windows and code compliant sound separation between all units. Unfortunately our guest booked a suite facing the street where new utility installation and street demolition was simultaneously occuring during their stay. Additionally, there was an anniversary party directly above them who quite promptly and politely stopped upon request to quiet down a bit. For environmental reasons we do not provide the typical small bottles of shampoo and conditioner but rather offer guests a wide selection of top of the line shampoos and conditioners in standard size bottles at check in. Daily full housekeeping is available upon request. We do our utmost to respect our guests' privacy and do not enter rooms unless so directed. Our suite rates start at $120/night weekdays. Our current fall special offers the same suite for $90/night
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The World
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Staying at the Palace Hotel contributed greatly to enjoying a long weekend in Salida. The circa-1900 building provides an authentic experience of the Salida Downtown Historic District, all of which is designated a National Historic Place. The location is perfect, surrounded by all of the other period buildings, with a great selection of restaurants, bars, and shops nearby.

An extensive rebuilding of the interior was completed earlier this year, with what was originally a long-closed early 20th century workingman's 44-room hotel into 14 very nice, comfortable suites.

Now the quirky side. While our suite was spacious, including a kitchenette with copious, largely empty cabinets, we had no dresser. Not a single drawer for our clothing! The walk-in closet provided plenty of room for hanging items, but everything we couldn't hang stayed in our suitcases.

The bathroom had a small shelving unit with a nice selection of towels and washcloths, there were no towel bars for hanging and drying. Further, no shelves or cabinet for toiletries. The free-standing lavy sink had a couple inches of flat area surrounding the bowl, inadequate for two people.

Another oddity. No shampoo/conditioner/lotion was provided in the bathroom. The About Your Suite information sheet said that these items were available at the front desk for the asking. So we asked, and were given large (18 oz.) bottles of shampoo and conditioner. Providing the typical small hotel bottles of these products would be both more convenient for the guests and most probably less expensive for the hotel.

Finally, no daily housekeeping service (the info sheet said "We respect your privacy," a surprising lack of service, especially considering the room rates.

The impression conveyed is that the developer/owner/operator did a very good job of turning a very old, attractive building into a comfortable boutique hotel, but missed the target on some functional details, perhaps through inexperience in hotel operations.

Overall, the squawks were details (and could be, and I expect will be, easily rectified by management) and staying at the Palace was a nice experience.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so rooms on the third floor might be avoided. Think "steep staircases and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paddock_rat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here over the Labor Day weekend and could not have imagined staying anywhere else. Located right down town across from the park and steps from the river, This newly renovated hotel is everything you would expect from a boutique hotel in some of the great cities of America. It has that old charm with the comforts and upgrades you would expect for a 4 star hotel. Every room has a kitchenette which is ideal for longer stays. Every morning at 7 the staff puts out parfaits, and an assortment of pastries along with your own coffee grounds in a nice little glass jar to take back to your room for a nice little breakfast before starting your day. The main lobby may be the biggest treat of this hotel. Plein Air oil painter Joshua Been has a studio set up in the lobby where he is typically painting every day when in town and is always happy to discuss his most recent painting on the easel and discuss other works located around the lobby. We found our self hanging in for a night or two and sitting in the lobby, enjoying a nice glass of wine and talking with and watching Josh work his magic. Great thing is this hotel is in the heart of the city and always people walking by, restaurants and bars nearby and always a site to see on the streets. Great stay overall and would not stay anywhere else. Did I mention an affordable stay as well? Get your self an explore the outdoor environment of Salida and stay at The Palace hotel!

Room Tip: Each room is unique. Look on the website. Some rooms face the park, some face the water, some face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edsbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salida hotels
1.5 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
1.5 mi away
Amigo Motor Lodge
Amigo Motor Lodge
#3 of 16 in Salida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 16 in Salida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Property: Palace Hotel
Address: 204 N F St, Salida, CO 81201-2134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Historic Hotel Downtown Salida,The Palace Hotel is Salida, Colorado's, premier historic boutique hotel established in 1909. Uncompromised elegance and "Old West" charm create a bastion of comfort and class deep in the heart of the Rocky Mountains. Here, vintage chic meets the modern amenities, in 15 genuinely considered suites.Located in Historic Downtown Salida, Colorado alongside the banks of the Arkansas River, the newly renovated Palace Hotel offers boutique caliber lodging within footsteps of shopping, dining, biking and fly-fishing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing